We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for young family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Illinois, USA
2 reviews
“Great hotel for young family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We came from the US with our 5 year old daughter to adopt our second daughter, a 3 year old from Madurai. The staff helped us feel right at home while we all adjusted as a new family. The rooms were great and the staff were very kind and helpful. We ate in the restaurant for nearly every meal and they always helped us with our children. The pool was clean and the views of the city from this hilltop hotel were amazing. Getting a taxi to take us into the city was easy. The hotel grounds were beautiful and gave our children safe places to get outdoors and play, something we may not have found had we stayed in the city. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    167
    38
    12
    4
See reviews for
134
163
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is established in an old English colonial building and sits high on a hilltop overlooking the city of Madurai. It does not have the same feel as other quality hotels in the Taj group - it seems a little tired and the service was adequate but not excellent. The distance between the rooms and the restaurant can be a bit of a trek. The size of the room was excellent, but the finishes are a little worn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable time in providing us feedback. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve on our existing standards of service.

It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of Hospitality and Service, however, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and have taken up the same for corrective action. Our hotel is undergoing refurbishment and we are renovating our bathrooms completely.

We are confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the service provided by The Gateway Hotel in Madurai.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I keep visiting Madurai frequently - wanted to try this heritage hotel this time. excellent place to stay - good view of the temple city. good service, good ambience and best place for staying. Restaurant service was not to my expectation as we could hardly find anyone to serve water, coffee during your breakfast! They were polite though...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable time in providing us feedback. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve on our existing standards of service.

It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of Hospitality and Service, however, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations at our restaurant. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and have taken up the same for corrective action.

We are confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the service provided by The Gateway Hotel in Madurai.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This one from Taj group of Hotels is built across a 100 yrs old colonial building which house some of the rooms rest are now built on the slope of a small hill.

Courtesy the location it has a stunning view of the entire city...

The hotel is built in a huge area which can be almost like a small trekking trip with rooms spread out amidst natural vegetation and occasional company of peacocks.

Rooms are as usual well kept, well maintained and well equipped with all the necessary things to make your stay comfortable - an usual Taj feature.

The reservation process under experienced and super helpful Lalitha is Superb. The check in was superb too with a nice personal touch.

Now comes the other side of the coin.

Surprisingly it has only one restaurant and the service can fluctuate from impressive to utter disgrace to the "Taj" service.

Then the check out process is another downside to the entire experience, which was slow and very inefficient including the baggage handling.

The other area of improvement is the pool. Water was anything but clean (not clear at all).

But what mends it is how the complaint is being addressed and everybody including the GM Mr. Singh takes personal effort to show concern and eagerness to improve the process.

And thats why I will still prefer to stay here in future.

Room Tip: The new rooms with balcony but you can also opt for the rooms in the old building to experience an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable time in providing us feedback. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve on our existing standards of service.

It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of Hospitality and Service, however, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations at our restaurant. Please accept our sincere apologies again. I remember interacting with you from arrival till check out. As suggested by you during your stay, we have taken corrective measures and have sorted out the training issue.

We are confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the service provided by The Gateway Hotel in Madurai.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel, situated on a hill overlooking Madurai, is a delightful Colonial gem looking like the setting of a steamy Somerset Maugham novel. It sits in an oasis of calm away from the frenetic city below. I would love to have stayed here longer than our two days just to chill and use the pool. It was with huge reluctance that I had to peel myself away for stints of sightseeing in the city below.

When you arrive freshen up and head straight for the large veranda with its sweeping views and order a well deserved beer or G&T, or alternatively head into the wood clad cool dark atmosphere of the welcoming bar.

The hotel boasts a delightful restaurant with views overlooking the city. The food is imaginative and the staff knowledgeable, and attentive. They are actively involved in a training programme for hospitality staff. The restaurant serves alcohol which is not always a given in South India where drinking and dining are sometimes, oddly, separate affairs.

Peacocks wander the beautifully kept gardens and visit you at breakfast for their share of the morning offerings.

This is now one of my favourite Indian hotels (the others are similar character-laced period hotels in Rajasthan).

The only negative (and no fault of the hotel) was the piercing chanting prayer rituals (Christian and Muslim?) broadcast from the valley below on our second night beginning at 4.45am (lasting for 45 minutes). Earplugs do not work. I suggest you prepare for it and plug yourself into your iphone until it is done. If you are a sensitive sleeper there are probably better rooms to avoid this - our colleague did not hear it in his room (walking out of reception his room branched off to the left).

Room Tip: Our room, no. 7, was fabulous. It was an upstairs corner suite with its own sitting area on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us. We will very fondly treasure your great feedback for our hotel.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is located in a perfect spot on a hill and away from the noise and pollution of the city.We arrived there after an exhausting week of travelling and a long car journey from Pondicherry and were greeted by charming staff at reception. Whilst drinking the complimentary fruit cocktails we were told that we had been given a double upgrade. The rooms were very spacious, with fabulous bathrooms and a huge veranda with fantastic view over Madurai. We spent the afternoon at the pool which was set in a beautiful garden and immaculately clean and well organised. The staff were extremely attentive and the poolside menu and food was excellent (the pakoras were possibly the best I had in India).
The restaurant served a buffet dinner which was excellent and again with really pleasant staff. I also used the spa which is run by a delightful girl from Kerala who tailored my massage according to my needs. She then offered me a short 20 minute complimentary massage the next day as I had been suffering from a bronchial infection and she wanted to make sure I was ok. The laundry service was excellent and the complimentary wifi worked extremely efficiently. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We thankyou for your compliments to the team especially the restaurant team and the Ayurvedic SPA therapist.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

V hospitable staff and like any Taj warm and welcoming .
Lovely room, we spent the new year. Away form all the city noise yet close to the temple
The staff as usual to any taj are very helpful
The city is very crowded

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a balcony with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We thank you for your compliments to the staff for their hospitality.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No. 40 TPK Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.