We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kurumba Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kurumba Village Resort to your Saves list
Kurumba Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, Coonoor 643102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The visit is a little dated but still......i and my husband had gone to Kurumba for a three day stay. The resort itself is quite nice, decent rooms, great view, ok food and good staff. The difficult part was the location-getting in and out is difficult but then this seems to be a problem with most jungle resorts. I wouldnt call this a jungle resort but it is still not approachable without a car.

  • Liked — The view was beutiful
  • Disliked — approchability
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    75
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
127
91
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We, that is my wife, my daughter and myself decided that we would go down to a place which was not crowded and stay in a resort that offered tranquility and privacy. We flew down from Hyderabad to Coimbatore, stayed overnight in the city.
Next morning we took a one hour taxi ride to Metupalayam for an onward journey by the famous heritage train to Coonoor. The journey was fascinating and was the steam engined train. We reached Coonoor by 1 pm and sure enough the resort folks had sent a taxi to pick us up. 15 kms from Coonoor railway station (on the road to Metupalayam) we diverged off into an idyllic resort nestled in a green valley.
We were given a room that overlooked a stream and the valley. It was nature at its pristine best. The cottage was clean and airy (no air conditioning - you don't need it) and there was a wooden balcony from where you could see nothing but towering mountains and the gurgling of the stream. Of course there were the occasional monkeys.
The package of 2 nights and 3 days came with all the three meals of the days - breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only problem is that they have just one restaurant that sits on the edge of the cliff and you see the same staff all the while, but the staff were awesome and every helpful.
There is plenty of space to walk around, plus a well stocked games room and a swimming pool that is discreetly hidden away. And the best part mobiles don't work (except for BSNL) and the television has just two channels and that means one can spend time with the family. Overall it was a wonderful experience to be sitting in the lap of nature and savouring every moment with one's family.

  • Liked — The tranquility of the place
  • Disliked — Mobiles dont work here...but that is not a complaint. Sometimes, its good that mobiles dont work.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I would say this is a definite "not to miss" resort destination.
Our occasion was a 31st birthday and a 3rd wedding anniversary and the timing of the trip called for much relaxation and wedging.

The staff is really cordial and helpful and due to the cozy size of the resort, you end up learning all their names before its time to leave.

Food is great! They have a buffet spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which are all included in the current packages offered. You feel free to eat as much as you want, stay as long as you like and every request is met with a "can do" attitude. I would personally suggest avoiding the Chinese & North Indian bits of the buffet and heading straight for the South Indian portion, simply because they seem to get that "on the dot" in terms of taste, which is much more than can be said for the other variety.

There was one disappointment: We expected a lot of trekking expeditions as mentioned on their website, only to get there and find out that there has been a government ruling against it, because of some tourist deaths caused by wild elephants. However, John, the activities manager did take us mini-trekking up the hill to the 'Hill Grove' Train Station, where we saw the legendary Ooty Toy Train, something we had both voted against travelling to Ooty for. From that train station he also took us up to a higher point, from where the view was even more astounding. Having mentioned the trekking disappointment, though, it is also pertinent to mention that some default trekking happened anyway, thrice a day! To get to the cottage that we were staying in, we had to walk down and up a slope that really got your heart making it's presense felt! Staying nearer to the reception/restaurant area may ensure a shorter walk, but staying further will ensure more privacy and a much, much superior view!

One thing that woulda put a cherry on this already magnificent cake would be a Spa. We talked to the manager about that, who said that it was in the offings, as was the gym. You may want to check whether or not these are up and running before you make the trip...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We went to kurumba village resort on 21st oct till 24th oct( 3nights and 4 days package).Place is truly amazing.You are within the mountains with all spice trees around you.Its a lifetime experience.we went to connor on 2nd day actually half day and on 3rd day we went to full day sightseeing of ooty. After visiting ooty we realized that it was right decision not to stay at ooty because ooty n cooner r too crowded. the resort people arrange cabs for sightseeing at very reasonable price.half-day rs.650 and full-day rs. 950.
hotel ambiance-
the infrastructure of hotel is awesome.there are 19 cottages will all facilities.
staff is very supportive and they play a key role in making ur stay a good experience.
my advice to all people going there is do take cottages near to reception if your going with your elders or little ones.if going for honeymoon you can take far off cottage.lastly we would again love to visit this resort .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in the Kurumba village resort for two nights/three days late September 2009. The entire stay was wonderful. A few points worth noting for the travelers considering this destination:

1. Staff: The staff are very nice, and gentle to a fault. The reception folks were accommodating, and the people in charge of entertaining the guests are very helpful. When I was loitering around the games room not knowing what to do, a staff person stopped by and showed me how to play pool, and played a couple of rounds with me since I lacked company...

2. The views: The resort is wonderfully situated on the sides of a hill, overlooking a range of hills. The views are beautiful, especially the view from the restaurant.

3. Room: The room was very nice, the bathroom very well appointed. The rooms are on the slope of the hill, so depending on where your cottage is, you will have to climb up and down to the gathering areas like the restaurant and reception area

4. Food: Food was wonderful, no complaints. Way too many options.

5. No connections: 4 cable channels and newspapers are your only connection to the world outside. No internet, no cell phones. They have two outbound landlines, but very choppy. This is Shangri La in several ways :-)

All in all, it was a great place to stay and relax amidst greenery and cool air.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Kurumba is an ideal place for those who are simply interested in getting away from it all. Located close to forest land and a little away from Coonoor, it is a great place to relax - we also ended up seeing a number of birds and a giant malabar squirrel within the resort itself. The open air dining area is beautiful - we enjoyed so much eating while in the shadow of the Nilgiri mountains. The pool is very well maintained. The staff were genuine and helpful (probably among the best we've interacted with). Overall, it was wonderful.
Note - if you are older or have health problems, ask for a cottage closer to the dining area. Ours was the farthest away and while we enjoyed that (it had a splendid view of the forests and a mountain stream), the walking may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

stayed for 3 days from 21st to 24th. Stay was good but when we left my wife forgot her gold bangle and 3 diamond rings in the room . whne called after 3 hours of leaving the hotel said nothing was found in the room.
Very disappointing .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, Coonoor 643102, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The kurumba village resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg,clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides.Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurumba Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.