We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shattering experience for my guests.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) to your Saves list
Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)
Near Vidya Niketan School | Jadiyo ki oll, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shattering experience for my guests.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

"The hotel in Udaipur is worse on the dust scale. We are all choking on the dust and spent the night coughing and sneezing. The bed linen had dried up nasal mucus and was dirty and stained. As the bed linen was being changed on my insistence, I noticed that the pillow was browned with dirt and age. ' Breakfast' is only toast and coffee/tea. Anything else is chargeable. This does not qualify as breakfast for most tourists. The location is also very bad. It is not on a street lined with hotels and is deserted at night. The street is so narrow that the car cannot pass. We have to use an auto rickshaw but did not feel safe coming home last night because the hotel is so isolated and the area so deserted. It is annoying to have to over pay these auto rickshaws when we are already paying for a car. I feel really bad that my children have to spend 2 more nights in this place. They are both coughing and sneezing from the dust. Udaipur is full of really lovely and affordable hotels, I really do not understand why this hotel was chosen. We would have been happy to pay more for something CLEANER and more safely situated. A huge disappointment. And please don't call and complain to the manager. It would be a waste of time. And to top it all we can hear EVERYTHING from the noisy guests in the next room who were talking all night! I finally went to them myself to ask them to speak softly. This is something the hotel should have done because these noisy guests could be heard all the way down in reception. "
The above is comment my guest whom I booked in this hotel sent me. This is despite the fact that I spoke to the owner who assured me that they were booked their best room called " Padmini Suite". Before the guest checked in my colleague again called the hotel to have clean room for our guest.
So what did I do, surrender the money for a night at this hotel, move them to Deogarh to the lovely Deogarh Mahal on our cost. But here it is not the money, we were belied on the assurance, we repeated told the owner that guests from Lufthansa New Delhi and could be great potential business for them, but I believe they don't care. I felt terrible for my guest who had a grueling experience at this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    4
    6
    16
See reviews for
34
20
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The photos and the promises when contacted over phone fooled us. It is located in a narrow street, crowded with people, temple and cows to boot. If you are driving through Rajasthan, (which usually many tourists do) then you are in big trouble to find a good place to park near hotel. You will be politely asked to get dropped and let the driver park in a bigger street which is just a " few minutes walk"- this is about 1KM walk through a narrow and dark street at night. The promise and the website says ample parking space- true but 1 Km away. After accepting that as fiat accompli, the room is the next surprise. An old dialapidated building, done up with some paint and curtains. No lift. If there are elders then you have no option to grin and climb steps. And inside the room it is dark and dingy. No windows. The promise is well ventilated- what it means is small pigeion holes with cemnet grill as seen in old haveli's - just one of that in each room. Low ceiling and you can feel quite calusterphobic in most rooms. If you want a better room, which they call deluxe( a cruel joke) you have to pay more. Morning coffee/Tea is not served in room but you need to climb another flight of steps to the roof top to get it. Room service is non existent. There are usually 2 boys who just keep wandering around. You get hot water in the morning. If you need it after 10.00AM 'it is difficult to assure you sir' is the usual answer from the old man at the reception. He tries to be as nice as possible and promise everyting but deliver nothing.They faltly refuse to refund your booking charges, which is full payment in advance, if you refuse the room. So you have to take it. So stay away from this "palace junk". The photos are deceptive. The rates are no match to what you get. Krishnamoorthy, Bangalore

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel for love or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Here is Room Is Realy very net & clean
Restaurent of the hotel is very good view & good Food
They give complimentry pik up
Staff of the hotel is very HELPFULL
I like service of BHARAT
here is no noise of vehicle

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Hotel is a Haveli in the inner streets of Udaipur. Its situated in a residential area. Narrow streets make access to the hotel difficult. No restaurants in the region around makes it very irritating to get good food, the restaurant wasn't operational when I visited the hotel. That said, the rooms are quite clean and spacious. Clean linens and tidy bathrooms make the stay comfortable. Hot water seems to be an issue but is supplied in buckets if the reception is informed. The staff were very unprofessional collecting money for every two days stay at the end of each two day period. In a nutshell, the rooms are well worth what you pay but the service is pathetic. Assuming the restaurant is functional its a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Arriving at the 'hotel' in a taxi from Udaipur station we were warned by the driver that they would 'cut you hair without scissors' at that place. When we arrived down a pitch dark alley there was running water in the street outside, no lights and no sign that anyone was expecting our arrival. On entering the hotel courtyard there was a open dirty nappy and other rubbish everywhere. The staff were fast asleep and disorientated when we woke them up - we were then shown to a room that was basic to say the least and without a lock on the door. We left straight away - do not be fooled by the web site!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skane Lan, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We lived here for 5 days and we are very happy with our stay! Extremely nice and Clean rooms, good food and very nice staff at a good price.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

I had never stayed in such a below standard hotel. Even they are not serving the towels in the bath room.situated in a dirty lane , where a car is difficult to enter. Very very poor condition. Please don't fell in trap of website, its total waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)

Address: Near Vidya Niketan School | Jadiyo ki oll, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Udaipur city this 250 years old Haveli is situated on the bank of famous road Jadion ki ol from Ghantaghar (Clock-Tower) to Samor bagh. Haveli is easily approachable from city palace to Ghaneroa ki ghati & from Surajpol via Shrinath ji ki haveli. This 250 years old antique Haveli is very famous for its architecture & historical wall paintings, beautiful halls and Gokhdas decorated with number of Belgium glasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.