We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely food which is light and healthy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakshmi Shankar Mess

Lakshmi Shankar Mess
Thadagam Road | Near Gct College, Coimbatore 641013‎, India
+919047422647
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 362 Restaurants in Coimbatore
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Indian, Organic, Vegetarian
Description: This eatery brand is a unit of Lakshmi Sankar Eco Food Project Pvt. Ltd. Promoting food culture healthy for people and healthy for planet. We serve, Natural, Organic, Ethnic and Alternative Cuisines. Ethnic and traditional recipes make this place a great hit!
Restaurant details
Description: This eatery brand is a unit of Lakshmi Sankar Eco Food Project Pvt. Ltd. Promoting food culture healthy for people and healthy for planet. We serve, Natural, Organic, Ethnic and Alternative Cuisines. Ethnic and traditional recipes make this place a great hit!
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“homely food which is light and healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

this is the best place for south indian food. the food never makes you sick. there is no item which is fried in oil and it is a great start to healthy eating. the soups, salad and payasam they give in the afternoon is so very interesting. no pickle, appalam fried without oil, chapathi which is done with zero oil, varieties of dosas... the best place for health conscious ppl. please give it a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Traditional organic Vegan food in Coimbatore!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Coimbatore is a lovely place known for its climate and wide varieties of food. Being a foodie i have visited to several places in and around Coimbatore that offers different kinds of cuisine. That's how i discovered Hotel Lakshmi Sankar mess located on Thadagam road, next to GCT. As the name suggests, its a typical mess like setup and the main highlight is the nature of the food prepared. All the food items are prepared with organically grown vegetables with more focus and concern towards the nutritional and health aspects for its customers. The meals provided for lunch begins with a soup, relishing and rich South Indian main course and ends with a payasam. Similarly the menu for breakfast and dinner is being offered with unique food items such as paniyaram, keerai chapatti, Raggi dosa, corn dosa, kambu dosa, Idiyappam and so on.
Being a bachelor who constantly happens to eat outside, i find this hotel extremely rich in taste and very healthy. Though the cost is slightly higher compared to a regular mess, i definitely feel spending your money at this hotel is worth every penny.
A must visit for all who are health conscious and ardent food lovers!!
PS: There will be a heavy rush for Lunch and Dinner during week ends. so plan your travel accordingly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for hardcore non vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good food and service...must visit for those who prefer non vegetarians...recently they have opened a branch in Chennai Anna nagar (near roundtana) too...hope food tastes same here too!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Homely & Healthy Luncheon at a Great Mess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a chance to have lunch at this place with my family and was taken aback by the simplicity and gracious manner the staffs served us.
I was bit skeptic after going thru the reviews by our fellow reviewers here, but it was a great that I had lunch here. Its absolutely healthy devoid of any Fried Items and less spicy. There is a personal touch in the way they greet us and serve us the food. The items are well balanced and tasty also and is A MUST GO for VEGETARIANS. At this age of HIGH COST, the lunch cost is simply unbelievable, as I feel the idea is to serve organic healthy food ,forget the cost.

Last but not the least.... A million of thanks to all the earlier reviewers without whom , I would missed this place which is a haven for healthy lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Class vegetarian mess(Homely mess)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lakshmi shankar Mess is known for its 100% vegetarian food with its greens dish,salads.has a very unique homely food taste and the lunch is value for money.The amount of side dishes they serve with hospitality is very interesting and one will really enjoy the food.
Situated near GCT college on Thadagam road and the banana leaf service is also very unique in this mess.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakshmi Shankar Mess also viewed

 
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Lakshmi Shankar Mess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakshmi Shankar Mess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.