We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)

Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)
110, West Perumal Maistry Street | (Near Railway Station), Madurai, India
+91 452 234 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 173 Restaurants in Madurai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bracknell
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Roof with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at 6pm so we could see the sunset and the gopurams of the Meenakshi Temple light up and we had a great view, in fact most of the tables have a view. An added bonus was the ice cold beer and the food was better than average for a city business hotel too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent food and view...wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

all the food was yummy...couldn't finish everything! View of Temple was amazing and wonderful to witness at sunset. And, we were lucky enough to be there to witness fireworks at the end of a festival weekend!! Great night all the way around

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant and enjoyed our food!

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Best way to spend an evening in Madurai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the Surya restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and the restaurant really justified the reviews. The view of the Meenakshi Amman Temple is truly amazing. I could not find a better way to spend the evening in Madurai.
Regarding the food, most of the dishes were tasty and perfectly cooked. The ambience of the place is top notch and is a perfect hangout place with friends.
The only drawback is the mosquitos. Damn! There were a lot of mosquitos and it really spoiled the mood. The prices are nominal considering the ambience and the view. The best time to visit is between 6-7PM.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant and enjoyed our food! Yes, mosquitos are a major menace in our city and based on your complaint we have already taken steps to install machines against them. Looking forward to future visits from you.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent View in Madurai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really enjoy the view madurai Sri Meenakshi Temple excellent view from here if i suggest better go for evening and order something and get snap tatsol.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Restaurant. We appreciate the same and welcome you to our Restaurant in the future. We will strive to exceed your expectations during your future visits to our Restaurant. Looking forward to serving you again!

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaikal, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Visit for the temple view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have visited here only because of the temple view and view was amazing. But as for as the food is concerned it was very average and some were not good at all. Since it is continental cuisine, we ordered veg spring roll(average), Baked Potato with Garlic sauce(Not Good) and Triveni juice(average). One can visit this place only for Temple view, nothing else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Restaurant. We are indeed surprised that you found our dishes below your expectations. We have had mostly positive reviews from Trip Advisors for both the view from our Restaurant as well as the taste of the items in our menu. Nevertheless, we will strive to improve our taste so that we can exceed your expectations during your future visits to our Restaurant. Looking forward to serving you again!

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme) also viewed

 

Been to Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.