We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TTDC Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TTDC Hotel
Save
You added TTDC Hotel to your Saves list
Charing Cross Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Mysore, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Old and Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I booked it through the Tamil Nadu Tourism website. Against expectation, it was an expensive deal. The hotel building was old and ill maintained. Internally, it was not at all clean.The washroom was especially bad. We has to take two of our meals in the hotel only as it was raining outside. The taste was good but there was hardly any variety. The good thing was that the room was big.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The room tariff is affordable and the restaurant is cheap. I would like to visit the place again. The employees are well mannered. The hotel is closely located in the main market area. Ooty town is clearly visible from hotel room. We have travelled entire Europe. We felt as if we are in a small county in Belgium.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

The hotel is located in the heart of the city. That is the only good thing about this hotel. Hotel staff was not cooperative. The room alloted to us was horrible. We had requested for a double bedroom, and we got a room with 2 single beds. Despite repeated requests, we were not shifted to a better room. There was no view from our room. Even basic amenities like a remote control to the TV was not provided. Food available in this hotel is pathetic. It is costly and the quantity is very less. We had to visit a nearby restaurant to get decent North Indian Food.
The hotel provides sight seeing tours which are pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Ihave plan to visit ooty with my family of 2 childrens and wife and mother so i was scared of cost of staying in ooty is so high but i was shocked that just 250 for a double person within 500 i get a 2 rooms for 2 days near botanical garden place is nice to stay at nice location so people who will to go cheap and best please go to ttdc hotels and youth hostels its run by tamilnadu state govt

  • Liked — COST
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Ooty a lovely place for newly married couples. I searched a lot for ooty hotels and decided to book TTDC. Though it a government hotel, the staff is very co-operative. There is no problem with language ( I am marathi but was confortable with thier english !).
They arrange local sightseeing for you which is very good option. also you can book a private car with help of staff for mid distance sights.
Though the food is not so much good, there is food huts near to hotel.
Its a good option to book TTDC.

  • Liked — very good compared to price.
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Eventhough the Hotel is at some distance from the main city, the location is fabulous. The staffs are kind and cooperative. Maintenance is good. This hotel is worth stay for your money....

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We with family stayed in TTDC, Ooty during jan, 2009 for 3 days.
Located off Charring Cross, calm, pollution free yet near to many places.
Hotel breakfast is manageable for one or two days
Rooms are spacious, kept clean when we checked in, hotel has the policy to clean the rooms only with the presence of guest, so remember to call.
It is best in the mid range to higher mid range.

We spent a quality time peascefully in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TTDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC Hotel

Address: Charing Cross Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
TTDC Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TTDC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.