We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Home Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Devra Udaipur to your Saves list
Devra Udaipur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sisarma-Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 119 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A quaint place just on the edge of Udaipur, surrounded by low lying hills and green forests. A beautiful setting giving a 360 degree panoramic view of the countryside and the city. Enjoy walks into the countryside and the charms of Udaipur, its lakes, palaces and bazaars. Jyoti and Major DD are perfect hosts and with their warm hospitality they provide a rare insight into the culture and rich heritage of Rajasthan. The food is outstanding, the service impeccable and the rooms are fantastic. Offers a good birding experience too.

Malwinder Guron

Room Tip: Upper Floor Rooms offer good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
How do we thank you.? You described Devra better than us with very inspiring words. Thank you sooo... much for being with us though a short stay.
Our staff felt motivated and happy.
Once again a BIG thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    48
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
97
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

On our way from Delhi to Bombay, we stayed over for a night. We decided impromptu to stay here on the way. We were delighted by our decision.

Maj. Durga Das and his gracious wife manage the little place with unmatched warmth. Great staff and great food.

The highlight of the place is the ancient Bhairav temple that the property houses. Very high energies.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Mr Gupta,
Thank you for choosing Devra and being with us. Your feed back is very inspiring. Shall always look forward to such pleasant surprise guests who decide to just drive in.
We too enjoyed your company after a long drive from Delhi.
Wishing you the very best & warm regards from all of us at Devra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was fantastic, but it was the grounds that make this home stay stand out. There is an absolutely charming little ancient temple, and you overlook rolling hills. The food stands out. If you want to stay in the middle of the City, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a little slice of peaceful bliss, book a room here. You are a few minutes away from everything, yet isolated at night to the sounds of monkeys in trees and little else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you Dylan for the warm description of Devra. You have expressed us well keeping the rural setting and nature in mind which is so dear to us.
We will be glad to see you again this side. Every body at Devra conveys their kind regards and wishing the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a beautiful experience. Such peace and tranquility just outside the city. Morning yoga sessions on the roof overlooking the monsoon palace, temple palace, lake, hillside, farm lands. Daily bird feeding on the terrace where you can spot parakeets, peacocks, kite's, weva's. Organic locally grown breakfasts, the freshest eggs you'll eat. Spacious rooms with cozy beds to sprawl out in and patio chairs facing every which way without a bad view. 2 days wasn't enough to enjoy it all. Highly recommend. Mr. DD will give you a tour and share the history of the land. He will get to know you and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We felt encouraged by your review on Devra.
Your thoughts are inspiring. The staff at Devra will do their best to retain goodwill of travelers like you. Yoga is a great way of creating and unleashing positive energy our compliments to you achieving it.
Will always look forward to meeting you again at Devra. Your presence added charm and grace to the place.
Wishing the very best from all of us at Devra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

stayed with family @ Devra in Jan 2013

good place very nice surroundings out of the town serene and peaceful
home made food
The Owner Maj. Durga Das is an ex-army officer who made this homestay is an excellent person
We spent one evening chatting with maj. sahib and had lot of fun

Best of luck

Room Tip: Take rooms over the kitched if u need two rooms, oit has an open area in the front where one could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are grateful for you kind words for Devra. Though your stay was short but you too left good impact on us and the staff.
Please accept our good wishes and a great time in Kashmir. Shall always look forward to seeing you again this side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Devra Hotel this March and were very much impressed. Our son had stayed at this hotel and highly recommended it to us. We took his recommendation and were so very glad we did. Major Durga Das is a warm host and wonderful to talk with. Unfortunately, we did not get the pleasure of meeting his wife, as she had an ill parent she was attending to. The property is beautiful, the food delicious and the service excellent. Devra has very large, extremely comfortable rooms with wonderful views of the Aravallis and the neighboring farmlands. The Major showed us the temple on the grounds and invited us to stay and watch the Saturday morning worship by the villagers. This was more moving than words can say. We truly felt blessed to be able to see this. We look forward to hopefully returning to Devra and highly recommend this wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are grateful to you for sharing your experience with every body. Your comments had been very satisfying to the staff and us.
Thank you again for sharing your happiness. We always look forward to see you again.
Kind regards,
Maj.Durga Das & Jyoti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Devra is a colonial style house built on top of a hillock in the lap of the Aravali hills of Udaipur. It overlooks the city of Udaipur and offers grand panoramic views of the Udaipur environs, once the scene of many a hunt and battle. Devra literally translates to 'where God resides'. In the local language, Devra means a tribal temple. A 400 year old temple still stands at the site of Devra, and is used on a daily basis. Major Durga Das and his wife Ms Josi Jasol were there to greet us on our arrival with cool drinks and welcoming smiles.
The rooms are beautifully appointed, including air conditioned suites, private lounges, and semi private verandahs where we spent several evenings relaxing and watching the sunset. Breakfast was very good and the one evening meal we had was an Indian taste sensation. The staff were friendly, helpful and 100% accommodating.
Joyti and the Major invited us to join them and their staff in some outdoor games, and the Major was very generous with his time accompanying us to the local village school to meet the teachers and pupils. All in all our time at Devra was a truly memorable experience, my only complaint was that it was not long enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank for very valuable review on Devra.Udaipur. We all at Devra are very grateful to have received your inspiring thoughts. It helped us and staff motivated to keep doing our best.
Shall always look forward to your visit again.
Warm regards from all of us.
Jyoti & Durga Das
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma-Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devra Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.