We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Poorly managed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Poorly managed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Fantastic location and property. Very poor management. At 12000 Rs/night for a family of 3 (including food) it isn't cheap.
Food (buffet) covered with flies, clueless waiters, nobody answerable. Check twice before you drink cofee/tea or milk. There is a high chance of finding a fly/bug.
Go here if you are looking for an over-priced home stay. Avoid it if you are looking for service and Hospitality.
The management is least bothered even if you complain, because "this is season time and they are full".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    101
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
76
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

the location is very great.the receptionist at parking bay is very good in receiving the guests.she calmly explained about the resorts activities in detail.the foos is also very good.but the prices are very high.1 litre bottle 50 rs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I would say the best getaway place !

Great location with no disturbances. Amidst forest. Calm and grand in views almost from every part of the property. Awesome rooms ( I stayed in the Luxory one - A7 from May 6 to 9, 2012). Neat Fireplace. Nice fishing ponds. Very nicely laid out walk out areas. Reception and Restaurant attached. So makes it easy to ask something at the front desk as well. Aditi was very courteous to all of my family members. Never felt that I was staying in India. Very clean everywhere. Awesome spread of food. They have a fantastic Chef who would make anything you ask for. Brijesh was nice too. Not the typical Manager of a resort. Zipline master was the best. Very clear and concise tips to do ranging. Well maintained horses. Very courteous staff.

All together my family and all my friends just enjoyed to the core. Destiny is the Best!

Room Tip: Choose A4 to A7 any room. This has the best sitouts and view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A green emerald set between two sapphires - that's the beautiful setting Destiny Farmstay enjoys. A couple of hours drive away from Ooty, a jaunty ride on a bumpy track in an army vehicle and suddenly you're there! Destiny is nestled up on a hill, bordered by the Avalanche Reservoir on one side and Emerald lake on the other. A relaxing weekend spent at Destiny, we eagerly took in all it had to offer - a trek up in the hills, fishing, ziplining into the valley, a peep into the dairy and horse stables, horse riding, meandering in the vegetable patches that dot the slopes and later in the evening, a delicious barbeque and dancing to some cool music. A comfortable and spacious room gave us a charming view of the valley and the Avalanche reservoir in the distance. The food was delicious with a nice spread at the breakfast buffet table, lunch and dinner being a la carte. The service always came with a smile and the outdoor activities team was very encouraging and supportive especially for the ziplining adventure which was a first for me.
The perfect place to let your hair down, put your feet up and switch off those nagging cellphones!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Me and my gals gang went on this super holiday to OOTY lots of excitement from us to have a good time and lo and behold we were in for the best time of our lives. The green around was absolutely a sight for sore eyes. Food i must say was good coz once u get to destiny u have no choice but to eat there and that lived upto expectations..Plenty of adventure Activities to keep the kids occupied we did try the zip line and it sure was a mind boggling experience. Staff courteous and helpful.. Being a spread out property we should give them time to serve you if u order room service..Rooms were very spacious and had a lovely view. Absolutely scenic with options for horse riding. Interesting that they are also into organic farming and dairy farming..
Interesting and worth it. Looking forward to going there with my family.. A luxurious farmstay I must add. Looking forward to my next visit..

Jaimala Kannan

Room Tip: all rooms come with a superb view a large group have options to be together in the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

To sum it up in one word, the place like heaven , but the property is managed very badly with a pathetic service staff. I had visited this place during the second week of April along with some of my friends...the place is very scenic ..

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went as a group to Destiny Farms during the first week of April.

LOCATION : Fantastic location. Breathtakingly beautiful. The bumpy ride was adventurous which the kids loved. Pregnant ladies and people with back problems, please watch out.

ROOMS : Superb again! Spacious, nice and neat.

RECREATION :
- Activities: Very different and very good. The farm , trek, barbeque, wall climbing , zipline etc are all very nice. The guide for the trek, zipline and wall climbing is excellent and knows how to handle people. Informative, encouraging and patient. Good choice
- Library : Pretty decent with books on varied subjects

SERVICE : This is PATHETIC under all heads
- Restaurant : The team is incapable of handling even a decent sized crowd. Leave alone a packed weekend. Delayed service, wrong orders - all definitely not worth the price you pay !!!

- Front Desk and Billing : Having read earlier reviews we decided to do the billing the previous evening as we were to set out early after breakfast. Although there was no one else, it took more than 1 1/2 hours to settle the bill, this is inspite of it being known that we would be checking out the next day morning. The next day we saw a couple of other families waiting for quite soemtime to get the billing done. For the premium one pays, one would expect much better service !

Management : One can never get a straight answer from the Manager leaving one thinking that one was better off rather than ask the question. Appears as if he's informative but at the end of a chat you would realize that you know the same as at the start.

Basically a beautiful property with terrible service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower deck have a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.