We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tiger

Save Saved
You added The Tiger to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tiger
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33,Gangaur Ghat | Next to Bagor ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Plesant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

had and excellent stay. Staff was very courteous especially the front desk officer Mr Anirudh was very helpful. Plesant stay to stay ib between the cramped lanes of gangour ghat. very close to gangour ghat and the dining area in the terrace has a wondeful view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    101
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
121
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good value for money-Good linen-accomodating early check in and late check outs-Bang in the center of all sightseeing places-Polite and quick service-
Negatives are no room services for Lunch/ Dinner-Namesake Gym-No TV in rooms-poor maintenance-water choking in bathrooms-better restaurant services


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Painfully, The Tiger is absolutely the worst experience for me of any stay in a hotel in India. The hotel's staff literally carries the white man's burden and rubs it in your face if they dont find you worthy of their expectations. Here are my observations :-

a. Snobbery in booking. The phone calls were answered with a non-chalant arrogance as if they were doing me a favour by answering my queries. The churlishness of the staff here will put the Taj Lake Palace to shame. I guess the booking staff basically treats any independent traveller as a rabid dog (the reason for this was unravelled at the time of my stay). No assurances were given whatsoever for booking availabilities and I was told bluntly to submit a 50% advance before any further communications were entertained.

b. My Volvo from Jodhpur was delayed and I had to make repeated calls to their staff to keep their kitchen open. When I got there eventually, all I got was a limited menu and cold food to choose from.

c.Bit my tongue and moved on to the room and got treated to the lack of any hot water whatsoever. Considering that I was staying in their best room, I did muster the courage to ask some of their staff to assist me if possible. Nothing coming despite three reminders. Wonder what happens to the guys with the cheaper rooms.

d.Had a bunch of drunk gujarati frat boys creating a nuisance on the roof top restaurant all night. Nobody seemed to mind, so thought wtf, must be a chilled out place.

e. But the next day when i wanted to spend my last few hours in Udaipur watching the sunset at the rooftop before my flight, the staff told me that I would not allowed up as they had booked the whole roof for a group. Asked for a place with just a chair, but even that seemed too much for them. I guess well paying retired octogenarians are a bigger priority for this hotels. (Also funny because unlike premium hotels that dont let non-residents eat at their restaurants, this one sells out residents if an outsider pays more). Finally, after a heated argument with the staff, got a place because some of the retirees didnt show up. The group booking is king at this place, independents be damned i guess.

f. The view to the lake palace is partially obstructed by the heating tank of a neighbouring hotel.

g. The german owner went around asking everyone at the sunset for feedback other than me. Wonder if they thought the indian guy had nothing to add.

This is the only terrible rating i have given in a long while and I wait to see what stories the management concocts. Come to think of it, the place is actually fine with a funky wanna-be new age decor, but every aspect of warmth and service that one expects from quality hotels in India is brought down to the level of warmth one would expect from a german owner. So yes, if you want to remain comfortably in your Anglo-saxon bubble during your trip to India, or if you are happy sticking to your Octopussy/ Darjeeling Limited/ Marigold/ (pick random clichéd glorified Hollywood movie set in India) experience, please go ahead for The Tiger. But if you ever thought as to what really happens in India beyond the backapackers district or wondered about the very lives of the people who serve you and this ancient culture, do India a favour and avoid this place.

Room Tip: The lake view room is not worth it. View is blocked by the tank of a hotel nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

To feel welcomed in an unknown city is the only thing you remember for a long time.
Was travelling with 2 small kids, this hotel provided us with excellent room, comfort, food and hospitality.
It was within our budget, loved the food... non-spicy, non-greasy.
The best part was breakfast on the roof top over looking the Jaal Mahal.
Its situated at a place, where major tourist spots were at walking distance. So we had no worry of car park.
The first trip to Udaipur was memorable because of this hotel also... staff friendly too. The owner is very friendly person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

When we looked at this hotel, it was a little too pricey for our budget but took a punt on it and it was worth every penny. We were a little sceptical when we arrived, the sign for the hotel is very understated and the hotel itself is set back from the main road so access is via an alley way. To me this sums up the hotel, it doesn't need a flashy sign and is comfortable in it's own skin. This place is a little gem.

It is very well locate next to the lake and also one of the most popular culutral shows. The room was spacious and clean with a well set out en suite. I loved the animal decore of the room! The fan and air conditioning was great, the bed comfy and the linen was spotless.

The roof top bar is one of the best in the city, guests from other hotels were on the roof top because of the quality of the view. The service of the bar was also quite relaxed so you felt at ease talking away without being hassled to buy drinks.

The staff were super friendly and really helpful. Gunter is a character that everyone should meet. The gentleman who managed the bar was also so very welcoming and helpful. He was a great help when my boyfriend fell over, out came the first aid kit, the iodine, the full works!

Although the hotel does not serve food, the staff offered to bring food from the bakery to our room. Nothing was too much for them.

It is this kind of care and attention that makes this hotel stand out in the busy city of Udaipur and I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Loved this Hotel. Small, personable and beautiful.......in a great spot and quiet. The rooms are lovely with different themes, spacious to say the least. Fantastic staff only too willing to help with any query. They also own the Edelweis Bakery out on the street which is great for coffees and lovely breakfast. The rooftop restaurant has stunning views over Udaipur and the Lake, Lake Palace and City Palace. There is not lift in the Hotel but walking up and down stairs has never been a problem for us. Thank you Tiger.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Tiger for 4 days and our stay was absolutely wonderful. Very clean and well maintained. The city palace, market etc are all close to the hotel and can be covered by foot.
A special mention to Pritam and Anirudh who were super helpful right from making special arrangements for dinner(after hours, on the day we arrived)to helping us out with our local itinerary and cab back to the airport. Will definitely stay at the tiger again, if and when we go back to udaipur!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger

Address: 33,Gangaur Ghat | Next to Bagor ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tiger 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger is having 19 friendly designed rooms divided into 6 standard A/C , 2 Standard Single and 11 Standard Double with SPA, Finish Sauna, Steam, Massage Service. Lobby with Sitting Area / Charming Courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.