We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sherlock at Ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sherlock Hotel to your Saves list
Sherlock Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sherlock at Ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have only positives about Sherlock with me, I dint find any negatives.
1) It’s completely isolated from the crowded Ooty town; it’s a calm and wonderful location with full lawn to relax and enjoy.
2) It’s worth spending our time and money at Sherlock.
3) Am very much impressed with the support of Mr.Shiv and Company, all his team members are very helpful including Bhagya. They are very good in understanding our needs and helpful in nature.
4) The Rooms are very cleanly maintained.
5) U get very good food options there.
6) They have a good parking area.
I will never ever forget my stay at Sherlock Ooty; it’s my only favorite stay at Ooty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed and very interesting review about our resort.We are really happy to have provided a wonderful holiday to you and your family.
Your kind comments will be passed on to the entire team at Sherlock
We look forward to serving you again soon
Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    134
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had to attend a wedding in Ooty and wanted a place that will let us bring our two pets a German Shepherd and a kitty we just adopted a week ago and both were just getting to know each other. Thanks to Tripadvisor and also to agoda.co.in. It is a nice peaceful place and the staff are friendly and polite. The food is excellent beyond belief and if you ask politely they will prepare the food exactly as you want. Nice views. No traffic noise around, oh! what a relief, as it is set back away from the maddening crowd but the access road is terrible. Well tended garden. Rooms are ok. Nowadays we carry too many electronic devices and not enough sockets to charge but that is our problem. All in all we can put up with some small issues for our pets, can't we? Shiva is very friendly and goes out of his way to help if you ask (though we didn't have any special requests), but we didn't have time to spend with him.

Room Tip: If you are taking your pets, this is is the right place. Be patient with the cook, or room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a charming, Victorian style small hotel, set in a beautiful garden with a magnificent view over the Nilgiris Hills. The original house is 100 years old and the furniture is in keeping with the style of the house. It is a step back in time and one can easily imagine Sherlock Holme's characters residing here.

The staff are very friendly, hospitable and helpful, particularly Shiva, the manager. This is my third visit, but on my last visit I had a friend who was not equipped for the cool climate of Ooty, Shiva willingly went down to Ooty and found him a good quality, warm sweater.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff will willingly light a fire there, or in the sitting room, at any time. They also provide hot water bottles which are a great addition when the nights are cold! The food is good, but the best choice is from the Indian menu. Service is excellent. The nearby Tribal Museum, Tea Museum and the Green Shop and Bee Museum are interesting places to visit.

Sherlock is definitely a place to return to at any time for a relaxed and peaceful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambience and services provided by the Sherlock team
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Best regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navis, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Sherlock Hotel is a friendly comfortable old fashioned oasis in ooty.
Friendly and very helpful Staff. Even dry firewood for the chimney was provided for a romantic and warm atmosphere in our Room.
Excellent Dinner and breakfast.
Hotel Manager Shiva is a experienced and very fit Mountain Guide. We had a interesting hike with him.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience and food of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was the 5th or the 6th time, I was going to Ooty, but what made this trip extra special and memorable was the fact that we could take our most pampered and loved pooch, Honey, with us.This place was recommended by my close friend who visited Sherlock just a few weeks ago with her Labrador and the place sounded so perfect that we couldn't wait to go on this vacation. So we finally went this week and stayed there for 2 nights and let me tell you that the place lived up to its expectations.We were greeted by an amazing view of city below and lush green lawns.The cottage resembled an old English villa which still had the old world charm.The rooms were very well maintained except for a few minor glitches like one or two non functioning power sockets,a leaky tap and a phone which never seemed to work.The room had a beautiful fireplace but wasn't much use in keeping us warm.A heater would be a good addition to the room :)But all this didn't matter as it was more than made up for by the amazing hospitality of the staff there.Every request we had was dealt with immediately and they made sure we had a very pleasant stay.Kudos to the staff!!!

The food in the in house restaurant "Adler's room' was excellent but slightly overpriced and the breakfast buffet spread had enough options.

There's nothing much to do at the property except enjoy the beautiful scenery around,so I suggest that you have your travel itinerary planned well and do carry a few board games or books to read.

The best part of our stay was of course how well our pet was treated.There were not many restrictions and she enjoyed the stay as much as we did and that's what made our vacation at Sherlock so perfect!


Last but not the least a special mention of Mr.Shiva who was our main contact at the property and who helped us with all the local information that we were looking for and who made it possible to have our pet at the property and Ms.Bhagya who was ever so charming and hospitable with her lovely smile and wonderful sense of humor.

I would definitely recommend this place to every dog lover and non-dog lover alike.We would definitely be visiting Sherlock for many more vacations!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the lawns !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the location and service at Sherlock
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Best regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went there with our 3 year old Lab and she had a blast! The staff were extremely social and made sure all of was were comfortable. They were engaging to the right amount and not over imposing. The room was convenient though the fire didn't really help us all stay warm through the night, it was worth the experience.
We managed to struggle to find the place though and lost our way a couple of times. But once we got there loved the view of the valley and the serene location was perfect for a weekend getaway!
Have already recommended to a friend for her family with a four-legged member as well.
Perfect for your dogs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. We look forward to welcoming you and your pet :) on your next visit in the near future. Thanks also for recommending to your friend who also visited and then subsequently wrote a review as well.
Warm Regards
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed two nights. Location is good with great garden, views, pleasant staff, amenities and clean. You can have a fire in your room, they lit it and we ended up totally smoked out for ages and then the room stank all night. Restaurant is fine, no alcohol as per usual in this area. They never found a room for our driver even though we asked. A small place that used to be a residential bungalow. Lady manager was v v helpful giving us ideas for local places to visit and also checked our train tickets and thus corrected our timings - without her we would have missed the train.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.