We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of the tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Residency
Save
You added Star Residency to your Saves list
No 43 & 44, Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best hotel of the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour of Southern India. The staff were the best I've met and went that extra mile for us - particularly Vijay.
Comfortable beds, great rooftop restaurant, and great breakfasts! Just don't ask to watch anything other than the cricket!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel was acceptably clean, well located and the staff was very helpful. The room I had was quiet an due wifi was decent. I would stay here again without issue. This hotel would represent your average Indian mid-range hotel in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for a night back in Nov last year. Rooms are very decent with clean bathrooms. The staff was very courteous as well. Food was pretty good except for the complimentary which was just about average. Autos are available easily outside the hotel which are a recommended mode of transport to visit the temple. Overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booking was easy, but the person who booked was too lazy to type what was included in the stay. He replied to my mail stating "booking confirmed as per below mail" , which was my questions.

We have recently went to Madurai and booked a room in star residency. This place always used to be over crowded and never got a booking in the past. Since we wanted to go to Aravind eye hospital, this is one of the closest hospitals in the area.

We have checked in around 9PM and only good thing about the room was bed. Room and bath room is very small. Had to buy the drinking water by separately paying for it. Free Breakfast included in the tariff was not good.

The staff were really courteous and well behaved.

Drink TEA only if you have a deep pockets. one TEA costs 55 RS !!!

On top of all these they charged luxury Tax and service tax in the bill. I failed to understand where was the luxury other than the STAR in the hotel name.

Room Tip: Ask for the details before you book and try to get exact details that you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Feb 2013 for one night. The hotel was pretty crowded during this time. The rooms are well-sized, the shower/toilets are clean and overall the stay was comfortable. The staff were also friendly, polite and accomodating. I would have prefered them to be a little more attentive and efficient during serving.
The dining area could not accomodate the crowd at that time. Furthermore, the dining area had several flies and insects constantly buzzing around our food which made it uncomfortable for us. Hopefully the management will be able to sort this out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed there in December 2012 for one night. For the price, we were expecting a better standard. The room in itself was nice, but the windows did not close properly and are of poor quality. There is a lot of noise from the traffic but mainly from a small temple just opposite the street which was making loud music from very early in the morning (before 6am) and woke us up. Breakfast buffet was ok. We didnt eat in the hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel.. we stayed here with our G adventures tour in Nov 2012. Nice newer hotel with nice big clean rooms. Nice beds and great bathroom with lots of hot water.
Downside was the swarms of mosquitoes!! As soon as you walked in the door you were being bitten. There were tonnes in the room. I called reception and asked for something to help and they sent up a man about 10 seconds later with a plug in mosquito repellent. Unfortunately it didn't fit into their electrical sockets. So we spent another 30 minutes figuring out an adapter that worked. However, once it was on and working it did help! I found the staff quick to help.
I still wore mosquito repellent to bed.
Helpful Hint : Instead of DEET - try ODOMOS! its a great mosquito repellent that you can buy in India for pennies!! Just keep applying often!! works great!
Food on the roof at night is great!! Wear your bug spray though. Try the hot and sour chicken soup!! Yummmmmm!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Residency

Address: No 43 & 44, Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.