We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritually fulfilling and architecturally impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Meenakshi Temple

Sri Meenakshi Temple
East Chitrai Street, Madurai, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Madurai
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spiritually fulfilling and architecturally impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited the temple with my family. We got a guide service to assist us during the temple tour. The temple architecture leaves me speechless as so much details went into the building. I would dare to say one of the most impressive South Indian temple I have seen thus far.

I felt spiritually enhanced post darshan. Will definitely visit again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    201
    34
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Architechture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There are four entrances to the temple: East, West, North and South. The road leading to the main entrance i.e.East Tower side entrance of the temple is a narrow on and rather not so celan. There is a Car parking on this side. We had a good taxi taxi driver and he gaurded our luggage. We kept our shoes inside the taxi itself. The time was of the Pongal festival. So a Rangoli Competition was on. Several Japanese and other foreign national looked quite interested in the Rangolies made on the stone floor just outside the temple. The temple seems to of special attraction to Japanese as there were several visitors from that country. One thing to be noted is that sleeveless dresses are not permitted inside the temple. So, one should carry a stole or some such cloth to cover the arms. There are two main deities: There is a fee of Rs 50/- for carrying a still camera. Photography is permitted in the temple except inside the Sanctum Sanatorium. One has to see the height of the ceiling. A guide would charge Indian Rupees 300/- though we didn't engage one. Fee for special Darshan is Rs100 per person (Indian). There were long queues for free Darshan. Do not forget to collect the delicious laddu Prasad (Rs10 for one laddu). It takes about 2 hours for the experience. Madurai is quite congested town. The airport is very nice. Its neat & clean. There is a good food restaurant on the way from temple to the airport. Meal was quite good and not so expensive

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Temple architecture par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of best temple architecture you would find here. It's the only temple dedicated to Lord Shiva's wife Parvati. Huge structure well maintained. Cleanliness every where which you don't find in most of the temples at other places.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I liked the built of the temple and traditions followed. But disliked the too much crowd queuing the line to have darshan inside

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very busy but good. Make sure you see the paintings that 'follow' you around the room. Very well painted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Meenakshi Temple also viewed

 

Been to Sri Meenakshi Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Meenakshi Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.