We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sherlock Hotel to your Saves list
Sherlock Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just came back from our wonderful stay in Sherlock in Ooty and this is the first time ever I am even compelled to write a review on TripAdvisor, it's that great.

What a beautiful place to stay. Away from all the hustle & bustle in Ooty, it's in a quiet, serene, beautiful location. Waking to the wonderful mountain views every morning was a bliss. The lawn is really nice for kids to run around. It was greatly relaxing to sit around in the common rooms in front of crackling fire, listening to wonderful music and reading books...

The staff is fantastic. Everyone is extremely friendly, dedicated and warm. Makes your stay very pleasant. The manager Shiva is really great - he took personal care in ensuring every one of our request was met. Food was fantastic, their breakfast buffet is really awesome (one of the days we had lunch at Taj and food was terrible there)

We loved our stay and felt very sad leaving the place. We would highly recommend Sherlock for making your stay in Ooty very special.

Room Tip: Stay in the Deluxe room - it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, General Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    142
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
141
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Our small group had two rooms, deluxe and standard. Both were spotlessly clean, great bathrooms with steaming hot water. Absolutely stunning views and lovely gardens. Dinner and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Best thing about the hotel was the efficient and friendly Manager, Shiva and his great staff. Would love to come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

it was an impulsive trip for me and my sister and only for 2 days and the one thing that made us choose ooty was because of the pictures and reviews we saw of the sherlock. we got more than we expected at the hotel. it has an awesome location away from the actual town and excellent service. Shiva, the manager made us comfortable right from the first second we stepped on the property. From helping us with the sightseeing plan to making sure that the fireplace is well stocked to taking us on an amazing and exciting trek through the forest and mountains, he was a perfect host. Vinod made sure we had yummy meals on time and was really helpful in the entire duration. A special mention to Bapi, our bengali chef friend who made the trek all the more fun.
thank you all for making us feel comfortable and safe (being 2 female travellers) and most of all for giving us such and awesome time.
All in all it was a well needed break and the most memorable trip we ever had. Cheers

Room Tip: the luxury rooms have a private sitout and excellent view. but if you are looking for a more economi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We took a long awaited break to get away from the hustle bustle of Bangalore.We have stayed in so many places in Ooty ealrier, but Sherlock has been one of the most pleasant stays in recent times.

It's a small , quaint place, takes one back in the times, where one would sit around a fireplace and spend some good times chatting away into the night.

The food is really delicious, the rooms well appointed, nice toiletries in the bathrooms.I love the dining area with a transparent roof, and the lawns which are so well kept.

Sherlock is totally cut off from the normal tourist crowd of Ooty, so its all peace and quiet.Overall, highly recommended for weekend breaks!

Room Tip: stay in the luxury rooms, they open out to the lawns and have balconies to sit and enjoy the view or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 days and were really loved the stay throughout.
One of the best part was the food. We ordered north indian food to chinese and continental. Everything was finger licking good and left us wondering how they manage to support a large menu for so few rooms.
Another big plus is the location. Away from city pollution and quite up on the hill. So one can enjoy quite wide view of valley.
Sherlock for sure is not a luxurious place. There are not a lot of facilities. However, whatever is there work great. Even sometimes if we found something is not working, just a call was good enough. Very polite and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing lawns will be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We got married in April 2012, since then we were planning our honeymoon, but due to my husband's busy schedule, we could not plan a long trip, I googled many places, finally decided to go on short trip to OOTY. As most of the hotels were booked, luckily we found little earth website and managed to get a room in Sherlock. First we were not sure about the service and quality of foods of the hotel, but when we checked in (10.11.12) all our tiredness was gone. It was completely isolated from the crowded town of Ooty, a beautiful scenic view you will get from the lawn of Sherlock, everything was so perfect for a honeymoon... It is a theme hotel, very beautifully decorated, well maintained.Garden area is just superb!!! Rooms are also very nicely decorated, cozy, neat and very clean.And the Food!! My review will be incomplete if I miss to mention Adler's room (dining area), trust me people foods are really good out there. Very polite and helpful staffs specially mention Shiva and Bhagya including kitchen staffs as well. They made our holiday an unforgettable experience. There are fireplaces in every rooms, they will provide you woods so you can enjoy a nice fireplace dinner or supper. We used to spend our time by playing chase and badminton in evenings.Unfortunately we stayed there for 3 days only, I wish if I could have extended my holidays!!One thing you must note, it is not only a perfect for honeymoon couples but also a great family holiday destination as well.
A lovely experience, we have plans to revisit them. Its worth paying money people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.