We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the budget conscious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanjay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanjay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanjay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charing Cross, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 hotels in Ooty
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“For the budget conscious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Located in the centre of the city, Sanjay is pure value for money. Two people can have a decent room in under a thousand rupees a night.
The hotel has a restaurant (recommend you avoid it unless desperate), clean rooms, friendly service ( a ten rupee note will work wonders) and located such that you can step down on to the road for a tea or coffee. Ooty has these roadside coffe and tea stalls that give you better tea/coffee than most hotels at single digit prices.
Sanjay is good if you are in a group and the only thing you need the hotel for is to sleep. If you have to spend time in the hotel, it will be terrible, given that there would be the smell of food (esp fish) throughout the hotel during the day. Some rooms also get the roaring noise of the exhaust outlets running up from the kitchen from 8 am to 9 pm. So, not a great place if you want to be confined to your room.
Location, great. Value good. Rooms clean. Hot water yes, tv yes.At the price, no complaints.

Room Tip: try and find rooms without the kitchen exhaust sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent Location!
Excellent Rooms!
Excellent Service!
Reasonable Price!
Enjoyed my stay in this . Recommend this Hotel to others too for sure . ..................................................................................................................................................
Sudheendra N

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Situated at the Charing Cross, a bit noisy but in the hart of Ooty. Very friendly and service minded staff, god laundry service. The room was big and spotles clean (except the bed that had a filthy blaket). The hotel have an ok restaurant but a dark and filthy bar.

Go for the deluxe room for apx 850 rupies.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were a family of 4 adults and 2 kids . This hotel location and the room service was very good.Room was big and clean besides that there was a balcony which was a pleasure for kids .Bathroom was clean and they have managed to arrange Hot water as per our request.
We will recommend this hotel to budjet as well as middle class passengers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have seen all reviews in trip advisor about this hotel but its worthless to read.. good for nothing to stay here.
My experience:
I have booked 2days in Hotel sanjay 15days in advance, when I informed them 1day before that we are coming there by 4pm evening.
The rooms are not available i requested him then he has given 1 bed room for four members for 1 day( actually we booked for 2days 4 bed room).
He charged 4 bed charge and given 1 bed room, I dont have option at that time.

He doen't have respect on customers, he says all are available in phone but when we reach there the sean is totally reverse.

If some one is ready to pay extra money he will give room to him..

no manners
no time sense
no clean
no hot water
worse food.

totally commertial.

Room Tip: Never choose this hotal to stay when you want to enjoy oooty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanjay Hotel

Address: Charing Cross, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanjay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Sanjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanjay Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanjay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.