We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place for the family - Wow!...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor
Save
You added De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor to your Saves list
2/16 E Lambs Rock, Coonoor 643101 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trichy
1 review
“fantastic place for the family - Wow!...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

De-rock is one of the best places we've ever visited . There is something unique about the place. Mr Charles is a wonderful person, truly caring and always ensuring we have a comfortable stay.
The food is a class of its own. Thanks to Mr Chris for the mouth watering delicacies. The service is commendable. Wonderful rooms and the lovely atmosphere take us to another world altogether.
The stay was very very pleasant. Looking forward to be back soon...- Milkas N

Room Tip: You take a look at the rooms and you will like them all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

De Rock is located at the Lambs rock view point in Coonoor. A quiet cosy home stay over looking a tea estate, a cliff and the world below. The view is breathtaking.

Charles helped us a lot with a travel plans in and around Coonoor and the food was always awesome.

It is extremely accessible so even if there are old people who cant walk a lot, you can still choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went to Coonoor with a few friends only hopin to meet and greet. The stay arranged at De Rock was the higlight of the trip. The ambience, the food, the personal touch.......made the trip an even more memorable experience.

The valley view of Mettupalayam and Coimbatore all lit up at night was amazing.

Thank you Charles, Chris and all the other friends at your resort that made our stay absolutely fantastic.

P.S
The " De-Lamb " Barbeque was a signature dish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thanks Charles. Thank you for the excellent service provided. Enjoyed the stay for three days.
My thanks to your dedicated staff, in particular to Mr.Chris and Poorna. Excellent view of the plains. So close to Lamb's rock. Nice rooms. Beautiful lawns. Hope you expand soon.

Room Tip: Top floor two rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I landed in Coimbatore and drove down to De Rock, referred by a group of friends. I was stunned by the breath taking scenario location setting, which had a view range of valleys, sleeping beauty mountain cap, and winding roads, cities of Mettupalayam and Coimbatore.

My morning stroll had me cascading along the mountain ridges, as though I was walking through the clouds. I could de-stress myself completely, and be lost in nature and its trails.

The service by Charles and team, was outstanding. They went above their norms of service and we had a lamb barbecue, bonfire at night and home-cooked meals, that were 'best in class'.

The service staff were friendly and very accommodating. I will be going once again with my family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punjab
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

my Experience is DE Rock was amazing....... i went with my family n spend 3 days der... n those were the wonderful days of my life. The best thing was the atmosphere...... i had a serene experience der and 2nd thing was wonderful hospitality by charles and Bahadur chris..........Food was yummy .......mouth watering food i still remember............Charles u r d best host one can ever come across in life.................................. i wud love to come wid my husband now very soon......................

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

De rock is located 7 KM away from conoor city ,I checked In the hotel around 8 pm and I was surprised by seeing the valley , Its strategic location and climate significantly contributed to its Beauty , and if you can get up in the early morning , you will definitely spot at least “Bisons and make sure that you will be going for a trekking, and Mr Charle ,will be there to assist to you with a smile all the time - Charle, has kept his promise ..when i visited on 19-06-2012,(3rd visit) the enire place has developed in such way that , it goes along with the nature, this time we been for a night safari and day trekking, we could spot, Baisons ,Porcupines, Wild boar, and pagmark of a leopad, this i am talking, about De - Rock , Conoor .., lamps rock.(Since there is two property one in masinagudi) though it takes some time to reach place from ooty ,but its worth visiting, I being a interested in photograph, I too would like share those to you.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor

Address: 2/16 E Lambs Rock, Coonoor 643101 , India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rock Jungle Living - Coonoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.