We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Bow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Meenakshi Temple

Sri Meenakshi Temple
East Chitrai Street, Madurai, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 attractions in Madurai
Type: Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holy Bow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Take a bow ...in a general direction, for that great entity who built this marvelous temple! If you have an eye for all those finer details, you are in a heavenly abode..literally :) The arches, the thousand pillars, the idols and their composition, and of course the Sanctum Sanctorum are all bound to keep you busy all day!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    160
    31
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Intricate architectural display”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

There is no doubt its one of the temple which is worth a visit even though you are not spiritually inclined, because of the magnificent display of architecture. My suggestion would be to buy a book outside the temple about the history and the architecture and then make a venture inside. This would provide you much understanding of what you see and the purpose of the structures.

Thus I would not go back to the history and inform a few points which might be useful for visitors. Madurai is a very hot place and it would be prudent to visit the temple in the evening, just before the light fades. This would provide you a good view of the 4 gates , which is wonderful. You should ideally enter the temple from the east side, however there is a gate on the north side as well.

The entry tickets are 100/50 /25 INR. For foreigners its Rs 50/-. You can carry your camera with an extra charge of Rs 20/. Ideally you would be suggested to purchase a Rs 100/- ticket as this would get you a fast track entry inside many sanatorium. There are certain pockets where the idols are present which can be extremely humid and suffocating, if you are not there on a spiritual bent of mind. This happened to me and I was quick to retreat. A few places which you should see is the Lotus pool, the 1000 pillar hill. Some of the pillar can play music, thus if you are adventurous enough to miss the eyes you can get in and try your hand.

Non Hindus are restricted inside the place of worship. Thus do not try it would be my suggestion.

Though I went in as a tourist rather than a pilgrim, I received a great news just when I stepped out of the temple. Thus, I would also provide the benefit of doubt to the Goddess who people claim is extremely sacred. I am forced to second it post the visit though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Have to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is an amazing temple, very well held, with incredible sculptures.
But, before you go, look for some restrictions like, you should be all covered, long pants or skirts, shoulders covered by a scarf, and a good pair of socks! Spend much time as you could, taking time in the museum, in the temple, looking the paintings and people doing their prayers!
They do not slowed cameras, but, allowed cell phones, so you can take some pictures of some places.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited it in the evening as he light was fading. Gave it a great atmosphere. A real amazing place that justifies at least a couple of yours (we spent three there and could have stayed longer)

This temple is easy to walk too from e main hotel spots near he train station - just take your time in he heat of this town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Take a backup pair of socks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its hoooot! 107 deg. F. So if you love your feet, keep a pair of socks to protect yourself from the heat and all. The rest - read the reviews from other travelers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Meenakshi Temple also viewed

 

Been to Sri Meenakshi Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Meenakshi Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sri Meenakshi Temple to your Saves list