We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE LOCATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrra River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbatore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambrra River Resort
Save
You added Ambrra River Resort to your Saves list
Pollachi - Trichur Road | Ambarapalayam, Coimbatore 642002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
oman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NICE LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

i am staying there jan 28 to feb 1 -2013
Nice location
Excellent food service
Room service need to develop little bit
Construction of rooms and paintings are need to supervise properly
75% ok
This property is maintained well. The service and people were good. Yes, you need to order your food atleast 30 t0 45 Min in advance since the restaurant caters to inmates only and you have only 12 Cottages resulting in Max 24 - 30 Adults @ an average of 2 Adults/Cottage even when been full which i very much doubt.All in all this resort is for people who need a break from busy work schedules/ to spend some lonely moments with their spouse. Negative point is if you have got a kid which i had , then entertainment for them is bare minimum. My son had issues with the channels (Cartoons and likes) available and with the frequent disruption of power at the local cable TV Operator.

Room Tip: Nice location Excellent food service Room service need to develop little bit Construction of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

It is a wonderful resort. Well planned resort with all facilities. Rooms are very comfortable and neat. Environment is very good. Food is very excellent. Staff are very kind and approachable. All the customer needs are taken care and very pleasant experience to stay at this resorts

Room Tip: Very good resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visited this place in the 3rd Week of January 2013. The property is awsome provided you love to be away from hustle and bustle and have no other plans to visit local places. This property is maintained well. The service and people were good. Yes, you need to order your food atleast 30 t0 45 Min in advance since the restaurant caters to inmates only and you have only 12 Cottages resulting in Max 24 - 30 Adults @ an average of 2 Adults/Cottage even when been full which i very much doubt.All in all this resort is for people who need a break from busy work schedules/ to spend some lonely moments with their spouse. Negative point is if you have got a kid which i had , then entertainment for them is bare minimum. My son had issues with the channels (Cartoons and likes) available and with the frequent disruption of power at the local cable TV Operator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of the worst resorts i have seen in the recent times. There is no manager to co-ordinate amd guide if you are a new one. The tariff for vehicles they arrange on rent basis is too high. Another major thing is their food which is terrible. The guy who takes the order has to cook himself and serve us is immature. The TV channels will not work continuosly and we need to inform the reception every time after the power cut for power supply.

The very next day, power cut lasted for 1 hour and enquired they sent the person to buy diesel for the generators and we need to keep the resort door open for fresh air.

There are not much places of interest nearby except for Vaalparai and topslip, and topslip also closed due to some court issues.

Final verdict is one should not go to this resort for a holiday and even not suggested for a stopover if coming from nearby state (Kerala).

Room Tip: Never select this resort so there is no need to suggest a room in this column.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

On our way to valparai we planned to stay overnight at Pollachi. We landed up as a group of 5 families, the place is awesome what lacks in this place is a proper management and tasty food. The folks here especially the person who claims to be the manager rengaraj / sriram doesn't know how to treat guests. The food what was served in the night had a 5 star rate tag but we could hardly manage to eat inspite of the fact that most of us were tired after a long drive from bangalore. The cottages are awesome the location is fantastic but service is very poor. Would not suggest for a pleasure trip.

Room Tip: Keep away from this place unless it is really required
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After spending 3 awesome nights in Valparai, we had originally planned to spend the 4th night at the Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary. However, in view of the Supreme Court Order banning tourism in Tiger Reserves, our Parambikulam plan went for a toss. We searched for a quick alternative and ended up booking the Ambraa River Resort in Pollachi.

The reviews online were good, so decided to try it. Unfortunately it turned out to be a terrible decision.

Let me start with the positives. The resort is built on a sprawling campus with coconut trees all around. The rooms are all air-conditioned and are clean & well maintained. The check-in was quick and some staff did assist us with the luggage.

Coming to the negatives, that truly is a show stopper. The worst thing about the entire resort is service. We weren't provided with drinking water despite asking for it. If one is very desparate to drink water, well, you can use the bottled water stored in the mini bar (sic) that is sold at twice the MRP. The worst was reserved for us in the restaurant. We entered the restaurant and one of us had to run to the reception to inform them that we were hungry and wanted to have our lunch. We were made to wait for over 1½ hours to be served food. Similar treatment was reserved for us during dinner also. One word of advise here is, if you want to get food on time, ensure you order atleast 1½ hours in advance from your room and then walk into the restaurant after ensuring your order is ready.

The second sore point was the Swimming Pool. The pool was dirty and was infested with dead insects and dry leaves. It would be great if the management could atleast clean-up/ replace the water atleast during weekends. Swimming in a dirty pool was no fun.

Otherwise, the overall experience was below average. Would recommend this place if you have no other choice. My ratings, 2 out if 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Its crap !! The guys really dont plan well... They dont book on time and sometimes when they get a higher quote, they might ignore your booking. Please dont trust and plan this location for any corporate events ... You can be assured, it will be a great flop !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrra River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrra River Resort

Address: Pollachi - Trichur Road | Ambarapalayam, Coimbatore 642002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrra River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.