We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is a heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sherlock Hotel to your Saves list
Sherlock Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ajmer City, Rajasthan, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this hotel is a heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I HAVE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH THIS HEAVEN - LIKE HOTEL.
I stayed with my family there in june 2014
first of all I must thank Mr. shiva kumar - the manager to make our stay outstanding . I can't express the qualities of that man in words . meet him ..talk to him and you will feel who he is.
following are my reviews:

route *****green ...feel like real ooty
building***** an example of a art ,comfort and technology combo.
place***** amidst heaven.
location***** where ooty can be best viewed. green valleys around with different varieties of vegetation. picturesque surrounding. many points within the hotel premises where you must satisfy your photography passion.
refreshing and cool air ***** vanish your long-day-stroll-tiredness.
neatness*****you won't find worthless litter around.
hygiene*****excellent.
food*****delicious and mouth-watering
service staff- mr.vijay, mr. kokhan and others are very very co operative and understanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    137
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
147
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Thanks to the 'Sherlock hotels' for making our holidays memorable.Sherlock offered us a serene, green and pleasant ambiance that would linger in our minds forever. The lush green lawns and the beautifully landscaped garden right in front, greeted us with a sweet and charming smile. The housekeeping, support and restaurant staffs were very cordial and pleasing - ready to serve us any time. Adler’s restaurant offered us excellent food varieties and we really enjoyed our food. The restaurant staffs were always keen to hear from us so as to improve their preparation and service. Fireplace arrangements and provision of hot water packs added value to the impeccable service offered. In short, Sherlock could easily be crowned as the queen of queen (Ooty - The queen of hill stations). We would have been happy had we got an extra day at Sherlock, which we couldn’t get due to advance bookings.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite to the Lawn are awesome and the hotel itself had splendid view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Sherlock lodge is a true retreat from the summer heat, the bustling cities, and jus about everything in your daily life that you need a break from. Shiva and his crew do everything in their hands to make your stay absolutely comfortable.
We are a family with a toddler and she was pampered, she could prance and play around in the lawn, walk and dance around in the interiors and just be her happy self.
We arrived from Hyderabad for a 3 day trip to Ooty with a long list of things to do, but ended up just staying back and enjoying the warm hospitality, scrumptious food, constant flow of delicious tea of sherlock hotel against the misty chill of Nilgiris.
Perfect location, warm staff, beautiful views, quirky decorations, make this the perfect retreat.

Room Tip: If you care for privacy and noise, do not book the deluxe room sharing the wall with dining area. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I keep going to Ooty for its pleasant weather, i went to kings cliff restaurant and loved it food on a previous visit, i came to know about Sherlock from a friend and later found that king's cliff and sherlock are managed by same guys, so i expected same quality food in the restaurant. I prefer to have a good food and service on my holiday and thats what i expected on my stay in sherlock this time.

List of Awesome things i experienced in sherlock.
1. Awesome theme of hotel, based on sherlock holmes character , lobby and garden are my favorite places.
2. "THE FOOD", just like king's cliff restaurant, the food at sherlock is of top quality(with taste).
3. Breakfast which although is complimentary but is top class ,wich is contrary to many other good hotels i visited earlier in Ooty(i mean really good hotels), those good hotels will provide cheap breakfast, just for the sake of provide breakfast. In sherlock its a different story, they provide quality breakfast, which has continental ,indian(north as well south), since i m from north, my wife loved the north indian stuff. i however like british breakfast.
4. service : my plan was to stay from monday to wednesday and checkout on thursday, but after staying for couple of days, i extended my stay on a very short notice, on thursday morning i told Shiva (manager at sherlock) to extend my stay for two more days, although it was very difficult to do that on a short notice but he did that. due to which i was able to stay for another two days that means i stayed there for 5 days. Excellent job Shiva :)
5. My son is 4 and half years old and his main diet is still milk, our stock of powder milk ran out one day(for nights), we asked one of the stewards/waiters to get us few bottles of milk and some chips and snacks for my kid for night, they arranged the snacks(potato chips,chocolate bars etc) from a near by shop in that forest and arranged for milk as well. Excellent job guys!!
6. Location, its although in the Ooty itself but its on Tiger hill, which is away from the city some 2 kilometers from main road. if you are looking for a peaceful stay in a calm ,cold misty mountain, its the right place.
There are some kids who come with horses for a horse ride, they are nice and you can have good horse ride, but be careful with the pricing of the horse trip, finalise the pricing in the begining, they will tell you about hald trip , full trip and double round. this double round surprise comes when you complete the full round, they can suggest you to go for double round with double the initial price with a promise to show you some great sceneries, there is nothing as double round with extra sceneries as i already had a walk in that area and when they showed me the double round with added amount, i figued out that the horse kids had managed to get extra from me. so beware of those horse kids with those round options :)
About sherlock, a definite recommendation to the travelers and holidaying guys.

things that may need improvement, this is a feedback for sherlock guys.
1. please Add a bath tub.
2. Toilet seat(potty seat) does not work well everytime :) in blue carbuncle, please fix it.

Room Tip: please choose a room that is infront of the garden as it has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in June 27, 2014.
Our stay in Sherlock was awesome, more than our expectation. Everything was perfect e.g. Hotel, Staffs, Location, Scenery, Food and Cleanliness. Just 4 km distance from Ooty main market.
The hotel situated on a beautiful hillock. The scenery of hills is just wOw. The food in hotel is very delicious. The hotel has a beautiful garden with flowers where you can relax and breathe the fresh air. Ambience is very good. We liked to spend our times in garden and main hall at entrance.
The hotel staffs are very well-mannered, efficient and helpful. Mr, Yadab is very courteous. After all the manager Mr. Shiva… wonderful management. He is so nice personality. Especially we have an amazing experience with him. At the last moment he himself drove to a nearby place which we missed. I can say again “wOw” and wish to stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hi there,
I had a chance to stay in this property in the month of june 2014 .Though i have been to ooty a couple of times before but this time It was an awesome experience at sherlock!.The place is just awesome with the best views of ooty to offer.The staff is very efficient and courteous and I would particularly mention Mr.shiva who is the manager of this property .He made sure everything was in place.Also noteworthy is Ms.Bhagya who is extremely helpful and courteous.The food,room,ambience et all is really good.The only problem i could find there was a lack of proper signage and direction from the city to the property and also the road leading to the property is very very bad and its a big hassle to drive in the night.I hope this will be taken care soon.. Looking forward to another visit there!Good luck Sherlock...

Room Tip: Take a room facing the garden ..this is the highlight of this place ...else stay anywhere else in so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cozy place, Sumptuous Food must try continental dishes. Mr.Shiva is a marvellous manager. Fantastic view all marks for a getaway. Carry books or music. Give it a try. Ooty has always been nice this place will add value to ooty

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.