We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay with good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devashola homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devashola homestay
Save
You added Devashola homestay to your Saves list
Pallaniapp tea estate | Kollakambay post, Coonoor 643101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful stay with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in Palaniappa cottage for 4 nights and experienced a comfort and pleasant stay. Cottage is located in middle of tea estate and far away from the hustle and bustle of Ooty. Our caretaker Mr.Murugan feasted with good food adding flavour to our stay. If you prefer having a break out of our day to day busy schedule, we would prefer this place for week-end or short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cable TV - No
Internet/Wifi - No
Mobile Network - No
Shopping - No
Air Condition - No
Hotels - No
Bar / Restaurant - No
Swimming Pool - No
Gym / Club House - No
Music System & DJ - No
Sports - No
Boating - No
Horse Riding - No
Water Falls - No
Boutique - No
Ayurveda Body Massage - No
....
....
Visitors were happy? - a big YES.

What else required to consider this place as a worth to try once? It's a Natural and Awesome place.? If you can not believe that - one can not be happy without at least "one" listed above... you have to experience this.

I visited 3 times and took my team (around 20 people) twice in last 3 years and once a family & friends.... single feeling... it's an awesome place.

Room Tip: try for Mango Tree cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had been with our family (with 2 kids) last year during summer.Just heard some reviews and wanted to experience ourselves.Both myself and by hubby had tough times at work and were looking for a real break from our routine lives.No emails,cell phone network and no disturbance.At the end of 3 days of our stay ,we only wished we had extended our vacation and started planning for another trip soon.My hubby felt so rejuvenated and thanked me for suggesting this place.
Hospitality :100%
Food and hygiene:100%
Felt very homely and one with nature.
We are coming to devashola estate this summer too :)) Yippee !!

Chithra Hariharan

Room Tip: Mango tree and Bison valley cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Palaniappan Bungalow is one of the first bungalows you will see in the Devashola estate. This is one place where even Google maps had a hard time showing us the route. Overall a great place to hang out with friends & family & connect with nature. The best thing is that this place is out of the (now) commercial Ooty & still close to it. If you're looking at a peaceful vacation in the Nilgiri stretch then this is the place to go...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you want to beat the hustle bustle of Coonoor., well this is the best place to hit. Stayed at the Palaniappa Bungalow for a couple of days and the place is just amazing. The British styled Bungalow played the perfect destination for a great weekend. The valley view is great, probably bettered only by the Mango Tree bungalow.

The food and the cook Murugan needs special mention. Its south indian styled food at its best. At day-break you will hit a state of tranquility with the rising sun, the moving clouds, the chillness in the air and the sound of chirping birds....well you got the picture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in Mango Tree Bungalow for 5 days (22.09.2012 to 26.09.2012), 4 nights with my wife and 18 months kid. It was life time experience for us with the lush green surroundings expect the climate. We never felt bored, just relaxing all the time. Delicious south Indian food by Murugan. Prompt replies by Renukaradhya to my queries and good arrangements. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

GIST: Best place if you would like to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ooty/Coonor.

Had been looking out for a good resort in the Niligiris for a relatively quiet family vacation, had shortlisted quite a few, but finally decided to go with Devashola based on a few reviews on Team-Bhp. Was very unsure of the place as it was around 20+ kms from Coonoor and inside some plantation, also we had a 1.3 year old kid with us, but booked anyways and was keeping my fingers crossed.

We initially had planned on staying at the Pallaniappa bungalow but Mr. Renukaradhya, the Manager, suggested that we take the Mango tree as it was located highest and had a nice garden with a beautiful view, somehow was convinced about this and decided on the Mango Tree and boy! it was well worth it.

We stayed there for 3 nights and 4 days, enjoyed every bit of our stay; this place is amazingly home like with hosts like Mr. Murugan and his helper Ms. AnnaLakshmi , the food they cooked though strictly vegetarian was also very delicious. We were also allowed to use the kitchen.

The cottage is close to 100yrs and has a nice aura about it. It has a beautiful view from the garden, the Mango tree has two large bedrooms, both have queen sized beds but one has an extended area where two single cots are laid, the cottage has a nice living room and a large dining area, also there are two other rooms, one with bunker beds and the other with a single cot which also is connected to one of the bedrooms. The place would be ideal location for a family of say around 6 -10 folks.

On day one we were woken up to talks of Bison, immediately me and my bro-in-law grabbed the cam and trekked down to the bison valley cottages near which there were around 15-20 bisons, it was just amazing to see so many of them at such close range… it was kind of thrilling too as one young fellow just stared at us non-stop, guess he was gauging if we were a threat or not. Also, if you are interested in bird watching, this place will definitely keep you occupied, there are so many species our here.

This is one must stay place if you like to be away from the noisy and commercialized Ooty/Coonor, but if you are visiting the tourist places, it could be a bit tiresome as it is around 40kms away from Ooty, you would need to have your own vehicle or if you the resort will arrange a cab for you, charges extra.

The place is well set for outbound training activities and also houses an adventure club inside the resort.

The package also includes Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, as well as trekking and a ride in the plantations in their jeep. We could not go for trekking but took the plantation ride, but this was a dud.

Definitely would recommend for a quiet and peaceful holiday.

We also checked out the Sultan Bungalow and it is beautifully located as well, if you are a larger group, this place has 3 bedrooms to accommodate.

Have Fun Mates.
Ranjith PD

Room Tip: Choose the Mango Tree if you are a group of 6-10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devashola homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devashola homestay

Address: Pallaniapp tea estate | Kollakambay post, Coonoor 643101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a quieter place, must say you will be pleasantly surprised to wake up to the tune of softly chirping and singing birds. Wondering what kind of birds were outside, if you open the door to step out and stand in amazement you get a mind blowing view. You will be searching for your camera to take the pictures of the valley view. We do have adventure activities like rock climbing, rappelling, high rope courses where you will be thrilled doing such activities. We take you for good trek and Jeep safari nearly for 2 hours where you will be seeing bison and deer and lot of birds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devashola homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.