We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing the horrible situation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ooty Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Ooty Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
kochin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experiencing the horrible situation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Currently I am at BKR ooty gate hotel. THE STAY HERE HORRIBLE! The room and bathrooms are not at all clean. Rooms with lot of insects flying around and no proper lightings. We comminucated to the management many times but there is no proper response. The only reason for staying here is we have paid the amount in advance. Not at all advisable if you are looking for a budget hotel. n

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    18
    8
    13
See reviews for
28
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is good. Though we faced small problem with Water heater, they fixed it quickly. We had breakfast in the same hotel. We can find many restaurants around and we tried one for each day :)
We felt location of the hotel convenient

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had bad experience with hotel. Even though room was good but food was too bad. Whatever you ask was not available. They did not have any room heater for the chilly winter. I stayed there one night. Charges for that kind of hotel is also to high.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at BKR ooty gate hotel. when we reached they didn't have our booking information so they took 1 hour to confirm. When they gave us rooms, one of the rooms wasn't clean so we asked them to change it. They immediately gave us another room. After spending the whole night in col e realised that one of the window glass was missing and we could here all the traffic passing by whole night. After realising that in the morning we informed management. They agreed that they were aware of the missing glass and they didn't tell us.

After complaining they gave us another rooms only in the after noon.
rooms were not so good. furniture were old and broken and not clean, bathrooms didn't have showers. Hot water was not available all the time. some of the taps never used to work..
No hand towels, tissue rolls. only 1 blanket and 1 towel in 2 people. restaurant was dingy and pathetic. food was terrible. We had a deluxe room booked, which wasn't worth it. Staff never compensated for the trouble we had.
very bad experience. Will never suggest or visit again.

Room Tip: pleas stay away from the BKR ooty hotel not worth visting. No heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.