We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas as Sherlock!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sherlock Hotel to your Saves list
Sherlock Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas as Sherlock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Sherlock hotel over Christmas 2011 and couldn't have been happier. After going around in Ooty a bit, we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else- being outside of town and paying a bit more to have an auto take us to and from the hotel was well worth it. The view was spectacular, the rooms were nice and clean, we didn't have any trouble with hot water, and they gave us as much firewood as we wanted for our fireplace in the room. We splurged by staying here, but still booked one of the cheaper rooms, right off the atrium, and it was lovely, though the nicer rooms with porches looked great.

Most importantly, the staff was so helpful and wonderfully accommodating- they really made sure that we had a special Christmas away from home, lots of decorations, carols, and a special Christmas dinner menu (the food was, yes, pricier than in town, but really good, and coming from Delhi it wasn't expensive comparatively). I highly recommend Sherlock, especially if you're there over the holidays. It's more of a retreat than anything, so it's a great place if you want to sit back, relax, and enjoy the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    142
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
141
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coonoor, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you drive up the steep uphill road, you know the view will be good, but the icing on the cake is the great property and the good food. We almost always sit outside on the lawn enjoying the sunny warmth while the kids play around. The food recommended by Shiva was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Enjoyed every bit of our stay of Sherlock Hotel. Beautiful british mansion retaining the colonial grandeur located at Tiger Hills with the amazing view of the ooty hills. Its close to the ooty town but remains undisturbed from the hustle n bustle. Courteous and friendly staff who made u feel at home. Food was amazing, especially their continental fare and they served some amazing tea of various spice variety. We stayed during the christmas eve and they had given a christmas feel to the place by decking up the place with lights, christmas crib n decorations and christmas theme based dinner. One of the staff accompanied us to the trek one morning and we went uphill on tiger hills and explored few dams as well. I must stay we had a great time...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I visited Ooty for the first time this year between the 10th and 13th of December 2011 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in Hotel Sherlock which has a very beautiful view of the valley. It is a bit away from the main city but that means more peace and quite. The rooms are clean and cozy. We stayed in the deluxe room for the first two days which had a nice balcony with a view to die for. The hotel staff were also very courteous and always ready to help with any kind of request that we had. The food in the hotel was also amazing and definitely worth the price. All in all a beautiful hotel to spend your days in Ooty. Would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple the choose the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The place is really very nice, on entry, we upgraded the rooms to luxury cottages the moment we got in, as it had really neat view from the veranda without having to go out in the cold, the food was good, so was the ambiance, couple of things to take care so that the place can be made atleast 5* rating :). trust me i enjoyed this hotel big time..

1> heated floor can be provided, it should not be a costly thing, and makes the stay very comfortable. its difficult to walk when in room.
2> provide bathroom slippers atleast.
3> proper heat insulation in bathroom,(if u keep bathroom open, u will freeze in no time.)
4> whenever i visit ooty again, i will make it a point to book this hotel.

good things that made us comfortable

1> packing breakfast for us, as we were starting early.
2> giving the list of places to visit, helping us with the routes etc..
3> very good service quality.

Room Tip: definitely book luxury cottages, u will never repent this advice!! else u will end up booking luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Its a good place to spend time in Ooty. Location is awesome...rooms are neat and clean and service was also prompt.

however size of the executive and semi deluxe rooms are a bit small (manageable though!) so it gives a thought in your mind that one might have got a bigger room for the same price.

Nonetheless overall a great experience to be there

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

A beautiful place to stay right in the heart of Ooty.
I have been to Ooty a few times before this. In fact, the first time I went to Ooty, I stayed in Coonoor for the fear of Ooty's urbanization. After that, my visits to Ooty have always been at the behests of others who wanted to visit the place. So, when my wife said she wanted to take her mother to Ooty, I was, not surprisingly, very skeptical.
But then, with the help of this interesting site called getoffurass.com and through the reviews from trip advisor, she found this amazing place called Sherlock right in the heart of Ooty, thus pandering to both her mother's and her husband's fancies.
After reaching Ooty, we were guided to Tiger Hill (there wasn't much guiding required, though) by a lady at the reception. The skies were pouring down on us and we started climbing a hill. Suddenly, the road ceased to exist and all I could see amidst the downpour was a muddy way. It continued like this for about ten minutes, and while the uphill ride to this unknown place went on, I nagged my wife every ten seconds to call Sherlock to find out if we were lost.
My poor wife of course kept trying in vain from all available phones since there was no network. And just as suddenly, a tiny board said Sherlock to the left and we were at a quaint European cottage in two minutes.
Our room was right at the corner, overlooking the valley on two sides, with a huge lawn spread in front. I couldn't believe it. We were in Ooty, and yet, there was nothing commercial about this place or anything around it and the view was truly breathtaking.
The chowkidar helped bring our stuff inside. The manager let us settle in before coming to our room for the paperwork.
We were tired from the journey and little sleep the night before, so they brought us the food to our rooms. The food was very good. Even my little girls - they are a year and three months - loved the soft rotis and dal and sabzi.
They don't serve beer or any other alcohols in the hotel, but let us have our own. The manager was happy to get us a quart for a quiet evening by the fireplace.
My wife loved the book shelf and my mother in law couldn't stop raving that this place was actually visited by Sherlock Holmes himself. I'm not too sure though.
The hotel has a hint of Holmes in every nook and corner and that makes it mysteriously nice.
The lobby is divided into a bigger living room with couches, a book shelf and a fire place, and two smaller, cozier rooms with fireplaces and couches too.
We had a generous supply of firewood in our room that kept the room warm for my asthmatic mother in law. Over here, I have to mention that her extra bed was better than any extra bed we have asked for in any other hotel room, because it came with a make-shift cot. It was a pleasant add on.
One reason why my wife had opted for Sherlock, was the lawn, keeping our toddlers in mind. It did not let us down. My kids loved the lawn, as did we. It was a little wet on Day 1 because of the rains, but perfectly fine for play on Day 2.
All our meals were really good through our stay. The staff was extremely helpful, sterilizing the feeding bottles a number of times every day. In fact on Day 3, there was no one but the cook in the kitchen, who warmed milk for my babies at six in the morning.
It was sad that our stay ended so soon. Everyone loved the place.

Room Tip: This place is for those who don't want to pack too much in their holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ooty
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.