We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't stay here, but the restaurant is KILLER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New College House

New College House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New College House
Save
You added New College House to your Saves list
| 2, Town Hall Road, Madurai, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I didn't stay here, but the restaurant is KILLER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were told this was one of the best places to get a real Indian Thali lunch.

Not only that, but it was probably my favorite meal of the entire month spent in India. My girlfriend, who spent a year living in Madurai, made a nice that was not entirely unorgasmic upon arriving in the dining hall and seeing what was going on.

Bare in mind, you're eating with your hands and sitting next to Indian locals (part of the charm, in my mind). But the food here is outstanding, all-you-can-eat , clean, with excellent service and under $1.00 (U.S.).

Go here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CHANGANACHERRY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Reached Madurai, the Temple City with my friend on 6th October and occupied an A/c Room at the New College House. The room was very reasonably priced with a so so good atmosphere but the location is excellent with a walkable distance to the world famous Meenakshi Temple and attractive shopping locations. The supermarket attached to the hotel served with almost all varieties of imported cosmetics, chocolates at a very reasonable price. There is a very good Travel Desk and a restaurant attached to the hotel. Though the building of the hotel is old, it is facilitated with all the aminities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

New college house is a nice little hotel near the railway station which is an added advantage for any traveller/tourist who may be new to Madurai. I stayed there for 3 days and my stay was quite above average.
The staff were helpful and they arranged for a local sight seeing tour at a low cost. Also they give accurate information about the local place, good shops for shopping etc.
They have a nice restaurant and their rose milk is very famous and very tasty too :)
The only fault that I found was rooms were not very clean, toilets were not in good condition but that is something which is common in many places in India so could adjust for short stay.
This place is near Meenakshi temple so at the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Hotel is located very near to railway station,thats the only good thing about this hotel.
Rooms are very old & bathroom is something ,which i havent seen anything as bad as that in my life.They provide a small box in the name of TV which shows picture that too grained at times.for sure,give a miss to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

It was a surprise to find a lovely place like that in Madurai. It was quite close to station so no tension of finding it. It was a very old building and gave vintage feeling to the hotel. The rates were awesomely low compared to their facility and service. The hotel had a great restaurent which served great south indian food. The travel desk was good and co-operative. The room service was prompt and very caring. The room service attendant enquired very politely about what we need. The served very early morning coffee unlike expectation.
The hotel was also very close to Minaxi temple so we did not face problems roaming around. The travel desk helped us go to kodai kanal. The rates were good compared to out side travel agents. Overall package was good at affordable prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

nice suite room,food was great and the hotel was easily accessable to temple and railway station.Different types of rooms with different rates to suit the budget.could get a cheap room for my driver also in the same place

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Never book this hotel for staying. Rooms are horrible. Mosquitoes & bugs are already staying there for years. Room size is very small. They will charge you some Rs. 350-400/- for NON-A/C double room but trust me at that price also you will get other good hotels. If you ask for something for room service ( I asked for mosquito coil & a jar of water ) it can cost you 3-4 phone calls & ultimately you might have to come down & complain at the reception. Thankfully when I was complaining at the reception, I got a new group waiting to enter the hotel. May be show them how customer oriented they are they called one guy & thrashed him right left & middle. Anyway, I reached there at midnight with my family (11:45PM) & also the place was new to me thats why I didn't take chances. But you please avoid the place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New College House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New College House

Address: | 2, Town Hall Road, Madurai, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Number of rooms: 250

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New College House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.