We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Save Saved
You added The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Madurai
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good food at the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After my initial opinion of the food at this hotel, I recently visited for dinner again. The taste and food quality have completely changed and is improved a lot. Food were delicious and with lots of new cuisines with attractive name stimulating even kids. The restaurant manager and the chef was so kind, attending our needs. In buffet, there are lots of varieties you could eat. Really enjoyed having dinner and will visit again and again. I recommend dining here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for visiting our restaurant.

We are happy to know that you have found great improvement on the quality of the food especially the regional cuisine. It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to The Gateway Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    156
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
120
149
38
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice in the space of ten days. It was intended to be a stop-over between our holiday in the hills but became so much more for various reasons, one of which was this fabulous hotel.

Wonderful property on a hill with amazing views of Madurai.

We really had a wonderful stay. During stay part one, our room had a nice view of the garden and the peacocks wandered outside which our toddler loved. Staff was always around to hand out nuts and channa for the peacocks if we wanted to feed them. During stay part two, we were upgraded to rooms with a wonderful city view and a small terrace and when it rained we had a peacock on our roof!

The restaurant and room service provided milk for our toddler whenever we wanted. They boiled and cooled it and sent it promptly at no cost. The restaurant staff were indulgent when our toddler ran around the place and refused to sit down in one place. One of the reasons we now patronise the Taj hotels is because of how child friendly they are.

The staff in all departments were prompt, efficient and provided the kind of service we have come to expect from Taj hotels. This quality of service often spoils one for other hotels.

The pool was clean and the attendant was around at all times which is important I think. The ayurveda therapist was friendly and good. One problem is that the towels in the ayurveda centre are saturated with oil and you need to provide a different set of towels for showering than the ones used for the massage. If you are planning to have a massage carry a towel from the room.

The staff at reception was friendly and helpful and took us around some of the other rooms.

The cars were good and the chauffeurs were helpful though I did find the price of a journey from Madurai to Kodaikanal (at Rs 7500) extremely expensive.

One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. We will definitely return to the hotel when we are in Madurai again. Highly recommended.



Internet weirdness (tho this is true of most hotels not just this one!)
It's more than a little ridiculous that the Taj charge for wifi when the group owns a tele-communications company. Charging Rs. 140 for 30 minutes is really the outside of enough. For this reason I prefer to carry my own data card than waste (yes waste) money on wifi at the hotel. Internet access is not a luxury anymore it's a necessity. Hotels need to provide it the way they do showel gel! And it will costs about as much as shower gel.
I was struck while travelling in the US recently how even small B&Bs provide free and fast internet access - it makes one feel very friendly towards them!

Room Tip: Near the pool (superior rooms I think) if you plan to swim - the others involve quite a schlepp to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Entire hill to its credit; 30 odd Peacock and Hens languishing around you................... that's Gateway Pasumalai for you. This temple town of Madurai sports this fantastic place which is part of the True tradition of Taj group of hotels. This place was originally a stay and guesthouse of British company Coats. Taj has shrived to maintain the Grandeur to the best possible extent. This place is ultra quiet too - barring the chips of birds and squeak of the Peacocks!
Must stay if you are in Madurai. Please advance book as this place mostly runs full capacity.

Room Tip: Take rooms overlooking the lawns and pool on level 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the city. Close to the airport . Overlooks beautiful Madurai . Staff is top of the line. Accommodated late check out. Rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Nice bathrooms!

The price is consistent with a five star hotel. The hotel provides 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Gateway Hotel for two days and one night last week and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I was born in Madurai and my Dad has lived the first 28 years of his life in this city, neither of us expected an experience such as this in the middle of this hot, dusty city we knew very well.

Located on top of the Pasumalai hill, this used to be the bunglow of the General Manager of Madura Mills, during the british period and by the look of it he lived like a king. This has been converted very nicely into a hotel. The Manager (Mr Vinpugal) of the hotel introduced himself within moments of us reaching the hotel and ensured that we were welcomed nicely. Looking at the property we immediately upgraded our room to a suite with a view (room 29), which was fantastic! We were also welcomed by the a resident peacock, we later realised that there were several of them in the premises (in the middle of Madurai!!). The nice lawns, the restaurant with it's (apparently famous) local lady cooking tasty local dishes all added to the experience. Since it was on a hill, we did take a bit of time to get used to the commute from the room to the restaurant etc, but once we did, it was just fine. Maybe they need to get buggies for people who may find this a little difficult.

For my Dad, who grew up in the 50s, cycling past this property looking at it with awe, to stay there as a guest was an experience I don't think he will forget. All in all, the best place to stay in Madurai, by far and a surprise holiday destination!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

We are happy to know that you and your dad loved your stay here. We can understand the Madurai connection and the nostalgic feelings of your dad with the city and this hotel. Thank you for your compliments for the hotel associates and especially for our local homemaker who cooked the regional cuisine dinner for you.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked two rooms. I had a very bad experience at The Gateway Hotel at Varkala so I was very skeptical about this property, but once we reached there, the feeling was good. The hotel is on hill. Very good view. Rooms, lobby and restaurant are at different level so be prepared to climb up and down if you are going to stay here. We were offered two rooms one up and other was below it. Room on lower level was nice and spacious. They were newly done. We opted for two single bed which were comfortable. There were two split air condition in room. Bathroom was also very nice and large. Restaurant is quite far from the room so you have to walk all the way down or order meal in your room. In restaurant Buffett dinner was not very appealing so we ordered for South Indian thali. Food was not so good, little spicy, it needs to be improved further. Since we were leaving early morning so hotel manager was kind to pack some breakfast for us. Again the quality of breakfast specially idly, sambar and chutney needs to be improved and it must be similar to the typically South Indian taste that your get in that state. Morning coffee was not as per the standard. Overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Opt for newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We have noted your comments on the required improvement in the taste of food. We assure you that this has been addressed and we have a local homemaker on board dishing out regional delicacies for our guests.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

One of the best properties I've seen from Gateway, with lush greenery and peacocks wandering around the campus. The staff are friendly but not in your face, and I'm amazed at how they manage to do this consistently across all staff - it is obviously a result of great management - my kudos to them.

The pool is excellent, the rooms are HUGE and the food at GAD is good though we would have liked more local food varieties in the menu.

My only complaint is that Gateway should re-consider charges for Internet which many new age hotels provide free of cost since it is cheap anyway. Even our children need Internet for their devices now, and the hotel needs to appeal to their generation as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us. Your compliments on the responsiveness of associates is of great value to us and we will ensure that it is shared with all of them.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.