We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, nice and welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Swaroop Vilas to your Saves list
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Markham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very clean, nice and welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I and my husband had a wonderful time; we stayed to 3 days and 2 nights.

Room was very clean; hotel itself was very clean and quite.
I loved Udaipur, I wish I would have stayed more; I liked it better then Jaipur.
Food was good, we only stayed for breakfast in hotel and they had buffet for it but on our request waiters would make something fresh for us and also not necessary to give some tip.
I would love to go back and stay at same place 

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    49
    21
    9
See reviews for
67
77
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We booked this budget hotel online but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find the decor and rooms above average. Room service was prompt and the staff is polite. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel that faces the swaroop sagar lake, still I would say that the view would have made more sense in a balcony which all the rooms are lacking. This hotel is located outside the "oldcity" udaipur which has all the attractions in proximity to the lake pichola, so make sure you are prepared to hire an all day cab for all your trips be it sightseeing or a trip to the general store. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but did not have a small fridge which would not have mattered a lot but for the fact that the hotel lacks a bar and have no drinks on thier menu. Also we had to wait for 3 days out of our 5 days to be able to log on to the hotel wireless network which was kind of sloppy.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley CA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

This hotel was booked for us as part of a package tour of Rajasthan. Be forewarned that there is a new wing currently under construction (might be finished by now). This wing is partially completed and occupied. If you stay in the old wing, the experience might be completely different. We also noticed that some of the balconies of the old wing now face directly into the new wing, so the effect is like being in an alley.

At the time, due to the construction, the new wing was very dusty and the lift was not working. We could watch the laborers installing marble flooring and tiles. As long as it is new, it will probably be quite nice.

We had a room in the new wing. The room was very spacious, with marble floors and new furniture. There is a lovely view from the upper floors of Lake Swaroop. Since fitup was still ongoing, the TV was there, but not connected and no minibar, although there looks to be space for one. We found no heater.

For a hotel room of this quality, it was odd to find a shower room, although there was a curtain to try to keep the rest of the room dry. The towels were nice and white and fluffy. Overall, the bathroom was well lit, but there is no screen on the vent window, so mosquitoes could easily enter from outside.

We did have dinner here and were pleased at how inexpensive it was. We had a whole tandoori chicken (~$4) ! Beers were a little more expensive than in the south (~$2/bottle). The breakfast was ample - toast, potato cutlets, hard boiled eggs, corn flakes, yogurt, coffee/tea and canned juice - ask for the mango juice !

The street is quieter than others in the area and the new wing is set back from the street. The front staff seemed a bit lazy - we asked twice to ensure that our breakfast box would be prepared in the morning; as you can guess, they were not. The waiter made up some toast and coffee for us while we waited, so we'd have something in our stomachs before our long drive ahead.

  • Liked — nice, new room
  • Disliked — dustiness during construction
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Upon our arrival, we were immediately check in and were given their best rooms (501, 502) which give best view from the Hotel.

The rooms were done up nicely and tastefully. Bathrooms were nicely made with best of fittings and tiles.

We were made very comfortable by the staff.

Next day, my family members who were traveling with me fell sick due to extensive travel. The hotel arranged for the Doctor immediately. The doc was of great help who called us the next day and visited once again.

A little improvement in the breakfast menu will add to the sheen of the hotel.

In the days to come this will become one of the most sought after properties.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

While the hotel room looked fairly new and very promising at first glance, the ultimate experience was very poor.

The room and bathroom doors were badly constructed, making them very hard to close. I literally had to throw my weight against them. As well, the shower was so badly fitted out, it made for difficult bathing and sprayed water all over the bathroom (despite the shower curtains being drawn). The lack of cleanliness was also off-putting -- shall we say traces of the last occupants were visible...

Additionally, there was an alarming incident where, while we were out, the cleaning staff tidied our room and left our door unlocked afterwards, thereby compromising the security of our valuables. When a complaint was lodged at the front desk, the attending staff was entirely unapologetic.

A terrible pity as it had every potentially to be a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Swaroop Vilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.