We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place to stay at Madurai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Supreme

Save Saved
You added Hotel Supreme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Supreme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110, West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Madurai
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay at Madurai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been staying in this property for quite a few times over the last 5 years; this is a good place for the budget traveler on business trips. The wi-fi is an advantage for the official travelers. The food is good, however, there are multitude of options around to try out. A walk from the hotel's location - Perumal Maistry Street - to the Meenakshi Temple is a good outing (20 to 30 minutes). The service at room is reasonably good. The lift was the only irritation at times as the attender locks it up sometimes.

Room Tip: All rooms are same! choose the first floor so that you can avoid lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff and we are constantly endeavouring to improve ourselves. Regret the inconvenience that you have faced due to the operation of the lift service but we have employed a Lift Operator to avoid misuse which has been experienced earlier. But be ensured that the Lift Operator will always be at hand when required. In case of any issues in the future kindly contact our Reception Staff for immediate assistance.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    31
    33
    24
    28
See reviews for
40
33
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodford, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here, the hotel was clean and comfortable but maybe a little expensive for what it is. The rooftop restaurant views of the Meenakshi Amman Temple were very good but the restaurant was only used in the evening and the waiters were very nice and friendly. The hotel is walking distance to Madurai Junction railway station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff. As informed in earlier reviews, we are under the process of renovation and are upgrading our rooms. Our Roof-Top Restaurant is only open in the evenings due to the unsuitable climate in the mornings and afternoons. Looking forward to serving you during your next visit to our Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Accessories in the Bathroom are bit old. Room Interiors were clean. Room service prompt. Worth the money for a property below 3 star. Could include some North Indian or continental dish in breakfast. Anyways, Good One!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff. As informed in earlier reviews, we are under the process of renovation and are upgrading our rooms. Trust that your next visit will be in our renovated rooms! Reg. our breakfast menu, request you to contact our F&B Manager, Mr. Ravi, during your next visit to our Hotel and we will try to accommodate your preference as much as possible. Looking forward to serving you during your next visit to our Hotel. Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had an overnight stay here & was a good experience overall. Service was good. Its located amidst the town, so, yes, it comes with its own disadvantage of the location being a bit cramped.
Wish they allowed the rooftop view, which they said was not open until evening

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff. Regret that you could not experience the view from our Roof-Top Restaurant during the daytime. Please note that it is impractical for us to keep the Roof-Top open for service during the daytime due to the sweltering heat (most of the year), which would be inconvenient for our patrons, and for logistics reasons. Nevertheless, looking forward to serving you during your next visit to our Hotel, hoping that time permits you to visit our Roof-Top during the evening. Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the end of September 2013. We thought 990 for a non Ac room (including taxes) (no Breakfast for ac rooms only) was a bit steep by the rest of tamil nadu standards - for 1000 you can get an ac room.

We picked it as we just got to madurai, couldn't find our choice of accommodation, were exhausted and our backpacks were getting heavier.

The room was very clean. Fresh sheets and pillow covers and freshly laundered towels. The toilet was not bad.

Free wifi thank god, but connection drops as usual as it does for the rest if India.

Cable TV in the room, hooray.

Noise from works in the building were annoying but bearable.

Newspaper in the morning!

Temple about 1km away, easy stroll.

Guy at the MORNING front desk was ultra super helpful with information on buses for our onward trip. He wrote down the name of the bus stand, the bus number that will get us there, and how often the bus comes. He was so nice. The regular guy at the front desk is curt and businesslike.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff. Regret the inconvenience caused due to renovation work going on at our property. Looking forward to serving you during your next visit to our Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice clean non-AC room, not far from the train station, about 15 minute walk to temple. Room cooled down nicely in the evening because we could open our window (put up our own mozzie net over window). Did get noise and exhaust from generator when power went out so may want to ask for room away from generator. Wonderful view restaurant on roof. Front desk efficient and they have 24 hour check-out which worked well for us as we arrived in the evening and we could check out in the evening for a night train without extra charge for the day use. Try to be at Temple for evening ceremony around 8:30 pm. A guide enhanced our visit to the temple. We stayed here in early March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your appreciation has been passed on to our staff. The power situation in Tamil Nadu, especially Madurai, had put everyone to hardships but thankfully the situation has improved in the recent days and we expect it to be resolved in the months to come. Looking forward to serving you during your next visit to our Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel Supreme is a good hotel. The rooms are basic (no decoration or anything). The AC does a good job without making much noise. Some of the rooms have a beautifull view and you can see the Gopurams from the balcony. The (roof-)restaurants serve good food. From the rooftop-restaurant you have a beautifull view and you can see the temple by night.

The location of Hotel Supreme is superb! You are in the center of Madurai and it takes just 5 minutes to get from the hotel to the famous temple. The hotel also provides a travel agency which helped us by booking a taxi. Definitely stay here next time, the rooms are a bit less than other hotels but the location is awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review of our Hotel. You would probably have noticed during your stay that we are under the process of renovation and are upgrading our rooms. Looking forward to your next visit to our Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin
Partner, Hotel Supreme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Supreme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supreme

Address: 110, West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supreme 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Supreme, established in 1988, has the very First Roof Top Restaurant and the only hi-tech Spaceship Bar, Apollo '96, in the City. It is a Three Star Category Hotel located in the Heart of the City. It's near the Railway Station, Central Bus Stand, 12 kms. Away from the Airport, 8 kms. From Mattuthavani Bus Stand & walkable distance to the Meenakshi Temple. We have 69 well appointed Centralized Standard A/C, Super Deluxe and Suite Rooms with attached bath, running Hot & Cold water, Telephone & Satellite TV facilities. High speed Wi-Fi Internet access is being offered complimentary to all our patrons. We have Two Veg. Multi-Cuisine Restaurants - an A/c Restaurant & an open-air Roof-Top Restaurant. We are proud to say that ours is the tallest building in the city providing an aesthetic view of the Great Meenakshi Temple from our Roof-Top. Other Facilities - Money Changing, Conference/Banquet Halls, Travel Desk, Communication Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Supreme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supreme Hotel Madurai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Supreme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.