We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HERITAGE AMBIENCE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HERITAGE AMBIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It has been an unbelievable experience for me to have stayed at this Hotel with a spread out Green Cover and Heritage Buildings. Peacocks welcome you all through your stay and the Staff too were cordial and were focussed on pleasing the Guests to their best. A wonderful and memorable experience for me more so because I never ever imagined that such a property exists in Madurai. I recommend a stay for all those who visit this City.

Room Tip: Any Room is Good for it is more of a Cottage type of Accommodation with Green Cover all over
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai!
At the very outset, may I thank you for patronising this hotel in course of your brief stay at the City of Temples.
While perusing through your review , I was simply thrilled to observe and share with my team, your compliments and kind words of appeciation pertaining to the luxurious greens , the priestine landscape, the colonial set up of the century old heritage building, the courtesy, competency and the responsiveness of the team asociates.
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai is indeed an oasis of tranquility , comfortably perched atop a hill, overlooking the city skyline with aesthetically done up rooms and a great epicurean spread handcrafted by the executive chef for the discerning patron .
I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to the Athens of the East, the mystic city of Madurai.
Assuring you of me and my team's best services at all times.....................................
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    165
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
134
163
44
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

this place has a old world charm.nature as your best companion.sometime in the eve you can have peacocks to give you company.the beauty of this place cannot be explained in words.it needs to be experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai!
At the very outset, may I thank you along with my entire team for patronising this hotel in course of your vacation at the City of Temples.
While perusing through your review, I was delighted to note your kind words of appreciation on the beautiful ambience, the sheer magnificience of the location, the majestic presence of the peacocks and the supreme joy of being in close prosximity to nature as this hotel is all about experiencing nature and its glorious oferings.
I have taken the liberty to share your notes with my team and they are extremely thrilled to read through your observations. This hotel is a heritage property indeed and has a historic past . Its colonial set up and old world charm offers an unmatched stay experience for all of my esteemed patrons and my team associates strive hard to offer unique experiences and epicurean delights that are extremely well orchestrated , and almost handcrafted to perfection.
I do look forawrd to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next vsist to the Athens of the East.
Assuring you of my best attention at all times,
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
Geenral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is situated relatively near to the airport. It is really good property located on the top of the hill. The view of the city is very good and the rooms are big and spacious. When it comes to service, Taj is always on the top

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai!
At the very outset, may I thank you for patronising this hotel in course of your stay in the Temple City.
While perusing through your review, I was delighted to note your compliments pertaining to the proximity of the hotel to the airport, its majestic location overlooking the city skyline as the hotel enjoys a unique advantage of being located on top of the hill basking gloriously in the lap of nature, the spacious and comfortable rooms and the efficiency of the team members in delivering seamless service.
My team in the hotel try their level best to exceed the expectations of the esteemed patrons and I do take pride in the competency and responsiveness of my associates across all departments.
I have taken the liberty to share your note of appreciation with my team and they are absolutely thrilled.
I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back along with your family on your next vacation to the Athens of the East.
Assuring you of my and my team's best attention and services at all times.
Kindest Regards,.
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

An amazing property on a hilltop where you can gaze at and pray to the famous Meenakshi temple in the distance, with an impressive drive leading up to the reception building, which is a heritage structure.
A prime property spread over many acres, with peacocks strutting around and rooms that are significantly larger than the norm. I felt pretty tiny there.
The restaurant serves up tasty tit bits and meals – though not spectacular, very palatable.
Though a small distance from the business district, it’s definitely the place to stay in Madurai.
There are conference facilities, even small ones can be hosted there.
Great family hotel as well.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel pasumalai, Madurai!
At the very outset, I along with my entire team would like to join thanking you for having chosen this hotel in course of your brief stopover in the City of temples.
While perusing through your review , I was simply thrilled and delighted to note your kind words of appreciation for the ambience, locational advantage, the efficiency and responsiveness of the associates and the facilities of the hotel including the conference venues.
This hotel indeed is an oasis of tranquility , tucked away from the urban frenzy of the city, perched atop the green hills of Pasumalai, amidst a colonial set up with well maintained luxurious greens, priestinely laid out lawns, a beautiful pool ,ayurvedic centre and well spaced out rooms aesthetically done up for the discerning traveller .
I have also discussed your observation point on the presentation of the cuisisne and the quality and the taste of the food and shared your compliments with the Chef. However, I do agree that my kitchen brigade should work on elements that would ensure that the dish, though tastefully handcrafted should look extremely appealing as well .
I would like to thank you once again, for detailing your experiences as my team believes in striving towards handholding every guest stay .
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back yet again on your next visit to the Athens of the East, glorious Madurai.

Assuring you of our best attention and services at all times,
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Recently travelled to Madurai with my wife and daughter on the way to Thekkadi and stayed at Gateway Hotel Pasumalai. What a wonderful stay it was. Usually hot Madurai had cooled down because of rains. Situated on a small hillock and with only 15 mts drive from the main city the hotel takes you completely by surprise with all its lush greenery, well manicured lawns and a great view of the city. The peacocks! They are all over the excellently maintained property. Our room overlooking the pool was very comfortable and the pool was clean. Experienced wonderful hospitality by all the hotel staff and I will have to mention Mr.Vinpugal. Hotel managers like him make all the difference to your holiday. He also arranged for a wonderful darshan at Meenakshi amman temple. Food was good and all the restaurant staff are quick to attend to your needs. Captivated by the beauty of the place and the hospitality we extended our stay by a day. Am planning to take my mother there during my next visit. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Madurai.

Room Tip: Pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Madurai!
At the very outset,may I thank you for patronising this hotel in course of your brief vacation in the City of Temples while enroute to Thekkadi.
While perusing through your review, I was delighted to know that you had truly enjoyed the stay and my operations team at the hotel were able to exceed your expectations.
It has been my team's constant endeavor to ensure that each of the patrons have a memorable stay.
This hotel is an oasis of tranquility and happiness, nestled luxuriously on the lap of nature, overlooking the city skyline and the Meenakshi Amman temple at a distance across the horizon, an apt place to unwind , tucked away from the urban frenzy and chaos of a city life.
I would like to join my entire team in thanking you for your kind words of appreciation pertaining to the courtesy and competency of the team , the ambience of the landscaped gardens, comfort of the room and the pool cleanliness .
I have also taken the liberty to share your compliments for Vinpugal, the Front Office Manager and he is simply thrilled to hear the same. It was truly gratifying to note that the temple visit was a memorable experience and I do wish that you had more time on hand to indulge in the beauty of the majestic peacocks that so proudly move around in the property.
On your next visit to the property, the Executive Chef would like you to try some more of his innovative culinary delicacies.
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next vsisit with your mother to this beautiful city of temples.
Please feel free to get in touch with me for any assistance whatsoever.
Assuring you of me and my team's best services and attention at all times.
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
Geeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is situated on a leafy hill full of mature trees and peacocks squawking outside the city. It has an old colonial charm and is a little tired around the edges. But it is a sanctuary from the heat and hubbub of Madurai with a fabulous setting and outlook, comfortable rooms and great staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was upstairs, near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai!
At the very outset, may I thank you for patronising this hotel in course of your stay in the Temple City.
While perusing through your review, I was delighted to note your compliments pertaining to the warmth of the staff, the ambience and quality of the rooms, the colonial set up of the building,the priestine landscape with the lush greenery and mature trees that provide much needed respite from the fiery sun. To compliment this is the majestic beauty of he peacocks.
I have taken note of the observation pertaining to the patches of building that need attention as they have lost their sheen and shine with time.
As they that the lord is in the details, I must thank you on behalf of my entire team for your feedback that has been so detailed and has served as an eye opener for me to work on to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Assuring you of my team's best attention and services at all times,
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff, beautiful sceneries, Madurai's sanctuary!
Ask for Bala private driver for a airport pick up.....one of a kind
Peaceful setting, lovely garden, comfortable rooms and a great swimming pool area
Comfort zone!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indranil_Ray, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Madurai!
At the very outset, may I thank you for your patronage of this hotel in course of your brief stay at the City of Temples.
While perusing through your review , we were pleasantly surprised to see your appreciative note on the property, the swimming pool and the associate Bala , engaged as the hotel chauffeur.
I have taken the liberty to share your compliments with my entire team and especially Bala and this would only motivate them further to exceed the expectations of all the esteemed patrons who visit this hotel.

The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai is indeed an oasis of tranquility nestled amidst glorious nature tucked away peacefully from the urban frenzy of the city.
Dating back to its colonial past, this hotel has very aesthetically decorated comfortable rooms and enjoys priestine landscaped gardens where one would indulge in leisurely walks or just gaze in awe at the majestic beauty of the peacocks.
The swimming pool is the ideal place to unwind after a long day and the Gateway All Day Diner offers traditional as well as international fare that would satisfy even the most discerning palate.
I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back on your next visit to the Athens of the East.
Assuring you of my and my team's fines services and est attention at all times,
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.