We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel – worth for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vijay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vijay to your Saves list
Hotel Vijay
122, TPK Road, Madurai 625001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
delhi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Budget hotel – worth for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for one day to visit meenakshi amman temple.



Plus

Location- near to temple and railway station

Price – searched many hotels but I couldn’t find a Double bed Ac room for Rs. 990

Rooms- Newly renovated rooms.



Minus

No restaurant. But Restaurant is available opposite to hotel

Limited car parking

11X11 room size

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Manager
Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    21
    5
    11
See reviews for
45
8
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

service was worst. front office staff never smiled nor shown any courtesy to the customers. wi fi was not available; house keeper was drunk during day time itself. though room interior was good, the same could not be enjoyed for the worst service and other value added facilities. even for a bed sheet, it was to be followed up and reminded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, General Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate for bringing to our notice directly with us when you were here at Hotel Vijay and we accept all form of feedback that will help to improve our service.

When you reported that bell boy was drunk the front office in charge immediately took necessary steps. As the Front office was handling this situation he failed to smile at you. Later bell boy was replaced with another person and this took little bit time to provide you bed sheet. Please accept our apologies.

Happy to know that you loved room interior. Hotel rooms are newly renovated.

Assure you that necessary steps and training to staff will be conducted to avoid such re- occurrences in future

Sincere apologies for not being able to stand up to our commitment of service. Hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you.

Feel free to contact us at +91 94437 11234

General Manager
For Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was a solo female traveler visiting the city only for a day for the temple. hence i decided to go for an economical option which was near to the railway station. It is about 10 minutes walking distance from the station and about 1 km from the temple. Exterior of the hotel is not very promising and it looked scary from outside. I got scared from the safety point of view. room was ok but not very clean. it was value for money overall but with jittery feeling for few hours.

Room Tip: go for AC room and not facing the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, General Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sparing your time in completing our Feedback Form in TripAdvisor.

At the time of your arrival exterior painting work was going on. We apologise for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you.

Hotel building is secured with CCTV cameras and full time staff is available at Front office who watches these security cameras.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors

If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We book two Non A/C rooms,the rooms is on 3rd floor,hotel also had lift facility.
Rooms were clean and good.Rooms also had almost all basic facilities,

The Hotel was very near to kodal Alagar Temple.(10 mins waking)

Hotel also had taxi facility on affordable and cheap rates,
So, we also book taxi for sight seeing places.

The staff was good but one person irritate us by asking us many times tea/coffee/lunch and many things but when we told him that we don't need anything, then he haven't visited again

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd or 3rd floors r quieter !! if in family then try for family room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As guests feel that the room service staff never visits them. So we have directed our staff to check with our valuable guest at regular intervals. We value your feedback and will take appropriate steps to avoid such annoying.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay ,would look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Manager
Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Recently I have stayed in the vijay hotel along with my family on 4th March . Its location is very good ...very close to the Railway station and Meenakshi Temple. It is a basic facility hotel with clean rooms and toilet. Total Value for money. It has one disadvantage that it doesn’t have their own restaurant. But not an issue as there are many restaurants within 20 steps from Hotel. So, if you are looking for a budget hotel it may be among the best options as within 1000Rs A/C rooms are available .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sparing your time in completing Hotel Vijay, Feedback form in Trip Advisor.
Your feedback will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher service standards in the future.
Hope we have a chance to serve you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a pretty decent hotel...very close to the Railway station and Meenakshi Temple. The rooms are pretty neat and clean and the hotel staff is also very courteous. Though the rooms are not Great which is pretty understandable for a budget hotel. So, if you are looking for a budget option with a transit kind of accommodation, then this hotel is for you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sparing your time in completing our Feedback Form in Trip Advisor.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.

Your feedback will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of service in the future.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Recently I have stayed in the vijay hotel along with two family groups after searching around ten hotel and lodges with car parking facility.Nowhere i found like this much amount of neatness,clean and moderate cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks for your feedback Sir. We appreciate your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vijay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijay

Address: 122, TPK Road, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Hotel(Lodge)located at the heart of the city, near to Railway station, airport. Very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple. Centrally located to other tourist spot around Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vijay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vijay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.