We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alakapuri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alakapuri
Save
You added Hotel Alakapuri to your Saves list
No 36, Ettines Road, | Charring Cross, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I selected this hotel because all other hotels in Ooty had some negative points, the Alakapuri got mostly positive reviews and the location seemed convenient. Most of the comments turned out to be quite correct.
The hotel was just around the corner from Charring Cross and near a tourist taxi stand. The room was quite spacious but had not much of a window to the outside. Furniture was practical with enough racks and chairs for luggage and cloths. We asked for additional blanket and linen and were provided immediately. The only thing that was not mentioned in any reviews was that there is no shower head in the bathroom, only bucket shower. Initially we had some hot water issues but that was resolved quickly by competent staff.
It was still cold at night in Ooty in February and we requested a heater. First we got a brandnew electric convector that blew the fuse after a few minutes and plunged the room in darkness. The second (much older) model didn't fare any better on the first socket but the next one held and we got a warm room all night. However this cost us another 300 rupees.
The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful throughout all of our special requests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Decent experience.Hotel is located right inside the city near to charring cross.It was not a pleasure trip.i was here for two days to meet som clients and on business trips i always prefer to be in the heart of the city.Rooms are good spacious neat and with all the funitures.Hot water was available through out and this was very important to me coz in december ooty is very cold.They have a restaurant down tried food there and found it very good.there is a broad band internet cafe down which was very useful for me.i found the room service very quick and staff are very friendly and service oriented.over all good experience.

Room Tip: suites are recently renovated so try to get suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

over all pleasant experience.we wer in the middle of peak season.room rates were little high coz of this .good hotel friendly staff quick room service food at their restaurant is very good.we tried som other restaurants out side but not good.they arranged sight seeing trip by car at reasonable price.hot water was available through out.hotel was full with families they hav around sixty rooms.instead of being full it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Honey moon rooms r recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

If u r looking for a good budget accomadation in the heart of ooty this is te place.we stayed here for two days and got a good deal since it was off-season.friendly staff fast room service parking space and prime location.all the tourist spots are near by the hotel.Food served in their restaurant is best in ooty according to our experience ,but little expensive.we stayed in a double room for 1000 Rs per day. we understood from the reception staff that they have different types of rooms like honey moon rooms and deluxe rooms which are little expensive.over all very good experience .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadiad
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

we were in ooty in last september. we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. staff was very nice. room service was very good. food in restaurent was good. food & room rates were very reasonable. manager & floor attendent were very co-operative. they made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed here for a day and the experience was very good. In fact we recieved a very warm and cordial service from the staff during the saty. The food service was good. The staff was very helpful in guiding our routes for visits.
Would like to stay here whenever visitng Ootty

  • Liked — Comfortable arrangments and good service. Good for a weekend getaway
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alakapuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alakapuri

Address: No 36, Ettines Road, | Charring Cross, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Hotel Alakapuri India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alakapuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.