We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

A very nice hotel with friendly efficient staff It is based on a hill overlooking Madurai and set in wonderful grounds
Watch out for the mosquitoes!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    199
    45
    12
    4
See reviews for
159
182
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I stayed 1 night at the end of a tour in Tamil Nadu, last end of august.
The property is really enormous, an entire hill with view over Madurai, but the garden are not so painstaking as you imagine a Taj hotel.
Reception and some rooms are located in a old building with a decaying aspect.
First room they showed me, at first floor of this building, was with an old, big and noisy air conditioner; the second one was so dark that I asked for an higher category room, so I had a modern and bigger room in one of the cottage around the garden with 700 Rp of additional charge.

The restaurant service was very slow even if the restaurant was empty and the food real terrible (the worst dal I eat in India!).

The ayurveda center was quite good even more Spartan than other center I visited in India.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Located on a 60 acre property at an elevation, this is one of the best resorts we have stayed at. We stayed here for a day and we couldnt find fault with anything. The staff is excellent and extremely helpful. The rooms a right blend of character and modern amenities. From our room, we got a great view of the city. The resort is quite spread out with lot of trees and dense vegetation. There are some 60+ peacocks on the property. The food is outstanding and they were very accommodative with customizing the dishes for our kids. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel situated on a hill-top give an aerial view of the entire city of Madurai.

The rooms are very comfortable.

The food is chanceless so tasty.

The event management and the arrangements are really wonderful.

The view from the open-air restruant will be amazing.

  • Liked — Location, Food and event management
  • Disliked — Travelling distance
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

When our car started the slope in the dark, I could not guess how the hotel would look like. Then came the pleasant surprise. Typical colonial look, surrounded by trees with rain drops sliding from the roof and welcoming us.
As it was late night, we preferred to rest in our rooms directly. In the monrnig, when we came out for breakfast, there was little rain and we walked to the breakfast place which was little away through the garden. One can have the scenic view of surronding from the hilltop.
The hotel was truely a garden retreat!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Stayed here some years ago. Tried another hotel in town but memories of Taj Garden retreat were too good in comparison so called on the phone and booked for immediate check in- the most wonderful hotel we stayed in.
Quaint place, more like a bungalow in British Raj than a hotel, sprawling over several buildings and cottages, wonderful view of the temple and scenery around.on a little hillock in almost in middle of the town, gardens all around. Peacocks in the garden.

very polite, courteous and attentive staff, great food, delightful room. Would like to come back here and spend a few days just lolling around this delightful property while I would like to visit the 14 acre Madurai temple and see it again in detail and at leisure.

All this for a really reasonable price for a superior room was fantastic value for money. Pity we only spent a night here and rushed off to Tuticorin on work.

  • Liked — Not like a hotel at all, more like staying in a rich friend's bunglow as a guest
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Taj Garden Retreat is a romatic location close to the backwaters and the Vembanand lake. The accomdation is available in cottages that are really nice and the total rustic experience. The service was good to however the rooms were not very well kept keeping to Taj standards. The place is wonderful and makes you feel rejuvinated.

  • Liked — The cottages and other olden houses
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.