We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, small rooms, nice staff, however a little unprofessional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Krishna Niwas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Krishna Niwas to your Saves list
Hotel Krishna Niwas
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good location, small rooms, nice staff, however a little unprofessional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel Krishna niwas is well located near lake picola and the city palace. We stayed in the lake view room. Room had nice views however the rooms were very small and a bit stuffy.
The hotel was run a bit like a guest house. Receptionist weren't that attentive. We had issues with the WiFi for the 2 nights. Fr some reason the WiFi only worked on one device and between around 10.30am to 10pm. Reception could not help us rectify this issue. Also, the receptionist sleeps downstairs, it was a bit strange when we checked out early to see people sleeping on the couch downstairs and with no lights on.
For the price will paid, we think we could have got a bit more at other hotels in udaipur. There was also no breakfast served. It was also a bit strange that there is a rooftop restaurant set up but no food or drinks served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
34
74
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is definetively a great place in terms of location to explore Udaipur.
Rooms nicely decorated, with a hand painted ceiling and a great view for the lake Pichola. If you not pick one of the rooms facing the lake, you may enjoy the same view by accedding to the roof top. And this is one of the issues. If you are not into climbing stairs, you may prefer to stay in some other place. Their neighboor hotel have an elevator, and this can be suitable to elders and any one with some sort of disability.
Breakfast is pretty basic, as you will find in any other hotel on this price range.
The main topic is that the whole operation is running as a family business. Staff will be warm and attentious to your requests, you can even have cook lessons with the owner in a nice teaching kitchen. However, it seems to have a lack of ambition to conquer guests. During our stay on an early checkout we were surprised to see that the staff was sleeping at the lobby by 8:00.
Even being new years eve, nothing was arranged to take advantage of the roof top as an option for guests to see the fireworks. A shame, as Even tinnier  hotels were throwing their own parties.
It may be an option to maintain things like these, but definetively it is a waste of opportunity as the hotel is so well located in such a good city.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms worth the money. Room 105 definetively made it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

With regards to new year eve we cannot avail this opportunity as the father of our Respected owner he recently passed away .For sure we take your suggestion for next year sir

My team and i look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Krishna Niwas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located at 2 mins walk to the city palace and the ghats. The room, the priciest they have was a lake view room, that was nice but the room was very small as the bed, and not that clean. The bathroom was small as well and...i wont define it clean...They have a beautiful rooftop with lake view that according to their pictures they should use it to serve breakfast...but the breakfast wasn t available during or stay....they aduced some excuses than we opted for a reggae restaurant 200 meters away for our breakfast. We were little deceived by this hotel but the staff, the owner (a painter) and her wife who gives indian cooking lessons were very warm, friendly and always smiling that made our stay in udaipur very pleasent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were delighted upon entry of the hotel,
the building breathtaking, and is delicately hand painted by the amazing artist Soni.
The room was clean, very comfortable and had an amazing view of the lake!
Highly recommend the cooking class, great insight into indian cuisine and what it takes to make a good dish!
The family are very friendly and Digvijay is incredibly helpful if you need any advice or assistance for planning your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for posting your views about Hotel Krishna Niwas on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to recieve your feedback and have shared it with all our team members. Your every word has been very motivating and inspiring for all of us.

Thank you so much for placing us high on your expectation levels.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Krishna Niwas in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Krishna Niwas is a family hotel, very well located in Udaipur, near everything that matters! We've stayed in lake view room: they're small, with more furniture than needed. You'll have some view of the lake, which is good. Also, although it's in the center, the hotel isn't noisy.
The owners are nice, but service is not their strong point: we've booked 3 nights and we had to change rooms in the second night - for one floor above, same room. Internet wasn't working and we never had our rooms cleaned - cleaning is not the best thing about this place.
But they're nice and it's like a guesthouse more than a hotel.
Bathroom is simple, with an average shower (of course there isn't box or curtains), hot water running all time. But there isn't much space to put things.
They don't have a restaurant and we never asked for breakfast there, so can't comment on that. They have cooking classes and the kitchen is really nice, but we didn't try it.
Also, there's lots of stairs and no lift, so if you have a problem with that, don't book it.
It's an average place, not a place to be after one tiring day. But has a good price and is really well located, so if this is the most important for you, try this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room if you want to see daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Krishna Niwas for 3 nights in November. The location was perfect, right in the centre, close to the Jagdish Temple, and all of the main sights were within walking distance.

The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned, and we had a lake view which looked straight out over the lake palace. The hotel is owner by an artist family, and they have decorated the place beautifully themselves. They run cookery classes which we didn't have time to do, but looked fantastic.

The owners were really lovely and helpful - we arrived off the overnight train at 7am, and they managed to sort us out with a room in half an hour despite checkin not officially being until 12, which we were really grateful for. They made us feel at home and helped us out with information about places to go and organised a taxi for us for the next leg of our trip.

Room Tip: loved our lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

My team and i look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Krishna Niwas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had booked this hotel in September for two families one for us and another for our parents who were senior citizens.Me and my husband Anish Shastri just got fooled by relying on people like Agoda and online booking. When we arrived at hotel we came to know that the rooms were located on 4th floor without any lifts and hence they offered us to shift to adjoining hotel Mewar Niwas. They were just liars. They informed us that do not rely on agoda.com it does not pay good and they regret being associated with agoda.com. We should not inform agoda.com about the problem we are facing and they would pay for us in another hotel. After an hr once another hotel was booked they started moving away from their words and told us to do the payment and once they receive our order money from agoda they would credit amount to us. Till date after lotsa followups and phone calls they have just credited just Rs. 1000/-.
Also the rooms offered were pathetic for lake view it was just a small corner of lake seen from a small window of room. Their family stay in down floors and cook there and they offer another 3 rooms as hotel. Pathetic Non reliable People.

Room Tip: This hotel should not be booked at all. Pathetic rooms and liar people and management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Krishna Niwas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.