We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Park Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Park Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114-115 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Milano
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Normal stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We spent one night in this hotel after checking other places in the same street. This place is ok and clean even if the room and bathroom are quite old and should be renewed.
There is a new and nice restaurant at groundfloor where we had a good buffet dinner.
It is not far from the temple area sothat is a good option.
Also in this hotel we had to bargain the price request (too much for the standard).

  • Liked — position
  • Disliked — overpriced for the standard
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    59
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
34
22
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

The selection of hotels in Madurai is quite mediocre in general, and the Park Plaza could be seen as occupying the upper end of this mediocrity. It is way too expensive considering the low-to-medium quality level, however.

The reception area is fairly nice, though it is on the horrific, dirty street where many of Madurai's tourist hotels are located. We entered 5 or 6 hotels, and saw their rooms before choosing (exhausting!), and this was the only passable one in the lot. I concede that the breakfast is actually very nice and abundant, and it is served in a modern streetside restaurant that was obviously just re-done. The staff was not very nice, but not rude either. Except the waiters at the rooftop restaurant, who were very very nice. And the rooftop place was actually very nice and had great food, as well. Unforgettable view.

The low point is probably the bathroom, which is in serious need of updating and flooded in its entirety with every shower. But while the rest of the room had very tired decor and a kind of gross couch, you could tell they had repainted and thrown up some new stuff. It was okay for a 2-night stay in Madurai, but what I don't understand is why every single hotel in Madurai has a suspicious smell. And why the sheets, seemingly new, already have holes and stains. The blanket only produced a slight sensation of grossness when you allowed it to touch your bare skin, compared to the usual instant repulsion Indian blankets caused in me. (Someone should invent a blanket disgust scale!) Also had the typical Indian panel of 25,000 lightswitches that entertained us, as we made futile attempts to figure out which one turned on what! Central AC worked well. 15 to 20-minute walk to get to the Meenakshi Temple.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the rooftop restaurant, and the latter's nice waiters.
  • Disliked — The flood-prone eighties bathroom.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We’d been told that hotels in Madurai were really bad, so the Park Plaza came as a pleasant surprise, especially after some of the reviews. We also looked at the cheaper Golden Park before checking into Park Plaza. As we’d spent the previous night on a train, we opted for the slightly more up-market Park Plaza, but the room I was shown at the Golden Park, whilst small, looked fine. From what I could glean, most people arrive in Madurai without bookings, except at festival time. So advice would be to phone a booking ahead and then turn up and take a look at the room before committing.

Front desk was welcoming and helpful. Proper dual key safe deposit boxes provided at reception, so keeping passport and money in room not a good idea.

Our room had a huge comfortable bed, clean but tired bathroom. There was central aircon, which worked well and was quiet. Sheets and towels fine. Deluxe rooms (about 200INR more than standard ones) have a fridge.

I am wondering if this place is under new management, since our room looked freshly decorated, and they decorated another room on the same corridor one of the days we were there. Plus there was no sign of apparently under age staff reported by other reviewers.

Excellent location – walking distance to railway station and temple (some Madurai hotels are further out of town).

Breakfast fine, although service in the downstairs restaurant a bit iffy. Had dinner on the rooftop restaurant, which was good food and service, at a slightly higher cost than some other places. Beer served.

And while there don’t miss the Anna Meenakshi restaurant just down the road for a great lunchtime thali.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Grubby hotel, everything looked tired and worn out. No fire escape provision and this is a high hotel.

Bathrooms especially tired looking. Wiring a bit dodgy looking.

Staff not especially helpful but they lost part of our extra bills. Views of temple from roof top restuarant, but at night you can't see them really.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Passport and wallet stolen while i was asleep from my LOCKED room, Hotel then bribed the police to say that i lost both items while touring the temple, so as to save their name. Dont stay here if you value your passport and your cash and your holiday!!

  • Liked — The TV
  • Disliked — The theiving and corrupt staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Plus of the hotel
1. Pleasant front desk
2. Excellent breakfast. I have never seen such a wide range anywhere in India.
3. Special discount (15%) for corporate employees.
4. Close to Railway station
5. Free pickup
6. Friendly taxis
7. Opposite to TVS hospital. (Helped me when I got food poisened by eating in one of the other restaurents.)

Minus of the hotel
1. No ventilation
2. Water logging at bath room
3. Call front desk for hotwater each time
4. Cheap toileteries.
5. Barging waiters.
6. Bed coffee in unclean flasks. Never look at flasks.

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Barging waiters
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We stayed at this hotel. Hotel is in a location that close to bus station, train station and the temple. Hotel staff was very helpful and nice. (There are couple of kids working there looked real young to be working -- when asked they said they were above 16.)

I'm from orginally Madurai, India. I was staying with my friend (an American) They had the best breakfast. They didn't have an 110v adapter, but we bought it down the street (cost a quarter).

I would recommend this place to others. I paid about 1800 rupees (single) and 2000 rupees (for double occupancy) a night for an air-conditioned room. Bed is like pretty much like the standard kinda bed you find in India. And the bathroom was okay. The hot water runs in the morning and the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Plaza

Address: 114-115 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Park Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Madurai
Madurai Park Plaza
Park Plaza Madurai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.