We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location & Good view, Perfect place for vacation.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Monarch Hotel

The Monarch Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Monarch Hotel to your Saves list
The Monarch Hotel
Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Baga, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Location & Good view, Perfect place for vacation.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I think this hotel belong to famous Bollywood star Mithun Chakroborty. Hotel is nicely located on top of the hill, has got very good view from the rooms. At the recption you find many awards kept which was received by Mithun Chakroborty. Hotel interior is good, but rooms need to be upgraded as it seems to be very old & that you can make out once you enter into the rooms & bathrooms. Rooms needs to be redone. Staffs are OK, Young staffs are very energetic, but old one are seems to be very relax not caring. Food is OK.

Room Tip: They should choose the rooms having back hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
25
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

we stay for 2 days in may , interior is old in hotel , ooty may be have little problem with electric power cut but they don't have instant back up it take few minutes to restart electric supply , i stuck few times in lift . i ask for room heater but they told me they don't have

staff is nice & help full, they provide jain breakfast + they change room also.

view from hotel is also not great, & not much activity in hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe aux Canonniers
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

this is a typical indian hill station -type - big block - no charm hotel .
No taste, didn't even know what it was until i went in.
Such a BEAUTIFUL amazing location ( on top of all ooty) but such a terrible hotel.
Staff was ok. it is HUGE looks like a conference room inside , no place to chill outside despite the view, un-tidy , dirty : columns taped with sticky tape , dirt on the floor, chairs pilling outside with no purpose, garbage at the entrance - my gosh i can't express how berk this place is. they could have done something so nice and instead they just do another big BLOCK like someones ego put on top of a hill. now saying all this it might suit some indian tastes - as i been to several places recommended by easterns and know that easterners and westerners have very very different tastes. one sentence : Westerners stay away from it !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for just one night after a trip on the famous railway. The location is quite a way from the town and up a steep hill so a tuktuk was required when we wanted to see some of the sights of Ooty. The Reception and central Atrium show what a great place this was once many years ago and is still very impressive. However the rooms are in desperate need of an update and the corridors are dimly lit which makes them look even worse.
Our room was large but the bathroom was dirty with a lot of rust and rot around the bath. In addition the original shower head was no longer working and a hand shower with no support was provided so that you had to hold it all of the time!
We found the food and drink was OK but the service was poor. We asked for a glass of wine to be served outside on the lawn and were assured that it would take only a minute or two - it turned out to take 35 minutes.
We have given it a neutral rating because for one night it was bearable and the views were good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Inside, this hotel was once extremely glamorous, but that was late sixties/early seventies and is now in dire need of a refurbishment. Dark and dingy. Apart from the decor, the hotel was very average, and making allowances for the age of the bathrooms they were fairly clean. It's a good walk to the centre of Ooty, uphill on the way back. There's a good hotel/restaurant about 5 minutes walk away which gives another eating option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I happen to be in the Nilgiri's valley (Ooty) which has some brilliant yet scenic places and hotels, one in which happens to be "The Monarch Hotel". Well the name speaks a lot in itself and specially when it comes from a backing of none other that Mithun Da.... I happened to dine at The Monarch quite recently with my family only on one big fact that its comes from Mithun Da's name. I have to admit that the outside guests like me are not treated in the same way at the ones staying there, till the time I dined the restaurant was full of hooligans (guest staying for a conference) who had no respect for other people dining over there, all above the staff at the restaurant had no say to stop the crowd, in addition to this my order was not very well taken .......... Its quite unfortunate to see all this coming from the very name that I had vouched on. I certainly cannot recommend it to anyone, even though I never stayed at The Monarch but I wish all the best to all who make their trip to this place, I hope Mithun Da is listening to its Fan's STILL

Room Tip: Guys please pull up your socks before you really get kicked out of the business .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I was hoping for some good clean accommodation, disappointed to see this hotel is linked to a famed Indian actor, with his trophies on display at reception. Hotel poorly presented, kitchen staff disorganized . I will not recommend stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Address: Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monarch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.