We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ode to mediocrity -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Swaroop Vilas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“An ode to mediocrity -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The location of this hotel can be viewed as a plus or a minus depending on your viewpoint. Yes it's on a lake, but not the main one.It's away from the tourist hype but a long walk from anywhere and not a particularly scenic one.

We were given rooms in the old part of the hotel, at the front (partially) overlooking the lake. They weren't awful, but they just felt a bit tired and unloved. Scuffed paintwork, , old fixtures and fittings, blown light bulbs and a dirty rug. The bathroom window opened onto a staff passageway, at the side of the hotel, which seemed to be busy at all hours and made taking a shower a sociable proposition.

We were also charged a ridiculous fee to connect to the internet - something we didn't have at any of the other hotels we stayed in and there was no internet access at all in the bedroom.

Breakfast was okay but we didn't eat in the restaurant for any other meal, so I can't comment on the food.

Altogether, a disappointing stay. Do yourself a favour, Udaipur's a beautiful city - make the most of it. There are way nicer places to stay in Udaipur for the same price, with more character, a better location and nicer rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    80
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
58
69
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Very nice hotel, good food and service. Everything shuts down pretty early so for a solo traveler can be a challenge. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We had a group of about 11 of us show up early in the morning after a horrendous train ride from Jaipur, hoping to be able to check in early. I have to say that one of the best things about this hotel is the accommodating staff, they went out of their way to accommodate us and all the requests we made. If I could pick one word to describe the feel of this hotel, it is “regal”. The décor is very tastefully done and everything just had a regal feel to it. The rooms are decorated very well also….the bathrooms could use a little sprucing up in my opinion…they were very basic as compared to the rooms….you will definitely notice the little touches…i.e., the vases filled with rose water/petals all around the hotel... the pool/pool area is gorgeous…the spa seemed nice as well…unfortunately we couldn’t utilize either due to lack of time and cold weather. The hotel is situated in a beautiful area as well…right across from the Swaroop lake…and the rooms in the front all have balconies facing the lake….all in all, a beautiful boutique hotel…with an extremely helpful staff….nice rooms….nice restaurant…and shopping is only 5 to 10 mins away…I would highly recommend…

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

As a busness traveller, I have been to almost every hyped and star rated hotel assuming them to be the final frontier in service, hospitality and comfort. And then I found myself in room no. 602; The Peacock Suite at Hotel Swaroop Vilas, adoring the hints of green and peacock blue, the intricate carving on the deep brown, mahogany bed and writing table, the black and white tiled flooring and wondering if the service would be as thoughtful and well laid out as the room.
From the very moment I stepped in, Swaroop Vilas never ceased to surprise me. From the beautifully done up reception and the cute lobby done up in traditional rajasthani motiffs and mirror work to the open courtyard which imparted the hotel a very vintage look - not to miss the swimming pool and spa which dispalyed a modern side too.
Room service was good and prompt and the food superlative. Laal maans and peeli daal are the best i have had so far.
Unlike most of the hotels- closed and cold, this one had ample sunshine and fresh air. The traiffs were quite pocket friendly. In a nut shell, a must stay if you are visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We got to this hotel by our driver's recommendation. We got a season discount without even asking.

We stayed 2 nights, and after checking out, we came back to collect our luggage and got a room for rest & shower before our ride to Azmer - for free!

They've answered with great patience all of our questions, and arranged a great driver (in the cheapest price) to show us around.

The laundry service was cheap as well, and the restaurant is great! prices for food & drinks are very good as well.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

What could have been a good and comfortable stay turned out to be a below par experience due to poor service and staff apathy.

We reached the hotel at about 2:00 pm and were greeted at the reception informing us that they had been waiting for us. However, the very next moment, we are told the room is not ready and it will take 20 minutes to get the room ready. We had an infant with us and had to finally wait for over 30 minutes before we were taken to the room. Even then, the washroom was being cleaned. To top it, the reception staff tells us 'It takes at least this much time for the room to be ready', when the room should have been ready considering the check in time was 11 am.

The food was good but the Restaurant manager is not at all customer friendly. On the contrary, he is rude and lacks basic decency. The restaurant wasn't well organized for the breakfast buffet and we had to wait for food to be replenished. The tables were not clean and food was always falling short.

The hotel manager was apologetic for his staff behavior but really did not do much to correct the situation.

Overall clean and good hotel, but very poor staff and management.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I was at Swaroop Vilas with my family. We had very beautiful rooms. The entire hotel has a very nice architecture. Also with a swimming pool and it is directly located at the lake of Udaipur. The staff was extremely friendly. We had to leaye the hotel very late in the evening and had checked out already. But we still received towels to use the swimmung pool and we even got a room, where we could have a shower and get changed.
We can absolutely recommend Swaroop Vilas! Great value for money. If I will ever travel again to Udaipur, I would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Swaroop Vilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.