We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay in ooty. ...please avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Ooty Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay in ooty. ...please avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked two rooms here in May,2012 through Azlan tours and travels.I must say cannot get a worst place than this one in ooty.The staff was very rude in behaviour.
Tge rooms were having an unpleasant smell and there was leakage feom roofs.
There was no hot water in the tabs and when we called the room service,the only reply we had was this is the only option you have.
In the morning we were given coupons for complimentary breakfast but when we asked them to provide tea 1 hour early as we were short of time,they charged us extra for that.After a huge argument they waived those charges which were unreasonable.
In a nutshell,poor service,rude staff,poorly maintained,must be avoided.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
29
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not value for money. no proper lighting.
Front Desk staff are not co-operative and informative
the Direct / online booking of room cost are same. But If you book thorugh online it doesnt include B/F. Pleae check with online partners before booking
Room services are good
Hotel Restaurant food is very costly and only cash accepted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 days in this hotel, where we took executive rooms. Which is worst than the normal rooms, hopeless room service neither they respond any of the calls nor gave proper responses when we went directly for the need. Morning when we required hot water there will be power cut, so better do not expect for hot water. The images posted in website are all fake. Don't go by images.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week..To be frank this HOTEL IS PATHETIC with very bad room services.The bathrooms are really messy with leaking closets..The service provided in restarunt is again bad..We had to wait for 45 mins and still the waiter has'nt come to take the order.The hotel management is uncoperative and not willing to help once the issues were raised.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trichur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

hotel location is too good,easy to find hotel.Check in and check out was cool,they have a good parking area,room booked was deluxe room is spacious bed was good and tv was lcd 32 inch.Room was clean and good.toilet was not so good,there was cracks in toilet and flush was not working,they have to do repair or upgrading for bathroom otherwise everything was good..They have too good restaurant attached which have aweseome interiors and exteriors with glass running water and lighting similar to candle light totaly restaurant is too good by look..Chicken biryani was not spicy,except biryani all foods are good ,Especialy chilly gobi and veg foods are good..timing of restaurant is a problem if u wont go early or in their timings u will be left with less choice of menu...If u want a place to stay then this hotel ideal with budget price and facilities if u expect too much luxury then better skip this hotel .Its an average budget hotel with basic requiremnts

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing road lot of vehicle horns night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Currently I am at BKR ooty gate hotel. THE STAY HERE HORRIBLE! The room and bathrooms are not at all clean. Rooms with lot of insects flying around and no proper lightings. We comminucated to the management many times but there is no proper response. The only reason for staying here is we have paid the amount in advance. Not at all advisable if you are looking for a budget hotel. n

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is good. Though we faced small problem with Water heater, they fixed it quickly. We had breakfast in the same hotel. We can find many restaurants around and we tried one for each day :)
We felt location of the hotel convenient

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.