We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A garden oasis among Madurai’s hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Madurai to your Saves list
Heritage Madurai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11,Melakkal Main Road,Kochadai, Madurai 625016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A garden oasis among Madurai’s hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an excellent choice. The hotel is located on the grounds of a former British country club, not far from the city center and the temple. Some buildings are renovated club structures, some are architect designed to match the style. A new swimming pool resembling a traditional step well is fed with artesian waters and does not appear to use chlorine. While all rooms we have seen were very nice, one must be aware that the hotel property borders a transmission belt factory and the factory noise is definitely bothersome in some rooms. When we complained about it, the manager found us a quiet room which also happened to be an upgrade (at no additional charge) . The next day we realized that we need a day room since our train did not depart until 11PM. Again, the manager, Joby Jose, agreed to let us keep our room until late that evening at a very reasonable rate. The food at the hotel is good and after trying a highly rated downtown roof top restaurant the night before, eating at the hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise.
We recommend this hotel as a great place to retreat from the congested streets of Madurai. The hotel management is responsive, friendly, and helpful, and the accommodations are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the transmission belt factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are delighted to note that you have had a comfortable stay with us and your appreciation motivates us to scale new heights.

We look forward to your return with much excitement!!

With kind regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    239
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
194
286
24
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The whole resort is built in an outstanding manner and is an oasis of peace. The villas with their spacious rooms and the plunge pool are brilliant. The common swimming pool built like a temple pool looks/feels much better than can be gauged from photos. The coffee shop is a pleasant place to be where one can hear birds chirping. Maintenance of the rooms and whole place is well done. A place worth visiting/revisiting.
Some negative points which we experienced. 1) The reservation process was very poor. I had done by phone/email and I had to do multiple follow up and some movement happened only when I wrote to the corporate office. 2) being more convenient, we had hired a car in the morning for a tour. The charges are double of what the charges were when I booked a car through Fasttrack in the afternoon. Higher charges are ok and expected, what is not expected is dishonesty at a resort like this, even if amount concerned is small. After the trip, reception called me and informed me of the charges. As I was aware of the exact kilometres/time taken, I pointed out. Immediately the reception changed the amount. Not sure whether the travel agent or reception desk is skimming off. 3) Christmas Eve dinner had a broad spread, but food quality was average 4) poor service from reception overall. Even for checking out, there were delays in sending the buggy (same is needed as car park a distance away) or bell boy to help wit luggage ( even after I gave feedback to a lady at the reception).

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing a review about our hotel stating it is an oasis of peace.
With regard to your negative experiences, we are truly concerned about the matters and we are extremely sorry for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. The matters were thoroughly discussed with the concerned heads of departments to have them rectified.

As a matter of fact, we have been always striving hard to our best to get our esteemed customers satisfied in all aspects. We always believe ‘The customer is king” and truly follow the Sanskrit verse ‘Athiti devo Bhava’ which is tag line of India’s Ministry of Tourism’s campaign. If your experience is different from what we practice, it is matter of great concern to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel to experience the true Heritage hospitality,

Kind Regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is out of this world. It is a haven of serenity in a busy noisy city. The whole lay out, the extensive gardens, the trees, and the bungalow style rooms, are exquisite. The swimming pool is stunning. The rooms are enormous with splendid furnishings, beautiful bathrooms, and comfortable beds with good lighting (rare!). The food is magnificent and plentiful. I wish we could have stayed for a week. This is one of the most memorable places I've stayed in my whole life - and I'm seventy three years old and I've been around -so I know!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your stay with us. We are delighted to know that it’s one of the most memorable places where you have stayed in your whole life.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

With Best Regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went to the quite Temple Town. Had booked the Villa & it was really spacious and priavte.
Had an private small pool.
Food was excellent tastes the best.
A Very Nice place to relax. The signature effects they had built in has been really good.
Staff where friendly and took good care.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Vinod,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with them. I am glad you liked the atmosphere of the hotel and the taste of the cuisine.

On behalf of the Heritage Team, I look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful holiday experience.

Warm Regards

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a really beautiful hotel designed by the Great Sri Lanka Geoffrey Bawa with all his signiture
effects of buildings at one with landscape.
My accommodation was sumptious. A gorgeous sitting area, leading on to a beautiful bedroom, with terrace and plunge pool, and then luxurious shower and toilet area,

I hadnt been well, and had to have special food. The room service manager came to
see if it was all right, and then the hotel manager as well.
I was well looked after and can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Heritage Madurai and I am grateful for your sharing the valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.
Am glad to hear that you liked the decor of the hotel and that we could make you feel comfortable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you soon!

Kind regards,
Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

An oasis of comfort in Madurai. It was apparently the old Madura Coats Club and has retained its old courtliness and grandeur. Fantastic suites with private plunge pools.Wonderful large swimming pool, a great golf simulator, interesting Chettinad Village with a person to help initiate you into pottery. Good gym, table tennis and activities for everyone. The authentic Chettinad food was the high light of our stay. A must repeat for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mr. Girish Punja,
Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!
We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Heritage Madurai. Entire team at Heritage Madurai joins me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.
Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your near future.
Thank you,
Kind regards...
Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went in November, travelled with a friend. Rooms are very spacious and confortable. Swimming pool is fab. Staff always very courteous and helpful. Would recommend more choices of international food at the restaurant though - we went for vegetarian for starter and main course and unfortunately it was way too spicy... Overall we were very happy with the hotel and would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: if you are lookin for a quiet spot in Madurai, definitelly the right place to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!

We sincerely thank you for your review from your stay at our hotel. Entire team at Heritage Madurai delighted when we shared your valuable review. We looking forward to welcome you at Heritage Madurai with your Friends and Relatives.

Kind Regards...

Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11,Melakkal Main Road,Kochadai, Madurai 625016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Madurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.