We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was a average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Ooty Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it was a average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

hospoitality was good but the food and room maintainance was worse.
but the hotel is near to the market which is convinent for market which is convinent.
and the travels in the hotel was costiler than the market values

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
29
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good Budget Hotel with good locality. And is located at a walkable distance to Botanical Garden, Rose Garden and Charring Cross(Main market Place in OOTY) and other Visiting Place ie: OOty Lake is around 6-7 Km's and the Rest are Some What Far ie: inbetween 10-15 Km's.

I had stayed in Super Deluxe Room which is confortable and cozy for a couple and had valley View which had a good view early in the Morning.Hotel Rooms cleanily maintained and the room service was also very good and punctual and also during Peak Season the Management arranged me for an early check in which i really appreciate .

Variety of Breakfast were served and was good .
Had a very Comfortable stay here at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms with Valley Facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

its was a good hotel and a comfortable service but not as much as i expected
the rooms were okay not that good the staff was not that cooperative but a good balanced service,the locality was also good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Old rooms, peeling paint, unwashed bed sheets, unclean toilets, high room rent. That kind of sums my experience at bkr ooty gate. The only positives were adequate parking & good location.We had to change 3 rooms before we could get a somewhat satisfactory room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for just a decent, spacious,clean place to stay, its good, Not a luxurious kind, but have all basic facilities(internet, parking, restaurant,hotwater). Its in a very peaceful area and near to market and Rose garden too.
Ooty city have lot many hotels, if you are not looking for some 5 star hotel, then go for it, its spacious and decent hotel. I found it one of the good hotels in ooty. No LCD TV, simple TV with very less TV channels, Staff is helpful and decent.

Room Tip: Restaurant food is not Good, Tea is awesome. Not luxurious but have all basic facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We Stayed at this hotel on 15-01-2013 to 17-01-2013 booked through Yatra.com with the condition of 2+1 x 3 rooms for 9pax. At the time of booking 2+1 option was opted and got confirmed @ Rs.14453 for 2nights 3 days. But when we reach they wont allow you to stay 2+1 and we asked to call yatra for that. We argued and had a fight then at last we got the rooms.

Location was little distance from Ooty main bazzar and walkable distance to Charringcross junction. Best thing in this Hotel was BAR -bcas the rates are affordable and quite need too.
But all the times they have limited stocks only. Restaurant was Horrible and the food was not at all good and eatable. Hot water also so not available 24hrs & room service was not satisfied.

My Suggesstion is - If you are willing to travel this hotel with Friends is ok, But with Family i dont things so.

Room Tip: Better get lower level rooms as evening breeze was too cold in top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 3rd december 2012, bedsheet and bathroom was good,good parking facility,double bedroom cost us 1500 rupees,24 hours hot water,service was ok,we didnot have food here as it has a bar attached.we had breakfast in hotel durga.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.