We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in Ooty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lymond House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lymond House to your Saves list
Lymond House
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arpora, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our home away from home in Ooty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We must have stayed at Lymond House about eight times in the past three years and can truly say we now consider it our home away from home.

Sarnish, Joe and the lovely manager Anita seem genuinely happy to see us each time we visit and there's nothing nicer than being welcomed with big smiles after the long and tiring drive up to Ooty.

We have stayed in all six rooms at Lymond House but now prefer being in the main house as they open out onto the delightfully cozy sitting rooms where the staff can be persuaded to light up a fire on particularly chilly evenings. The main house rooms are also closer to the dining area.

Meals at Lymond House can be expensive but we generally prefer to eat in as it is just more convenient. Besides, Ooty is not known for good restaurants anyway and eating out can be a hit and miss affair. Having said that, breakfast which is included in the rate is delicious and plentiful.

Our one continuing grouse with Lymond House is the bed and bath linen, both of which are in dire need of an upgrade and the bathroom attached to Tipperary (front room in the main house).

That apart, we continue to stay at Lymond House because for us it is now associated with comfort and convenience. Hopefully this little gem will continue to attract the right sort of people -- those who appreciate it for what it is -- a slice of nostalgia in a rapidly-changing world.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are larger and have nice new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the same time as the previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of this home from home hotel. After the heat of the coast being up in the cool mountains of Ooty was blissful (just remember to layer up!) and our hosts even offered to lay a fire for us, its really cold at night so take them up on this! We went on a trek with a guide arranged by our hotel, he took us to his tribes villages and explored the hills around and about - one of the highlights of our holiday.
The food was lovely, india with an old english twist! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent two nights at Lymond House, lovely old English house. We had our dinner there each evening, not a huge choice but we both enjoyed our meals,I really appreciated the opportunity to have a break from curries, had lamb chops and vegetables both nights. The candle on the table and the music added positively to the atmosphere. The gardens were gorgeous beautifully maintained, our room was large, and the water hot for one's shower. On the second evening we walked up Sylks Road and enjoyed some predinner drinks at the Taj Savoy. Remember to take warm clothes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed three misty days in Lymond House, a beautifully restored and very tastefully decorated 19th century Raj bungalow. The gardens, portico and the living rooms with fireplaces take you back to colonial times, when Burra sahibs would be out pigsticking, and Memsahibs would sit in the pretty garden, sipping tea and scones served by khidmatgars. As for service, the staff is friendly, esp. Sirneesh, the manager. The fireplaces can be lit up for a fee.The breakfast was great - genuine scrambled eggs on toast- served in a charming dining hall. The location is ideal, in a residential area , close to Taj hotel. Auto stand, grocery shop and some, restaurants are a short stroll away. Ideal for a quiet sojourn in a charming setting.One thing I missed was a teamaker in the room, as I am an early riser.

Room Tip: I believe the garden cottages are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lymond house is a beautiful old English colonial house, with a great garden and breakfast room , where they served a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit juice. For a fee you can get a space heater for the night (it gets chilly at night!) and they'll light the fireplace for you in your room (or the communal living rooms). They arranged a trekking tour with a local guide, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Only downsides: the room got very damp and the bed was pretty uncomfortable, and there is a fee for wifi (200 rupees/day). Dinner is served in the breakfast room, and was good but not particularly exciting (and a bit pricey).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervey bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at another hotel in Ooty, but had a meal at Lymond House. The manager Annita was absolutely charming and gave us a tour of the property and rooms. Also she was a mine of information on the history of Ooty and obviously loves the place.
The suites give you the feeling of wanting to stay for a long time. If we are lucky enough to get back to Ooty that is what we will do. I wish we had stayed at Lymond House on this visit.
Our friends didn't come with us to see this hotel so they were disappointed in not even seeing it !

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to escape the heat and chaos of the cities for a bit. We diverted route up to Ooty without booking anything in advance. Luckily, Lymond House had a room for the night - however, i highly recommend booking in advance. The rooms were clean (there were quite a few horse flies around tho), in the dead of winter in Ooty hot water is scarce in most places, breakfast was delicious, and overall the decor was executed incredibly well. I felt like i was in a cute B&B in New Hampshire. We wish we could have stayed longer but the rooms were booked out for the rest of our stay in Ooty. It was a perfect place to escape the rain, relax and kick back by the fireplace. Can only imagine how beautiful it would be in summer, spring and fall.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a fireplace... Just ask to see the available rooms and they will be happy to sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lymond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lymond House

Address: Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lymond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1855, Lymond House is the epitome of a bygone colonial era, the perfect getaway, set among a vista of flowering trees and sprawling lawns. This heritage hotel comprises two Victorian drawing rooms with fireplaces, ideal for cosy evenings in. It has three ensuite double rooms and three garden suites, replete with antique beds, dressers, creaking floorboards and fireplaces. One can soak in the atmosphere that has been lovingly preserved for over 150 years. Sitting in the Victorian drawing room, keeping warm by the fire, one can easily imagine the then lady of the house, Mrs Dason, at the piano in her crinoline evening gown, playing the haunting melodies of those far from home. Tariffs - starting at Rs 3999 + tax for a couple inclusive of breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lymond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymond House India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lymond House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.