We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All modern facilities, in a historical city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune Pandiyan Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Race Course, Madurai 625002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Porto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“All modern facilities, in a historical city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Fortune Pandiyan welcomes its guests in a large and modern lobby. Once you enter, you could be anywhere in the globe, except for the details, decorations, statues, that remind you of being in Tamil. Nadu, India. Rooms are also very modern and confortable.
The business center is open 24 hours, and all the staff is very helpful.
To get to any location in Madurai, you need to ask in the reception, but they will be happy to sort out transportation for you, if you want to visit the famous temples or Palaces in Madurai.
You can also find a decent meal at the restaurant, though not the best choice in Madurai.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    69
    41
    21
    16
See reviews for
61
34
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for two nights on a tour through south India. We were greeted warmly by the staff on arrival and they were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is very nice, with a large lobby. The elevator of the hotel is cartoonishly small, however: you’ll be lucky to fit two people in with luggage at one time (they seem to have one elevator for guests and one for staff right next to each other – the one for staff is larger as they need to fit carts, etc on and guests can use it if you press the separate call button).

The hotel has a restaurant that we ate dinner at one night and breakfast at twice. Our dinner was…OK. I got a “hamburger” made with ground chicken that was tasty. However the breakfasts were not quite as good. I had to wait 15 minutes for a clean coffee cup the first morning and the second morning we had to eat at 7:00 because our bus was departing early and they weren’t even set up yet for their buffet. The one draw back of all the food was that everything was served cold – from my “burger” to all of the choices on the breakfast buffet.

The rooms, however, are really nice – nice enough to categorize this place as an almost-4 star hotel. Very clean, with the most comfortable bed we found in all of south India. Large flat-screen TV with a couple of English language channels including a couple of movie channels. The room had a refrigerator, a couple of chairs, plenty of space to store luggage, and a nice desk. The bathroom was large and clean: the only drawback was a flimsy shower curtain which dripped water all over the bathroom floor and soaked the bath mat. (A very nice staff member knocks on your door every evening to ask if he can provide with additional clean towels, which is a nice feature.) The shower had very hot water and an adjustable pressure head – two features not found all over south India!

The hotel does offer wi-fi but it’s not free: we paid 400 rupees for 24 hours worth of service (however, the connection wasn’t dropped until after 28 or 29 hours, which somehow made this high price seem a little better). There are some restaurants and small shops within walking distance of the hotel, but be forewarned that the street outside is very busy with traffic. It’s a short 10-minute ride to the Meenakshi Temple.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend to travelers visiting Madurai!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed at Fortune for 2 days with family. We requested for an extra bed in the double room as there were 3 of us. We were truly surprised to find the extra bed to be as comfortable as the king size bed in the room. The airconditioning in the room is simply blissful, esp after travelling in the Madurai heat.

The restaurant, I forgot the name of it, opposite the lobby had a sumptuous spread, very fairly priced too. We ended up eating all our meals here, during our stay in Madurai.

The staff should also be congratulated for their excellent service. Our requests were catered to with great efficiency and preciseness.

Like the other Fortune hotels I've stayed at in India, I would definitely pick this hotel for my next visit to Madurai and would recommend it to others looking for excellent service at this price point.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was my third stay in the ITC Fortune Pandiyan Hotel at Madurai. Madurai is hardly an exciting place to visit, except for the opportunity to visit the ancient Meenakshi temple or if you've the time to drive to Kodaikanal for a hill station experience. This ITC Fortune hotel ensured that my stay was comfortable, taking care of both my exercise requirement and good food. The pool was ordinary but the gym was superb. The cuisine, especially the South Indian vegetarian variety, was also good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have been to many hotels in Madurai and this is one among the best.. The hotel has all facilities.. No matter its a birthday part or a corporate meeting.. It is very much in the heart of the city and any place is nearby... Nice place to stay...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

very impressed by high standard of this hotel amiss surrounding city.
comfortable rooms, no complaints from teenage kids, good housekeeping service
came to visit the meenakshi temple where i got my mangalsutra blessed and we were garlanded in shiva temple in what was our anniversary/ marriage renewal.
food and dessert very good and tasty.
left very early next day for rameshwarm drive so did not have time for proper breakfast but dinner was excellent.
the walls in dining area depicts the wedding of shiva and parvati. a truly inspiring time.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I really had a very pleasant stay from the evening of 9th August to the morning of 11th August in this hotel.The room (#402) was large and comfortable., with lot of moving space . My boss who had checked in a day earlier and stayed in a suit opposite my room was also full of praise for the space , ambience and comfort. Dinner in the loby level restaurant was good , but nothing much to brag about as far as taste was concerned . Many items including the soup were rather spicy for an average tongue.There was a pleasant surprise. The M.D of the hotel Mr. Santhanam , a very hospitable and respectable gentlemen , greeted us , introduced us to the chef from Manipal and spent sometime with us, taking personal care about our preferred dishes. Dining was a very interesting experience. There is a beautiful fresco inside the reaturant on a side wall. It is a white masterpiece , perhaps made of plaster of paris , depicting the marriage of Goddess Meenakshi , the presiding deity of the city.Many tourists were capturing it in their cameras and cell phones.
There is a Thai Spa in the restaurant. Although I did not use its services , I was told by an user that it was good albeit expensive at Rs.1200/- per session less 10% discount.
There is no jogging track in the campus , but the available open space is good enough for some morning walk. One also has the choice of a gym.
There were these few small things which made the hospitality less than perfect :
1.The lone lift is small and often makes you wait for few minutes before you can get into it
2.There was no shoe shine facility in the room : not even mit or cloth
3.One lamp in the room (just above the luggage rack) was not working
4.The house keeping staff had omitted to replace the empty water bottle while cleaning the room. When informed in the evening , water was supplied a good 10 minutes after the call , though with profuse apologies.
All in all , the hotel can be rated as very good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortune Pandiyan hotel is a first-class, full service hotel catering to business and leisure travelers. It has 57 elegantly appointed rooms; consisting of 42 Standard Rooms, 12 Fortune Club Rooms, 3 Suites. There is 01 Multi Cuisine Coffee shop- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, 01 Bar - The Ranch with 32 seating capacity. Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for Meetings and Conferences consisting of two small and one large conference halls, able to cater up to 450. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.