We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay at SHERLOCK ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sherlock Hotel to your Saves list
Sherlock Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Karaikal, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay at SHERLOCK ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a wonderful experience it was! Property:"Sherlock" as the name implies was on heritage hotel with Executive rooms, Deluxe rooms and few excellent luxury rooms facing the beautiful lawn. The location itself took away my breath. The main attraction was the eye catching lawn. where we can sit and relax from the hustle of the daily life.
Room: Very clean, well maintained and with a stainless neat bathroom.
Food: The quality of food served was so good. The complimentary breakfast menu changes daily and we can plan a heavy breakfast to have enough energy for our day outs.
Staff: I have visited many places and stayed in many hotels but this was best. all the staff were very friendly with smiling face, always in attention and ready to help us. The manager Mr.shiva was very cordial and plans out a neat sightseeing trip, ever smiling and ready to help the other staffs
All should be congratulated for their Excellent service and MindBlowing hospitality. They made our stay Joyfull, Enjoyable, and Memorable.
Our trip will be always remembered and cherished Because of 'SHERLOCK'.

Room Tip: Luxury room facing Lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    134
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

it was the first visit to the queen of hill stations and the Hotel is a wonderful place to put up,away from the commercial rut in the main city.Lined by rows and rows of pretty flowers it takes away the fatigue and tedium of the journey. The staff is courteous and very cooperative.it was a pleasure being here and we would definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This review is rather late, but I doubt that things would have changed very much. We actually stayed at Sherlock in March 2011 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and I think I can safely say that Sherlock is one of the quietest, most relaxing places I've ever been to. The location is what totally sealed the deal when we were looking for places to go to. It is situated a little away from the town and you'll have to shell out a couple of hundred if you want them to pick you up, but it's totally worth it. It is also a little away from all the tourist-y places, and is probably not the perfect choice if you have a lot of sightseeing on the agenda. In fairness to the administration of the resort, they did have some tourist/sightseeing packages available and I'm sure they'll arrange trips without a hitch for those who seek it. We were content to just stay in this tiny resort and enjoy the views and the silence.

We opted for the luxury room which has a tiny sit-out with a couple of very comfortable chairs - ideal for reading or sharing a pot of the terrific masala chai in the evenings while staring out at the hills and the sunset. There’s even a genuine fireplace, which we did not use so I can’t really comment on it. Excellent food and service too. The restaurant does not serve alcohol, but they’ll get some if you place a request in advance. The staff is very friendly and is always willing to help you out. A particular note of thanks to Shiva and his team for making our stay so memorable. I’d gladly recommend Sherlock to anyone who is looking for a do-nothing holiday. It’s the ideal place for relaxation and conversations.

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury rooms. They come with a tiny private sit-out that offers an excellent view and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Me and My family stayed in sherlock 10th may to 12th may we enjoyed lot.
The staffs and the food everything was very good. The management is really nice.
Our next trip is only in Sherlock no other place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Couple stayed at Sherlock for 2 nights in luxury room. Lovely place and fantastic, large rooms. Hot water for the shower - a rare treat! The best thing about this place is the location-- lovely views, although if you dont have a car it can be tricky to get around. The manager Shiva was very helpful in organising us an auto tour and taxi to the national park. The only room for improvement is that the rooms are not well sound-proofed and we had noisy neighbours. All in all a lovely stay and we would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose luxury lawn facing rooms for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Family of 4th vacationed in Ooty - 2 days in April 2012.i blocked one luxery room and one semi deluxe room when i reach to Sherlock its shock because both the room is different side then i
Requested our rooms be closer to out side and they immediatedly accomodated our requests.
Our rooms were spacious and furnished with TV and fire place
Special compliments to the Manager he was very help full.
The fireplace was lit every evening with hot water bag added to the cosy atmosphere and warmed us as well.
Our interaction withe the staff from reception and restaurant was warm and courteous.
And Food part we enjoyed the food and break fast.
We would love to return to the Sherlock someday as we have such wonderful memories.
I request all please visit Sherlock.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had visited this place called Sherlock at Ooty in the last week of April 2012 I just wanted to relax at that place I was in for a rude shock that in that tiny lawn they were hosting a party from the afternoon itself there was a lot of noise and when the party started in the evening, I was told that it would end at 9:30 pm but it went thru till 11 pm it was like living in front of a marriage hall. The management had no courtesy to inform the guest about the party and to rub salt to the wound they also did not inform the party to wind up after repeatedly being told. I hope in the future the guest should be careful in checking out that place where the management cares a dam once you have paid. Felt cheated

Room Tip: Please ask the room facing the Lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.