We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort ,with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Monarch Hotel

The Monarch Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Monarch Hotel to your Saves list
The Monarch Hotel
Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Palakkad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Resort ,with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been here last week for a staff get together ! This hotel is just 2km away from town, they have a beautiful hall with ample parking area . Their food was good , may be they can improve on the presentation side to make more palatable. Overall it was a good experience, will definitely recomend for others also .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
25
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first thing you feel when you enter the doors: "wow!".
When you talk to staff attending the reception counter: "nice!"
On your way to your room, wandering through corridors again looking at the entrance lobby: "wow!"
You enter the room and ... : "<sigh>"

This place is royal in proportions and setting. But sadly past its prime. :( Everything except the rooms was perfect! Food was awesome! Breakfast and dinner and everything we ordered to room was nicely prepared and well served. Prices are definitely on a higher side.

Room... it was not so bad but it certainly let me down. The room itself was nice setting but other things spoiled it. The closet doors didn't close even half way. There was a big gaping hole in the corner of the ceiling. Toilet was clean but bath tub was showing its age.

back to niceties: May is peak season in Ooty, and we found it way too crowded to our liking. Every sight seeing trip around Ooty required most of the time in traffic jams and ticket queues. So to beat off the rush, we found the hotel perfectly situated. Its just nice and i would certainly recommend it.. Just go in for the ambiance and food and peace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumbakonam, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated on the top of the hill, this hotel offers an amazing view from the window. We came in off season and the receptionist gave us excellent service my two 2 days stay. The room was really big with a nice balcony, bathroom was relatively clean with soaps and shampoos, I was surprised to see bathtub and 24h hot water with a nice pressure. The food is delicious, haven't eaten anything like that anywhere else in India,

my suggestion to the management to renovate the hotel and bring back in to modern look

Room Tip: chose suite rooms its relay good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited in March 2013.
The property is situated a bit far from the main attractions of Ooty. Situated at a certain height. DO NOT THINK OF STAYING HERE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR OWN TRANSPORT. Going down to market will not be a problem, but coming up will certainly be.

The Property is large but average. Rooms are big but again average. the worst part is toilet. Not even a single good thing to say about it. Bed-sheet, Curtains and Furniture in rooms look overused.

Best Part about the hotel is Food. Our group really liked quality of the food here. But again taste buds differ from person to person.

The property really needs a renovation, and fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Situated on the top of the hill, this hotel offers an amazing view from the window. We came in off season and the receptionist gave us almost 50% discount on 2 day stay. The room was really big with a nice balcony, bathroom was relatively clean with soaps and shampoos, I was surprised to see bathtub and 24h hot water with a nice pressure.
The food is delicious, haven't eaten anything like that anywhere else in india, for a foreigner it would be a relief to find decent meat and salads without spices!

Room Tip: Dont go for massage, it's gross and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was very nice. I'll bet this place was really nice when it was brand new. It is not brand new anymore. My room had a musty odor. For a hotel of this category, more care should have been taken in not slopping paint and varnish where it doesn't belong. At least they have repainted obviously, but not recently. The bathtub did not drain. The balony has windows that they ask you not to open. Screens would be a nice idea as the air of Ooty is quite nice; the air in the room was not. Noise from the disco kept me up the first night. It's a cavernous place and you'll need transport to get in to town. As it always happens, I passed by some lovely hotels in nicer surroundings on the way out of town...oh well. (Note that the profile picture as of today is NOT of the Monarch in Ooty.) Best thing about my stay was the fresh squeezed grape juice on the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had been here for New Year, hotel is amazing. Had got a nice deal from makemytrip to stay for new year eve.

Positives
1. Nice rooms
2. Great views
3. Food is also good
4. Nice/Quiet Location

Negatives
1. Bit costly
2. Queen room not having fridge
3. Room service not upto the mark

Overall it was a very nice experience in Ooty, If possible go for King's Suite its much better for almost same cost as of Queen Suite.

Room Tip: If possible go for King's Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Address: Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monarch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.