We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was another star, I would give it! 6/5 !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurumba Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kurumba Village Resort to your Saves list
Kurumba Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, Coonoor 643102, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“If there was another star, I would give it! 6/5 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a retreat, with my girl friend to celebrate her B'day. And believe me, they made every second worth in gold and memorable.
This is an awesome place to wind down, and RELAX!
Travel- We decided not to take the car this time around. Thanks to the travel company owner, Saravanan, operating in Kurumba and driver Arun , for plying us from Bangalore to Kurumba. Seeing the roads, the narrow roads and the way the bus drivers burn rubber, it was a wise decision to leave the car behind. Return journey, we took the KSRTC Volvo from Ooty.
Checkin& CheckOut- Smooth and seemless, everything was ready even before we reached, we just checked in and cracked on through our plans.
Rooms-We requested for a room near the stream, they arranged it for us the next day, due to availability reasons, thanks for the same. They were clean through and through.
Location- Nature, Nature, Nature! Fresh air, in the midst of spice plantations,
Thanks for making the tree top dinner, memorable and special. This is done on request and the Head Chef,Mr.Murali, cooks for us and its a seven course meal, right in the midst of the forest, its safe!
Dont miss the train ride, go early and buy the tickets.
Concierge- Great staff (Thanks to Vinod, Shashi, Kaushalya, Murli & the Boss Jothish).
Thanks to Prasad, the driver who took us out on sight seeing, Cheers mate!
Food- Decent enough.
PS: It would nice, if you have an inhouse SPA.
Thanks for the impeccable hospitality. See you soon!

Room Tip: When you are in the lap of nature....Any room, is great. We stayed in 106 and 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing kurumba village resort and also for taking time to share your experience.
We appreciate your motivational and encouraging words. We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing stay with us. Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    91
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
154
117
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A big thank you for Kurumba Village for hosting our team outing in an excellent manner. I would like to specially thank Resort Manager who organized everything in a perfect manner. We had been to this Village many times the experiences where remarkable. The entire resource staff was very and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience following your day outing at kurumba village resort, nilgiris. Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

No words to say about our travel. It was our honeymoon and the private dining was excellent with all privacy. Even though we miss the calls from the relatives and friends because of connection problem over there, it become as an advantage too for us. but one thing we missed is cave dinning which they are planning to implement soon i think. We will come back soon to enjoy the cave dining too

Its a marvelous place to sit and enjoy. balcony was super

Room Tip: 121 with privacy and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at kurumba village resort, nilgiris .We are happy to know that you had a relaxing stay. Your kind recognition of our services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with the team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Quite a journey to get here but worthwhile. Drive down on the dirt road to the hotel was a little hair raising!
Hotel is set in wonderful surroundings and accomodation is 2 bed chalets. The rooms are lovely but with great views. But they could do with some thorough cleaning - we got to our room and found a beer bottle by the door. The sheets were ok but the duvet / blanket was dirty. We did not have enough towels in the room and had to call a few times to get these delivered. On the second day we came back to find blood on the sheets - maybe the cleaner cut themselves? It was noticeable and the sheets should have been changed.
Afternoon tea and hot snacks were lovely
Staff - especially the reception staff were helpful and polite

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time and writing your review about our resort. We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your constructive feedback on the service deficiencies you faced during your stay with us. We can reassure you that we have taken the feedback as an opportunity to improve on our standards of service. The entire team joins me in sincerely looking forward to your next stay so we would like to showcase you the hospitality that we are known for.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Though it was difficult to find our way, once we reached the resort, we were very well taken care of. The environment of the hotel is very very good,Food and Service is excellent.Food is well made. Housekeeping is better than some of the five star rip-offs. The three night stay was more than relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. Tea Stall, activity room, swimming pool and treetop dining are the best attractions. The wi-fi connection in the lobby helped us a lot, On the whole, I recommend this resort for simple unwinding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for appreciating the team at kurumba village resort, coonoor & sharing your experience with us all. We are glad that all the family members have enjoyed the stay & activities at the Resort. Our endeavour is to make the guest experience unmatchable and memorable. We have shared your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back at any one of the nature resort properties on your next visit to the nilgiris.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The best thing about this place is the extremely well behaved staff. Each and every person who works here are friendly and helpful. The place, too, is well maintained and beautiful.
But it could have been better. It takes about half an hour to get to this resort from Coonoor and the route is full of hair pin bends. The journey is exhausting.
The only mobile network available is BSNL. Wi-fi facilitiy is only there in the reception area.. Food was also average.
Reading all the reviews, we decided to stay in the Jacuzzi suite (Room 118) for two days but the Jacuzzi wasn't working. The staff tried their very best to fix it and but it took a better part of the day for them to make it work properly.
The spice plantation tour was good but there isn't anything else to do here.
Overall, it was an underwhelming experience as I expected more.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear madam,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at kurumba village resort. We have noted your feedback on the technical problem faced by you while using the Jacuzzi, I apologize for the inconvenience caused and have briefed our team accordingly. I have taken the matter up with the concerned department and would like to assure you that the problem has been attended to. The next time you visit us we assure you that you will see a marked change. I have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel. Yes we do acknowledge that the resort is a bit far away from the main road, but is mainly due to this that the resort has such an amazing ambience and feel to it. Looking forward to your continued patronage of kurumba village resort and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good location, beautiful setting, more than decent rooms with a good view, great food but lacking in many other aspects. No phone reception unless you have BSNL, no internet in the rooms, no room service and not a lot of activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurumbacoonoor, General Manager at Kurumba Village Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear sir,

greetings from nature resorts!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the resort and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We have noted your feedback on the internet. we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the internet in the hotel is an outsourced service and the signal strength is minimum and when it’s been connected to the other areas of the resort again the band width will be feeble that’s why it’s been restricted only in the reception. We look forward to welcoming you again in any one of our properties and eager to create a heavenly experience for you.

warm regards

kurumba village resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurumba Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Village Resort

Address: Ooty Mettupalayam Road | Hill Grove Post, Kurumbadi, Coonoor 643102, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurumba Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The kurumba village resort is located amidst a spice plantation of nutmeg,clove trees and pepper creepers surrounded by a tropical forests on all four sides.Luxury in the lap of nature is what we offer our guests at the resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kurumba Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Village Hotel Coonoor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurumba Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.