We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Madurai to your Saves list
Heritage Madurai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11,Melakkal Main Road,Kochadai, Madurai 625016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Madurai
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This review is dated as I visited this place in late August 2013. I thought I will not write a review as it is so long overdue now. But then again I did not want to miss out writing about a stay that will always hold a very special place in my heart. So here it is.....

For our third anniversary I booked a luxury villa with plunge pool in Heritage Madurai based on great reviews. And we were not disappointed in fact this place exceeded our expectation.
The property in bang on the main road, around 20 mins from Madurai Meenakshmi temple. It is a sprawling property with lot of trees and greenery and birds chirping, giving you a feeling that you are miles away from the crazy traffic, noise and chaos of Madurai. Our check in was smooth and fast. It being off season, we could choose our villa, we chose the one away from the main road. We were greeted with a lovely anniversary cake, some cold lemonade and fresh fruits at our room.
The villa entrance has strong south Indian stamp complete with a granite, wooden pillar and solid wood door. The sitting room is spacious complete with sofa set and TV. We didn’t use the TV much, but for a place of this grade one would expect flat screen TV of at least 40+ inches. Anyway not a showstopper!!
The bedroom is fantastic, with a huge bed opening to and with clear view of the courtyard and plunge pool. The bathroom is spacious with granite flooring and a big rain shower and toilet seat on one side and big basin complete with mirror on the other. They have put up a partition between the toilet set and the shower area, which I felt was a nice touch.
The plunge pool is amazing. But one needs to bear in mind that it is in fact a plunge pool and not a full- fledged swimming pool. We spent a lot of time just fooling around in the plunge pool. This pool being in the open does have some dried up leaves and flowers floating in the pool, the management has put up some net like covering on top of the pool. But it is still difficult to keep it completely spic and span.
The property has a small village replica t, where one can indulge in some activities like pottery etc. You can explore the property on bicycles provided, sure to bring out the kid in you. Also they have badminton and golf, including simulation golf to keep people occupied.
The main swimming pool is in the form of a temple "kolam" i.e temple lake. The water was the best we had ever experienced in any swimming pool in the country. Super clean with zero traces of chlorine. One can spend hours soaking in this pool.
I availed back, shoulder and foot massage services at the sap. It was done with ayurvedic oil and really relaxing. The massage was completed with a very nice refreshing cup of herbal drink. The bill for the massage is sure to bring a smile to your face, it is so reasonable:)
We tried their private candle lit dinner complete with our own dedicated butler at our villa. They set table for us near the plunge pool. We had asked for a five courses Italian and Mediterranean meal. We were apprehensive as this place screamed out south Indian and we were here experimenting with some alien cuisine. We did appreciate the time continental chef spent in talking to us and reassuring us. The meal was excellent, food sumptuous, service excellent with our butler spacing the various courses in our meal just right.
When it was time for us to leave, we were so tempted to cancel our flight tickets and extend our stay. Truly the best stay ever, cannot find one thing to complain about or even to suggest could be done better.
For couples do try out their private candle lit dinner with your own customised menu..

Room Tip: Do go for room with plunge pool..also choose a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are greatly grateful to you for having taken your valuable time in posting an exhaustive review about our property and verily we, at Heritage Madurai, are extremely happy to know that you have completely enjoyed your stay here as it would always hold a very special place in your heart.

Your review is showcasing our Heritage Hospitality in unambiguous terms and it gives us immense power and boosting energy in our commitment towards guest satisfaction by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means at all times. .

We feel privileged to invite you to our hotel and request you to give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards.

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    198
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
175
241
21
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed there for one night . Good property. Excellent ambience. Stayed in pool villa. Spacious rooms. Indoor pool is ok but needs some upkeep . Bathrooms needs exhaust fans . Fantastic staff. Food quality ok but can be improved. Overall a excellent hotel for indian conditions .

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

We greatly appreciate your valuable time to post your review in the Trip Advisor complimenting property, ambience, pool, rooms and staffs of our hotel. .

While taking your positive comments on board, we truly value your feedback that will enable us to know how our services are evaluated and where attention and improvement are required to get our Valued Customers satisfied in all our products and services.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again to experience a Veritable Heritage Hospitality in your next visit to Madurai in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am working in dubai came for my vacation i have booked a deluxe room for my honeymoon, completely enjoyed the stay. The overall services received was excellent, tasty halal food. i born in pudukottai and worked in several places particularly in madurai for 5 years but i am not aware of this hotel. My friend recommended this property for my stay. i will comeback and stay with my family on my next vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon completely and had a very pleasant stay at our hotel.

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our food and services and recommending our hotel to other travelers through this Trip Advisor.

It is our constant endeavor not only to get our customers satisfied in our standards but also to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means.

We take this opportunity to request you to kindly recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives for accommodation during their visit to Madurai.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel with your family in the near future.

With best regards.

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 8:00pm and checked in for our deluxe club room we had already booked and paid for. When we were taken to the room and entered my wifes face dropped, not the deluxe ambience we had expected! I went to reception and explained we had booked a deluxe room as this was our honeymoon and was told that it was their deluxe doom! I said it wasnt good enough as it wasnt clean, stains on bed cover, sofa, dirty looking bathroom wet room floor and my wife didnt even want to sleep in there. It overall was a tired room.
They then upgraded us to a much better room with a outdoor plunge pool and much more spacious and clean bedroom and bathroom with a small living room area also.

We had evening dinner at the restaurant and i can advise one thing on this, avoid meat at all costs! My wife had a margarita pizza which was okay, but i had chicken biriyani and can honestly say the next morning i experienced one of the worst most violent food poisining / sickness i have ever had. i couldnt even make it to the temples in the car without having to stop to be ill and it ruined the whole point we came to visit madurai. Due to the next stage of our trip already being booked we had to move on and leave madurai. As a side note the restaurant staff were very friendly and made the dining experience at the time pleasant.

Also, my wife had just paid for a car to take us to the temple 1000 rupees, the money was still in the staff hand yet they then said she wouldnt be allowed in due to what she was wearing. She said we didnt need the car then and could she have her money back to which they refused and said it had already been processed, very bad we felt indeed.

The room we ended up in was nice but all in all the experience was not great and the hotel photos on their website dress it up more than it is we feel. All things considered it is an escape from the dirty chaos it is surrounded by but by no means 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel.

It is really unfortunate that that we have not come up to your expectations and we are very much concerned about your stay and experience with us. We have taken up your issues with the concerned department heads for taking necessary steps for rectifying them.

We sincerely invite you to visit to our hotel again to experience the real Heritage Hospitality that is being cherished by most of our esteemed customers.

Thanks & Regards,

Nandagopal kannan
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

You can stay for the whole day just enjoying this hotel!
Pool is very good with the water coming from the bottom, surrounded by enormous trees and birds everywhere.
The restaurant is very good and the staff is very well prepared to attend your needs, they suggest and create special dishes!
The spa is great, had 2 different treatments and they were fantastic! Indulge yourself!
The rooms are modern, comfortable, spacious and you hardly can hear the air conditioned. Stay in the porch with a spectacular view of the gardens having a cup of tea give some quietness.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Our Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are highly delighted to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with your friends at our hotel.

We are grateful to you for the time and trouble taken for posting your fantastic review about our hotel, rooms, restaurant, pool, spa and also staffs. We, the entire team members, are verily enthused by your compliments with immense energy to rededicate ourselves towards our commitment to get our valued customers satisfied.

We would request you to recommend to all your near and dear for accommodation in our hotel during the visit to Madurai.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards.

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was an official visit for a day,while browsing I got attracted by the natural beauty and ambiance of this hotel.The hotel staff were very polite and understanding and is ready to compromise when I made a complaint about food quality they give a full 100% discount for it.The food quality is a lot to be improved to reach the stars(star standards)In room service was very pleasant and was in time.When you visit do not forget to book in advance I stayed away from the swimming pool later came to know that there are rooms near swimming pool.It is better to explore the hotel first and then to decide the room of your choice.
If you are crazy about photography then you can make maximum use of the scenery in and around the hotel.Film makers can also think of making use of this very good environment for film making.When complaining about the food I have never expected that the chef Mr.Suresh will be waiting for me while I was vacating the room promising me that next time I will feel the difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

We honestly thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review in the Trip Advisor complimenting ambience, pool, rooms, staffs and services of our hotel. .

While taking your positive comments on board, we truly value your feedback that will enable us to know how our services are evaluated and where attention and improvement are required to get our Valued Customers satisfied in accomplishing our commitment for 100% Customers Satisfaction.

We would also look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again for a Veritable Heritage Hospitality Experience when you visit to Madurai next time.

Kind regards,

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came Madurai to visit the temples.3 days stay in heritage was memorable one. i stayed with my family for 3 days we had wonderful experience. on arrival we finished our registration formalities at reception, then one of the reception staff took us to our room, he explained everything about heritage. our rooms were clean & tidy with wooden furnished floor. Service is very professional from House keeping & Restaurant. Tasty & mouthwatering food.

Inside the hotel they have a saree weaving unit , weaver made a beautiful saree for us and it cost very less comparing to other cloth shops.

Overall memorable stay at heritage Madurai, We recommend.

Room Tip: ask for Luxury villa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

We are extremely happy to know that you and your family had a memorable stay at Heritage Madurai.

We greatly appreciate your valuable time to post your wonderful review in Trip Advisor. We are also grateful to you for your high recommendation of our hotel with nice compliments about rooms, foods, services and staffs.

Our Cultural Center is a typical village setting with thatched huts and inside the huts, one village pottery man engaged in making design potteries and another weaver engrossed in his loom weaving colorful fabrics, all portraying the rural Chettinad Village.

It is always our endeavor to get our valued customers satisfied with our dedicated and personalized services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

With kind regards.

Nandagopal Kannan
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11,Melakkal Main Road,Kochadai, Madurai 625016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#2 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.