We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunvalley Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunvalley Homestay to your Saves list
Sunvalley Homestay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Stanley Park | Ottupattari, Coonoor 643105, India   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DIRECT BOOKING SPL
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great food - tailored to suit all requests
Brilliant location just outside of the hustle and bustle of Coonoor
Excellent service - all staff were friendly and helpful
5 star accommodation for 3 star prices - bargain

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    104
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
227
97
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 3 very pleasant nights here in January. It was extremely comfortable and the delightful staff made sure, without being intrusive, that we had everything we needed. It is well run and the food is absolutely delicious. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for five nights and enjoyed being there. The food was good and the service was excellent. All the staff were extremely helpful and seemed to enjoy making my stay unforgettable, which they did. Most of all, they were all unafraid to speak to me, even the kitchen staff and the room cleaner, which is a very refreshing thing to find in India. It made me feel more welcome and at home. I made sure the only food I ate was from Sunvalley, as their food was prepared with the utmost care for hygiene and I did not have to worry about catching any unwelcome illnesses. At every meal I ate in Sunvalley I was given mineral water to drink which was boiled with Ayurvedic herbs, which I found after I left to have removed all the back pains and aches I had had before arriving at Sunvalley. The only minus was that the last stretch of road to the hotel was unsealed, though I am sure that will change in time. The view from my room, Esplanade, was magnificent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days i.e, 12to 14th jan. The service they have given, the courtesy, cleanliness I bet you, would have hardly seen like this in India before, except some five-seven star hotels. Genuinely the price is reasonable, rooms are spacious indeed, very clean, the balcony has an excellent view of a tea estate. People who really wanted to chill should definitely take out some time &must visit this place. This location is free from all the huzzles and buzzles of the city life, coonoor is infact cooler than ooty, & a very peaceful place.
I would prefer not to eat food anywhere outside, because you will miss out something. They serve lots of delicious delicacies, whatever you order it is excellent, prepare in very good oil. Off course as everybody said breakfast is awesome, they serve you as a family member. They even give you herbal water to drink which they say is good for digestion. I mean wherein you find such a place in India, that without asking they provide warm water to drink. They have medicines in case of emergencies, they can arrange doctors if needed. I would definitely visit again and have already suggested lots of friends to visit this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a tea estate view. so without any second thought book whatever rooms that suits y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The stay at Sunvalley Homestay was excellent. The staff at Sunvalley were very friendly and they really looked after their guests. The highlight was their breakfast! They had an awesome spread. The food was great and the room service was good as well. Overall, it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Featuring scenic views from over-sized windows, spacious rooms at sunvalley offer a comfortable stay.This would be a great choice for families,couples & groups. I was very satisfied with the service of the sunvalley homestay and I'm happy to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in the resort for 3 days. It was extremely memorable experience with my family. Unbeatable hospitality by all the staff and Dhinesh and family. My family wants to come back and stay here every year. Coonoor means " Sunvalley homestay"
Keep up the clean and wonderful service!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunvalley Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunvalley Homestay

Address: Near Stanley Park | Ottupattari, Coonoor 643105, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunvalley Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunvalley homestay in Coonoor, Ooty- The Nilgiris, Tamilnadu INDIA is a clean and tranquile place little away from the chaos of the town... A home away from home. Enjoy your vacation holiday at our Hotel in Coonoor. Newly built concept holiday home in Coonoor- Ooty, with spacious & fully furnished rooms and all rooms with views of lush green valleys of Nilgiri mountains & tea plantations. Unblocked views of tea estates, mist filled valleys and far away mountains will clearly give a pleasant eyesight from our homestay. Sunvalley homestay is conveniently located in pollution and noise free atmosphere, away from hassles of city and offers you luxury rooms with clean bathrooms and other amenities with 24hrs Kitchen/ front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunvalley Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunvalley Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.