We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Supreme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Supreme to your Saves list
Hotel Supreme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110, West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a non ac room with private bathroom for 1000 INR. It had to separate beds. Sheets where clean and so was the room and bathroom. Hot showers in the morning and evening and free wifi in the room! Dispite being close to the railwaystation it wasn't very noisy and we could sleep without earplugs. The rooftop restaurant is nice and the food is good.
Location is good (but there are a many other hotels in this location), close to the temple and railwaystation and busstation.
Would stay here again!

Only con: no musquito screens and breakfast not included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion of our property.

We are pleased that you found our Rooms satisfactory and Roof-Top Restaurant appealing and had a good time there. Looking forward to receiving you again in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    35
    31
    30
See reviews for
45
38
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice view in meenakshi amman temple, once u go and see then view, hotel is costly 1ly but if u see the location of meenakshi amman temple its really amazing...In one room queen size bed + LCD TV + a refrigerator + centralized AC was provided. While other room had 2 separate beds + an age old TV + remote controlled AC. Breakfast for included in the fare. But breakfast didn't impress at all.

Room Tip: view from kovil
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our property. We are under the process of renovation and are upgrading our rooms on a periodic basis.

Regret to say that you found our breakfast unsatisfactory. We have received positive reviews from many quarters earlier but will look into how we can improve the same.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: nice rooftop restaurant bar with a fret city view of temple. Apollo space theme bar in basement fascinating. Breakfast OK

Cons: rude front desk staff. One of the most expensive place we stayed but were disappointed with value. We're told hot water available morning and night but after calling front desk 4 times and getting hung up on were finally provided bucket of hot water. Never got hot water from taps even though we tried at all hours during our 2
Night stay. Room not very clean. Could not adjust room temp as the aircon was centrally controlled. Only one towel provided for the two of us even though we requested two from the front desk on two separate occasions. Asked for a discount since we had no hot water and were rudely rideculed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

An old hotel, which once I am sure was the pride of Madurai. Desperately needs an overhaul. We were a group of 3 families. 2 out of the three rooms that we took had bed bugs. Lot of them. While they were quick enough to change the rooms( reeks of the fact that it is the norm), it spoiled what was a peaceful night sleep one requires. Amazingly lot of foreign guests were staying. Leading us to conclude as to whether they have different set of rooms. Or maybe they like the 'indian' bite. While the manager never appeared the next day as was in the toilet for hours, they did discount the bill by 30% - little relief for the terrible experience with 4 kids suffering the most.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms. Be vocal about bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have taken note of your comments and would like to state, as said in a few such responses before, that we are under the process of renovation, which will take a while to complete.

We do not maintain different categories of rooms for different customers. Reg. the bed bugs, if you read one of my earlier responses, you will note that the bed bugs are a result of customers arriving from trains. Specifically, my personal experience states that the bedding provided in the A/C coaches of our trains have plenty of bugs & this case is true in particular to the trains between Madurai & Bangalore/Mysore. These bugs adhere to the luggage as well as body of the passengers unknowingly. We take routine Pest Control measures against this menace and ensure our bedding/rooms are free of them.

Inspite of such strict measures some bugs would still have found their way into our rooms and we regret the inconvenience caused to you due to this.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Big plus of this hotel is the location and view.

The rooms are simple, clean, a bit outdated. Shower is warm.
Make sure to check the room before accepting it. There are rooms with a lot of noise from the airco units, while on that same floor around the corner there are rooms with a view of the meenakshi temple and no noise. The staff is a bit reluctant but if you insist, they will be helpful in finding the right room - it is worth persevering!

One of the best things of this hotel is the rooftop restaurant - typical indian food but the main attraction is the fabulous view of the city of Madurai and the Meenakshi temple.

Breakfast is simple but fine.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting and ask to be shown several rooms. There are rooms with Meenakshi vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion of our property. As already mentioned in our response below, we are under the process of renovation, which will take a while to complete.

We are pleased that you found our Roof-Top Restaurant appealing and had a good time there. Looking forward to receiving you again in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel has a very helpful set of desk staff. The restaurant team were also very obliging.

For the price the coom was a bit basic, but perfectly comfortable.

Although some of the decor was a bit faded the place was certainly clean.

I have stayed in many worse places.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for one of the AC Rooms - We looked into one of the basic rooms - and they were jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate your views.

Our staff have been appraised reg. your positive experience.

As informed in our earlier reviews, we are under the process of renovation and are upgrading our rooms as soon as possible. Looking forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were genuinely impressed by the uselessness and "could not care less" attitude of staff here. Our room did not get made up despite the sign being on the door all day, the unfriendly, unhelpful receptionist yawned at us and the generator used during the frequent power cuts kept us awake as it sounded like a rocket being launched next to our room.
The rooftop bar has great views, but despite having lots of staff we didn't get served for ages - they all preferred standing around chatting. They don't serve any wine there. The food is ok but overpriced.
The basement spaceship bar is good fun but again no wine (unless you count port).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Supreme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supreme

Address: 110, West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supreme 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Supreme, established in 1988, has the very First Roof Top Restaurant and the only hi-tech Spaceship Bar, Apollo '96, in the City. Hotel Supreme is located in the Heart of the City. It's near the Railway Station, Central Bus Stand, 12 kms. Away from the Airport, 8 kms. From Mattuthavani Bus Stand & walkable distance to the Meenakshi Temple. We have 69 well appointed Centralized Standard A/C, Super Deluxe and Suite Rooms with attached bath, running Hot & Cold water, Telephone & Satellite TV facilities. High speed Wi-Fi Internet access is being offered complimentary to all our patrons. We have Two Veg. Multi-Cuisine Restaurants - an A/c Restaurant & an open-air Roof-Top Restaurant. We are proud to say that ours is the tallest building in the city providing an aesthetic view of the Great Meenakshi Temple from our Roof-Top. Other Facilities - Money Changing, Conference/Banquet Halls, Travel Desk, Communication Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Supreme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supreme Hotel Madurai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Supreme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.