We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Swaroop Vilas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for Money with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great budget hotel facing the Swaroop sagar lake and less than 5 minutes walking distance form Fatehsagar lake. Descet restaurant, great ambiance and good room sizes. Hotel has well groomed and helpful staff. Recommended both for business as well as family stays.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake have a spacious balcony for a quite private breakfast or dinner. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    80
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
58
69
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

this is the poorest hotel in our entire trip. we took this hotel because our travel agent suggest us. the services in restaurant was not up to mark as well as room services. we asked for tea and it took 45 minutes to serve.
we do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed on Hotel swaroop vilas during my travel to Udaipur. It was a wonderful property which was on the banks of Swaroop sagar lake. During my stay I was not able to find even a single negatove point for this hotel.
1. Staff was very good and helpful. They took pains to inquire about my train timings and alert me that the train timings are changed. Staff is very cooperative and helpful to arrange for autis, taxis for local sight seeing etc. They have clock room facaility which becomes very helpful when you want to keep your luggage safely after checkout
2. Now they have a lift in the hotel also.
3. Its very well decorated and the mirrow work on in eth lobbies is really one to be appreciated.
4. Rooms are very spacious (super delux rooms), clean and hygenic. Good service also.
5. Restaurant, swimming pool was also good.

I again appreciate the hotel staff, hospitality and wish to stay again in Swaroop vilas. Overall its Value for Money hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 'Super delux rooms' lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutch, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A wonderful hotel at affordable rates through MakemyTrip.com
The hotel is located in a central place, very near to Fatehsgar lake. The decor is very Rajasthani. The facilities are excellent. The Hotel staff are very courteous and helpful. the food was OK. The food quality was Ok, nothing great, price was a bit high and quantity was OK. Indian food was tasty but continental and Chinese needed better preparation and variety.Room service was OK and housekeeping needed reminders.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms with a view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Udaipur is a great city, but this hotel was the worst, unluckyly I was there for 2 nights, we were located in the old wing where there is not hot water available. we complain about the hot water and they tried to explain us that they use solar system, bla bla, they made us wait for at least 3 hours, several people from its staff came to the room to check the hot water, and eventually, I went to write the complain, and the night porter ended up saying that in the old wing there is not hot water available in any of the rooms so, we were made waiting to 3 hours, and for nothing. we got the room changed, and the locate us in the new wing, where the water did not have enough pressure so us to reach the 3rd floor.
breakfast: I found an ants in the omelet. we had dinner in the hotel and we ordered a special dish called tandori platter, and it was the worst thing ever, we also ordered spring rolls and they were made of nooddles. In their favour, the previous night I ordered a whole tandori chicken and it was georgeous, but only this was ok.
the service very bad, specially the night porter, when I was writting the complain really cocky and very far from being polite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Like the city of Udaipur, Swaroop Villas are delightful.This hotel has an ideal location, with a pleasant outlook, spacious rooms with staff who take pride in their work. Our short stay was very comfortable and memorable.
We enjoyed a quiet ,spacious and clean room with a king size bed.
The restaurant provided very tasty food and we particularly enjoyed the Tandori oven baked meals.Attentive staff were well trained with excellent english.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I have enjoyed stay at Udaipur....
mostly i like swimming there in hotel...
its a centre place to go to nearby locations. rates of the room are also reasonable.
rooms are also good.. I love a lot when i went to "JAG MANDIR" & "NAATH DWARA". Its a different type of experienced to be there in udaipur..
Other places are "CITY PALACE" the qilla is very big.
And finally the Lakes and shops near the lake same way like the marine drive of mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Swaroop Vilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.