We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune Pandiyan Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Race Course, Madurai 625002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Pune
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here on 7th and 8th March 2014 and I have nothing but praise for their service. The food was delicious. The room had a nice view of the city square without the noise. It was a very comfortable and pleasant stay.
My special thanks to Mr.Gopal (Travel Desk) for arranging a trustworthy, courteous and helpful taxi driver named Sethurama. As I was travelling alone from Madurai to Rameshwaram and back, this was a boon. Mr. Gopal instructed the driver to arrange for temple guides, who in turn arranged for English-speaking priests at all the temples I visited. Hence, I have very pleasant memories of both the temple towns.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
52
28
15
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I usually stay at this Hotel whenever I visit Madurai for my professional work. This hotel makes us feel at home. Right from the receptionist to the bell boy everybody do their work with a smiling face. The food here is very good and affordable. Located at the heart of the city. Especially Mr. Ramesh in Reception will be very helpful if we need any help.

Room Tip: You can choose any side after the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai Indian
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is not good to feeling this iconic hotel deterioting during every visit.
Starting from the elevators...one elevator has the floor marble with cracks while other has chipped in wood, missing components in the electronic panel etc etc...the sight is not good.
The lobby was small but now they have made it smaller with one more curio shop and reducing the sitting place...difficult any body at the lobby.

Check in was very tedious...then the room card was not working.
The check out equally tedious...one person manning phone, check out , cash etc that too in the morning peak check out time.

The food is very so so... the waiters very much inexperienced.

Over all a sad stay to say the least

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that this matter is receiving my urgent personal attention and that the same will not occur again.

We understand that you have felt that our Hotel lost the charm and it is not that look as it was in 1970s. Please note, we are in the process of renovating all the guest areas and gradualy in all other areas of the Hotel also we are changing one of our guest lifts soon, you can see the change during your next visit.

While once again regretting on behalf of all at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, for the inconvenience you have faced during your recent stay with us, may I request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.


At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetpet, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights , definitely won't stay here or recommend it .its a bit old hotel (1970's )and it shows , bath rooms were very small, outdated, dirty. Food was horrible .i was made to regret staying in this hotels

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that this matter is receiving my urgent personal attention and that the same will not occur again.

We understand that you felt always our food quality is average hence,it would be greatful if you could tell us your food choice during your next visit so that we can demonstrate and present you food as per your taste also request you to experience our newly renovated rooms during your next visit at Fortune Pandiyan and share your views on it.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is just off a busy roundabout but is lovely and quiet and has a fine little pool. More could be made of the outside space with chairs and tables but I think it is often used for functions. Rooms are good, large and very clean and well serviced. The hotel caters for large groups and did not appear used to independent travellers. However the food was very good. Concierge service was variable with some staff having difficulty in understanding English.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Madam,,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing the positive points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

As you rightly said, we often use outside lawn space for large and small functions. But at times as per guest request we do use the out side space for their dinner session. Please note, we have noted your feed back on Concierge service and would definitly take immediate corrective action.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is a good hotel choice in Madurai. As we arrived we were invited to participate in Pongal festivities/ displays, which was really nice. Rooms are very nice and clean, with kettle and complimentary tea/coffee.
We had the dinner buffet one night, which was good, and also the breakfast was good and varied.
There is a "business center" with 2 computers free of charge, but the WiFi was steep at 120 Rs for 1hr, or 400 Rs for 24hrs.
There is also a shopping center in about 5min walking distance (turn right and right, cross the road and then you see it).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have to stay being a club ITC member and regular at fortune hotels around the country this is probably my worst experience at any fortune property. The hotel is dated and food is not what you expect from fortune. It seems fortune is just running this hotel for namesake . They have taken over this old hotel from someone. However i dont think there are many options in Madurai

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at
Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that this matter is receiving my urgent personal attention and that the same will not occur again. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

It would be greatful if you could advice us in specific where we should improve in terms of food and service so that we can demonstrate the improvement on your next visit to Fortune Pandiyan.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortune Pandiyan hotel is a first-class, full service hotel catering to business and leisure travelers. It has 57 elegantly appointed rooms; consisting of 42 Standard Rooms, 12 Fortune Club Rooms, 3 Suites. There is 01 Multi Cuisine Coffee shop- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, 01 Bar - The Ranch with 32 seating capacity. Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for Meetings and Conferences consisting of two small and one large conference halls, able to cater up to 450. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.