We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reflections Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Reflections Guest House to your Saves list
Reflections Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1b,North Lake Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Ooty B&B and Inns
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed in Ooty for some time and at this guesthouse for a few days. I liked the layout of the place but sometimes all the stairs were a hassle. The bed in our room was just so wet all the time, partly because of Ooty's climate but I dont think the owners of this place kept up with drying things. There were dead mosquitoes squashed all over the walls. They do have breakfast and it was good most of the time but in the commons area the flies are horrible. Flies all over. Id recommend the YWCA in Ooty more than this place

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

budget hotel.. maintained but old construction ... so damp in rainy season .... small worms are everywhere ....so avoid in July-Aug.
otherwise a comfortable stay with lake view... the terrace garden is lovely....
they have no room service, no boy to carry your luggage... even you have to collect your morning tea yourselves..
don't go for any kind of food here. rate is too high and quality is worst....... they charged 104 for 4 slices of bread and two omelets...... better go to any near by restaurant like city palace/ paper and salt or somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Location is good. It overlooks the lake and is walking distance (200m west) from the central bus station. There is a nice terrassed area when you can sit and get a view. A common area in the main house is also socialable.

Rooms are decent with hot water available in the mornings.

Breakfast is not included. The food is fine, although there are better options in town.

The owner is friendly, organised and helpful. The rest of the staff only speak a little english.

Room Tip: Perhaps compare with the neighbouring hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at reflections and found it to be a really good budget guest house. It is out of the main town a bit - on the plus side, this means it is quiet, but it is a bit of a hike into the main town to find an internet cafe etc, but we didn't mind. It overlooks the lake, so sitting outside our room in the afternoons we had a lovely view and it was very relaxed. Don't be put off by the mixed review in Lonely Planet in regards to the service, we found the manager and staff to all be really helpful. It is very well run, you can get food there at any time until 8.30PM and all the costs of everything are clearly indicated on the menus, so it is very convenient. Our room was clean, a little small, but we paid 600Rs a night, so we were happy with our room for that price (breakfast and other food etc extra). You get hot water for showers in the morning, which is essential in Ooty, as it can get chilly! Our room was warm at night. So overall it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We arrived at Ooty at 8pm and headed to the Hotel Sweekar, where we had a reservation - we turned up and it was just awful - so we hot-footed it to Reflections, and here, we were offered a basic room, but it was clean, and had hot water, and was generally good value for money. The ladies of the house looked after us very well, recommending us a day of trekking in the Ooty countryside (much better than Ooty town!) and we had a fantastic day. Reflections also offers simple, home cooked meals, and we ate all our meals here - we spent more money on food than the room when we came to settle up! So, all in all, basic - but good value for the price you pay, and good food. Speaking to other guests who had rooms high up, their rooms came with TV's and views of the lake - so if you go here, it is probably best to reserve in advance and try and get one of these. The common room has a fire place (fire wood has to be paid for, but easily shared with others), and was a great place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Basic but clean rooms, location is ok just a short walk into town. Hot water is available in the morning - and any other time for a small charge – note you also need to pay for some other extras such as toilet rolls, but the value for the room itself is good. The lady who runs it for the owner is sweet and helpful. You can organise a trek from here with Anthony who was informative and an all round nice guy. The trek was great too.

For more info visit www.moodtotravel.blogspot.com

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Well this place is amazin!!!! amazin view:) the people around there are so helpful. the owner Mrs. Rachel is an amazin lady who took time out in seeing that we were comfortable and actually guided us on the best places to visit in ooty. A trek was also arranged for us which was worth the money and the guide Mr. Anthony was really gud!!!
Well its really peaceful an in fact spoke to a few guests who were around there. they said that this was one o the best hotels they have stayed in the whole of India.
The service is very good there and the food is just so irresistable!!!!
i loved this place and have decided to on stayin there everytime i visit ooty..
Vert clean budget hotel to stay in ooty.

  • Liked — the peace and cleaniliness
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reflections Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections Guest House

Address: 1b,North Lake Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reflections Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Reflections Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reflections Guest House India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reflections Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.