We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience - Definitely not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathna Residency

Hotel Rathna Residency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rathna Residency to your Saves list
Hotel Rathna Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 355, Variety Hall Road, Coimbatore 641001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Coimbatore
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience - Definitely not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had stayed here for 3 nights along with a large group as we were in Coimbatore for a wedding. However, we had a bad experience of having my wife's new I phone missing soon after Housekeeping finished cleaning our room. We had left it on the bd side table to charge. We were only gone for fifteen minutes and were right in the next room while they cleaned the room. However , despite the fact that we asked them to check everything including between the bed sheets and personally went to the laundry room on their insistence to see that it was not there , we were unable to find the phone. In the evening we informed the hotel that we would be filing a police complaint before we left for the wedding. on our return, "miraculously" the staff informed us that the phone was found in between the bed linen in our laundry which was cleaned by housekeeping and that it would be returned the next day. We got the phone back with water inside it and the hotel was unwilling to take any responsibility for the issue except that they would get it repaired if at all possible. We were cot check out the same day so let them know that we would prefer a full refund and requested them to talk to their management to take responsibility in case it could not be repaired but they made it look like they were working out a solution but informed us at the last minute just as we were checking out that management had requested us to take up the matter legally and that they would not be taken any action or responsibility.

Quite unhappy about the way this hotel operates and the thought process of the management of the hotel. We could have taken some responsibility if we had put the phone in between our laundry clothes but this was something left on the table taken by hotel housekeeping and sent to laundry as claimed by the hotel. We definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
9
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here just one night but found it a very pleasant hotel. The rooms were clean and fresh; the staff were all very welcoming, helpful and spoke good English. The rooftop restaurant has a view of the city. Food was acceptable but nothing special. Having arrived at 8 pm, the 24-hour check in meant I could check out again the next evening to catch my train without extra cost. It's very convenient for the station and one of the staff went running out to find a rickshaw for me to get me around to the station entrance. The wi-fi worked too!

Room Tip: My room on the third floor was fine - I don't imagine there would be any particular problems wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satara, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I had lived for a 2 days in this hotel during our trip to ooty. It is about 5-6 km from airport but very close the railway station. Room were very nice & clean. They have a many restaurants for different cuisines. The terrace restaurant is very nice. The food too was very good & the conplimenory breakfast in the morning was quite sumptuous & good. Overall a very good hotel at a mid range price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a best Hotel to stay. People are very Courteous, Free Wifi, Good Food.
Excellent breakfast.
Faster Service.
Overall a good experience in staying in this Hotel. The Hotel offers corporate discounts, so please enjoy that too. The Property is very close to railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

hai friends, i have conducted an marriage function in this hotel during the month of august for 400persons, service offered and food served was good, banquet halls are well maintained, halls are sufficient for an crowd of 500. Rates are also affordable by middle class people. Staffs are friendly, rooms are good but rates are little high. overall i had an memorable experience over there, many of my friends appreciated the food and service, thanks to the staffs.

Room Tip: excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I went to this hotel for dinner with my family. Reaching the hotel,as usual the parking was full in valayapatti restaurant, They made us park in front of the main hotel and the driver came to us and took the car for valet parking. Just with a piece of card with only the car no was given to us. Having finished the dinner, we informed the security to bring us the car. We heard an unusual acceleration sound when he came inside.

Just driving 20 feet from the hotel the car was not moving. Driving Chevrolet Optra we came to know he has tried to put reverse gear wrongly that it has broke the Gear Lever. When asked this to him he was ready to accept that was not his mistake and hotel will not be responsible for this.

We have to wait for 2 hours in the road just to take the responsibility by them which ended in total vein.

Please guys give your expensive cars to valet parking or you will end up paying from your pocket

Incident happened on: 08-Sep-2012 at 10pm

Operations Manager : Vijay

Room Tip: Never visit this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

stayed in this property for one night.the property is old and not keeping pace with time.maintenance is poor. the food is average and restaurant do not give feeling of freshness.
the staff is good.the buffet breakfast and food is average.the property is close to railway station.the rates are negotiable.
the rooms do not match the rates being charged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rathna Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathna Residency

Address: No 355, Variety Hall Road, Coimbatore 641001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rathna Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rathna Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathna Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.