We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tea delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilitea Farm Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilitea Farm Stay
Save
You added Tranquilitea Farm Stay to your Saves list
Tenerife Rosery Tea Gardens | Kotagiri Road, Coonoor 643101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Esher, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A tea delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Sandeep and his fine Farmstay was in 2013 to partake in his wonderfully instructive and knowledgable tea tasting session . We learnt more genuine facts about tea than we ever knew before . So enjoyable was the visit, the setting in the tea hills, the decor, the warmth of the welcome , that the following year we ventured to stay for a couple of nights . It was all we could have wished for , comfortable rooms, a simply splendid all round elevated view of the plantation , exquisite gardens , breakfast, lunch and dinner carefully thought about and deliciously delivered, with proper thought that not everyone would like curry at every meal.

One afternoon Sandeep took us to his home village for a religious celebration , what a welcome from all the villagers , tea, food whatever you dreamed of , Sandeep and his wider family partook with us solitary Europeans. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Yes indeed we would thoroughly recommend at Least 2 nights stay, especially if a trip on the Ooty toy train is on your schedule, But that's another wonderful story to tell ,

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent two wonderful days at Tranquilitea Resort in February 2013.
The property is situated on the top of a beautiful tea estate with an outstanding view over the estate and Coonoor. The owner family is living in the same cottage, but they offer full privacy to the guests. There is a living room and a lovely, well-kept garden exclusively for the guests.

Sandeep was a perfect host, very attentive, caring, helpful and makes you comfortable in an unobtrusive way. Sandeep is an excellent guide, knows the region very well and will give you an excellent advice for any activities around Coonoor. He is a knowledgeable and passionate tea expert, we would strongly recommend to join the tea tasting and the little walk with Sandeep through the tea estate.

The served food was delicious, local cuisine.

We would definitely recommend a homestay at Tenerife Cottage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It would be hard to find any fault with this place. The location and views are fantastic, The garden is a picture of flowers in bloom and was a wonderful place to relax after being on the
move for sometime. The accommodation was equal to the best we stayed in in the whole of India. Sandeep was a great host. His tea tasting talk was interesting and informative and is to be recommended. We also took the drive and walk into the village which we really enjoyed and to see the villagers in their own domain was a privilege. The food served at Tranquilitea was excellent and if I was going to make a small constructive criticism it is that some breakfast cereal would be nice for the Europeans as an alternative although this is not to say the breakfast served was not good in every way. A memorable stay indeed..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had been as a family to the Tranquilitea estate in Coonor on 11th April for 2 nights.This being a family vacation I was keen to stay in comfortable and secure place away from the city. I came across this place on the web and couple of enquiries later made up my mind.

Coonor is a good 7hr drive from Bangalore and was it a refreshing site this place when we finally reached! It is set in the last bungalow of a tea estate. The bungalow offers superb views down the tea estate, mountains across and the town below. There is a nice lawn at the back where our room was located and we also had the dining and living room to ourselves. The view from the dining table was superb - day or night when you can see the lights of Coonor sprinkled like diamonds among the mountains.

The property itself is very comfortable, and the food is delicious. They serve breakfast with the room, and dinner needs to be ordered beforehand and nice homemade stuff is served. They do not do lunch which is fine as you may find yourself outside during the day. We had dinner of Badaga cuisine which was similar to other food but had a good taste especially of the spices used. I did not find good eating places in Coonor, while here you can get good homely fare. Well worth it

Sandeep, the host is a knowledgeable tea expert. He is passionate about tea and it comes across. I did not find time to do the tea tasting activities (not being a tea person) he conducts but purchased some fine organic tea from his estate. The tea estate climbs up the hill and ends in a dense pine forest that covers the slopes to the top of the peak above the estate. This is a great trek which I did first morning. You can make your way up the hill as you cross this forest. It is carpeted with pine needles and leaves, and becomes very steep before you get to the top. At the top is a deserted temple which is used rarely. The views and breeze were well worth the effort. On the way down I lost my way briefly but kept the tea estate bearings to get back. It is slippery due to dry leaves and treacherous at places so be careful but you will enjoy it.

I prefer Coonor to Ooty any day and so skipped all the so called attractions that ooty has to offer. My preference is for nature and historical significance, and I did not miss this in Coonor. If you wish to spend most of your time in Ooty, this place is about 18 Kms away on a mountain road and will take about 45 mins to 1 hr sometimes - so you may want to consider this. However, I found Coonor much better. I did the toda settlement walk for about 4 Kms with Sandeep and while this was a less authentic experience than I had expected to encounter Toda life, it was a good exercise amidst good views and dense forest. It can be done in about 3 hrs or so even as a family, and Sandeep shows the way. We emerged after an hour of walk amidst acacia, eucalyptus and shola forest to a small settlement. There are a few old Toda temples nearby, which can be seen from the outside. Don't expect to see traditional life of the tribals though, as they have more or less assimilated at least in this settlement.

Coonor has got other interesting places including Sims park (well worth it) and a tea factory nearby. I tried to locate Tiger Hill cemetery for a quiet walk but failed as the directions were not clear. All Saints church is a beautiful 150 year old establishment that you can slip into and cover in less than hour. Philip the pastor explained some about this beautiful building including the old organ that is still in place near the altar. One other worthwhile site if you enjoy history is Sullivan memorial which is in a place called Kannerimukku near Kotagiri. They have a website and you can call them ahead. The place is a reconstructed house that was set up by Sullivan, the first collector to settle the Nilgiris. It is a beautiful red building. And of course if you do golf, you must get to Wellington golf club for a round. I had been to the restaurant which is a grand old place for an evening drink. Wellington itself though mostly off limits as it is a military town, is a great place to drive by.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sandeep is a gracious host and makes you comfortable in an unobtrusive way. I would definitely go back again if I can take those days off the grind!!

Room Tip: None. You get the place to yourself and both rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did not stay here, but found it when trying to arrange a proper tea tasting while in Coonoor. You would think for a region that has some of the best tea in the world, this would not be an unusual thing to try and locate. Thankfully Tranquilitea offers a fabulous tea tasting by Sandeep, who is knowledgable and passionate - without being overbearing - about tea. After this tasting I came to realise how poor tasting all the tea I have been drinking has been! The tasting is held in a beautiful room with a glass wall looking over the tea terraces. We got to explore the garden while there, as well as see one of the rooms. It had a peaceful ambiance and although we were happy where we were staying, we were also slightly jealous of the people who were getting to stay here, and were sad when we had to leave it's loveliness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenkendorf
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

if you have enough of regular hotels, we urgently recommend to try a homestay at Tenerife Rosery tea Garden.
The tea bushes around you in the different shades of green together with the explanations on the Nilgiris give an additional special flavor.
Local food explained by the owner takes away your hesitations against eating really Indian style in the morning - superb.
If you have interest to know more about the region, consult the books in the living room or just ask the owner. He knows the region very well and can give you excellent advice.
Don't forget to profit from the tea degustation.
We enjoyed the two days fully.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Tenerife for 3 nights from 5th to 9th April. Sandeep is a very good host and we had a great time at Tranquilitea. We wish we had stayed for at least a day more.

What we liked?
1. Location of property is excellent as this bungalow is at the highest point in Coonoor. The view from the Tea room is outstanding and we spent lot of time in that room.
2. Food was very nice except for the continental dinner, which was ok as compared to other meals. You can tell sandeep in case you want indian meals.
3. Hospitality- Sandeep is a very good host. He was always there to help us. He was happy to take us to Coonoor town on couple of occasions as we did not have transportation. He was present in the tea room at the time of every breakfast and dinner to explain to us the food that was being served.
4. Don't miss the tea tasting session with Sandeep. This session was very informative and colorful (with 8-10 different varieties of green tea). Even my friend's 7 months daughter was very attentive during the entire session.
5. Also, don't miss the walk in the tea gardens with Sandeep. It was lovely walking through lush green tea gardens.
6. Full privacy to guests- Though Sandeep's family stays in the same bungalow in the same premises, they offer full privacy to guests.

What could have been better?
1. I am sure some travelers would love the privacy that tranquilitea offers. We are the type of travelers who like to interact with hosts and that's why we prefer staying in B&B instead of a hotel. Sandeep was always there to help us and interact with us. We would have loved to have interaction with Sandeep and his family over dinner or at the time of bonfire.
2. The rooms are not connected to each other. It would be great if they are connected as you have to walk across the tea room and the garden to the other room. I had written to Sandeep about it and I believe he has now connected the rooms. You may want to check with him.
3. There was some confusion with the pickup arrangements but we understand that such things do happen.

Overall- Stay here if you want to have a nice peaceful vacation. Stay here if you want to enjoy the fresh air and quiet time. I would recommend two families traveling together.

Some tips about Coonoor- A visit to Sims park is a must. Its a very beautiful botanical garden. We did not visit Ooty as we did not want to travel. But, one can take a toy train from Coonoor to Ooty (but you need to book tickets well in advance). We visited Wild Acres Cheese farm but we did not enjoy the cheese making tour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilitea Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilitea Farm Stay

Address: Tenerife Rosery Tea Gardens | Kotagiri Road, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the midst of our tea estate on the slopes of the highest mountain in Coonoor, Tranquilitea farm stay offers guests two fully furnished rooms which open out to their own individual gardens with unmatched privacy and a spectacular view of the surrounding hills. We tailor make our tours to suit individual guest requirements be it a round of golf, a walk in the estate, gourmet tea tasting tours or whatever else you may fancy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilitea Farm Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.