We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Ooty Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Cochin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rooms are upto the mark...................well maintained.good parking facility..................... and service....................Good food served in restaurant.Thanks for clear trip and hotel ooty gate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
29
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and book 2 rooms. View from our room was good. Food was average kerala style. Front office boys were co-operative. Its perfect for group booking. The hotel is pretty old and 2 km from Transport bus stand. Good parking space available.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We Booked 3 Rooms And It Was A Great Place To Stay. The View From Our Room Was Awesome Which Could Not Be Expressed In Words. Food Was Nice But Please Dont Have Rice Because They Only Provide Fat Rice. Roti And Curry Is A Good Choice. Only Problem Are Toilets. The Toilets Are Old. The Best Thing Was The Small Playing Ground For Children Where Slides Were There. My Little Kid Enjoyed Playing Slides. Except Wash Room Everything Else Was Nice!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Select The Room Facing Road Because It Would Be Disturbance For You!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pathetic experience with traumatic food n drunk staff, worst of memories to carry from hotel side.
None of the committed services offered, extravagant rates and quality less then roadside Dhaba.
Did not adjusted their own given discount coupons at the time of check in.

Room Tip: bargain as much as you can, dont follow agents or drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malappuram, Kerala, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautiful ooty but ordinary looking ooty gate. There wasnt anything attractive about this hotel. Was a bad choice but the only reason for making that choice is that they were pretty flexible at their check out timing. Otherwise its a complete NO-NO. But perfect place for college groups or any other groups.

Other than that i must say rooms were clean and staffs were good. But they don't have an ambience that is inviting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

we had book two rooms in this hotel for two nights through makeMyTrip.Must say ,terrible choice.While booking they had shown us these amazing facilities which were nowhere in the hotel like an A/C for instance.there were no proper lights in the room let alone an air conditioner.The bathrooms were dirty and stinky and on ordering room service ,the staff sends a bellboy with a room freshner ,trying to make the room smell worse.He just sprayed in the entire room and left, and we all were just standing there ,startled,thinking he would have gone to get his equipments but he just left. well,when we were trying to forget all this stupidity,we were robbed ,some very expensive oils,our chargers were missing.On complaining,the staff treated us in a terrible manner,treated females disrespectfully,calling names.DISGUSTING!! and to worsen our problems the buffet breakfast which was complimentary was terrible,the food was horrible, not hygienic. so overall,this trip cost me a lot. I had book through makeMyTrip for the first time and this is definately the last.i would also like to say that we fulfill almost all your clauses for a money refund.and i would like you to take some action against this hotel.or atleast dont put fake things on the website and destroy the best moments of peopes lives,their holidays.Only time they can spend with their family.

Room Tip: dont book through makeMyTrip and if you are dont let go yourself with whats written on the website.N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel via travel guru, so the hotel was listed with best price. The first room given to us was smelling, also it was the front room with wall size windows, and as the hotel was on the road side, the noise of the vehicles was very irritating too, also the sun was rising in the room. But on requesting the room was changed.
Pros:
1. Hotel is centrally located, near to bus n train station, also to the near by attractions.
2. Rooms are spacious.
3. Good parking facility.
4. Room service was quick.
Cons:
1. Many other better hotels are situated near by , at a lil higher price.
2. Furniture and walls were very shabby.
3. No room service, only tea and coffee, that to at fixed time.
4. Had only one time dinner , that to buffet which was good in taste, so can't comment on the food quality.
5. In short, if ur tight on budget then only book it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.